We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms, beautiful views: instant relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villa

The Villa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Villa to your Saves list
The Villa
Beach Road, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 90 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms, beautiful views: instant relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

We arrived after a very long journey and were pleasantly surprised by how characterful and pretty our room was- and spacious to boot! The balcony immediately outside our door afforded us stunning sea views and the Villas proximity to the water means you can hear the sea hush hushing its way onto the beach all night. Staff very friendly, very helpful. Room great value considering its quality. Breakfast delicious.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapila100, Manager at The Villa, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thanks for the review and giving us very good opportunity to improve our business, Thanks once again indeed,
Kapila
the Villa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Perhaps it's all about expectations. I expected that as it was on the beach we'd have seaviews everywhere, tumble into the sea, lie on a sunbed, potter up for a beer. No. First, the hotel has no direct access to the beach because at the sea end of the property (which actually gets wet at high tide, it's that close to the sea) the place looks like the tsunami hit a few weeks ago: the terrace crumbles away and salvaged panels of old metal fencing have been jammed crazily into the mess of rocks and rubble: a bit of a bombsite. (Photos on the website of the beach are not taken immediately near to the hotel.) So no sunbed on the beach, no instant dip in the sea.
There's a sunken garden full of chairs but you cant see the sea here either, only the washing up drying on an old towel and dressers jammed with stuff - it needs a bar.
When we asked about the horrible bits of fencing and we were told something about government permissions being delayed, but the fact is that every other property on the beach has been tidied up, laid new concrete and looks attractive.
The staff are mostly nice, some being charming. Our room was spacious, but there was hardly anywhere to put our things. The bed was pretty, large and comfortable. The plumbing was quirky but OK. The window faced the sea but there were no clips to clip back the shutters and since the walkway to other rooms went right past our window we got no privacy if we had the window open. This wont bother you if you want to seal yourself inside and put the AC on of course. We resorted to half blocking the walkway by sitting there and at least getting a bit of a view of the sea!
Breakfasts are fine - good fruit platter, eggs good and nice Sri Lankan breakfast available if ordered in advance.
This is the nice end of town (the eastern side suffers from fumes from the motorboats and the sunbeds are jammed together). We were so disappointed we wished we'd gone elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy the sea location go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Hotel is located right on the beach, very central too so good for exploring.

3 storey property with excellent views of the bay

Room had 4 post bed with net, also air conditioning and a fan

Staff very helpful & the food was good also

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapila100, Manager at The Villa, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thanks for the review and giving us very good opportunity to improve our business, Thanks once again indeed,
Kapila
the Villa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Great place to stay with really friendly staff. I also stayed at the Seaview... and I have to admit that I wished that stayed at The Villa throughout all my days. At a cost that is slightly higher many things are much better at The Villa; (1) rooms are much more luxurious and cleaner (2) location closer to the middle of the beach, (3) Nice little restaurant with view over the sea, which is great for the breakfast

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapila100, Manager at The Villa, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thanks for the review and giving us very good opportunity to improve our business, Thanks once again indeed,
Kapila
the Villa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa

Address: Beach Road, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.