We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cantaloupe Aqua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cantaloupe Aqua to your Saves list
Cantaloupe Aqua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Matara Road, Habaraduwa | Talpe, Unawatuna, Galle GL 80630, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Check in with free wine !
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Unawatuna
Cheltenham, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Little Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here (a couple and single lady) for 5 nights and were lucky enough to have both rooms upgraded. The hotel is within feet of the water's edge, so a sea view is a must. The rooms are a good size and have either a patio or balcony. The staff are very friendly and helpful and couldn't have made our stay more enjoyable. We loved the menu (there were 'specials' every day too) and the food was excellent. The small infinity pool was lovely to cool off in and to lean over the edge and look down at the water's edge. The beach is lovely to walk along (the Turtle Hatchery is just along the beach) and the sunsets are amazing. The hotel is on the main road, but I heard no traffic noise at all. There are tuk-tuks outside the hotel (which we used to get to Galle several times and to Koggala Lake, but we also braved the local bus (to Galle) as there are bus stops nearby (cost - about 13p). We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel - it ticks all the boxes! Well done to the management and staff!

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms without a sea view, so make sure you don't book one of those!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caqua_management, Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Gill G,

Thank you very, very much for the lovely review here at tripadvisor.

Our small, private hotel, features 15 rooms in total, 13 with stunning sea view, offering not only a spa, boutique shop, small infinity pool, restaurant and bar, but also Excursions. All of us are more than hap-py to assist our guests with short excursions and day trips. The closest activity is indeed the Turtle Hatchery, which can be reached either by a walk along the beach or the road, as well as by three wheeler. Not too far away is also the city of Galle, even closer is Unawatuna. Galle, an old, historical city, while Unawatuna is vibrant and offers night life. After different experiences, our guests always return to a quiet, peaceful home of Cantaloupe Aqua.

Our menu has been extended, and we are also offering Japanese cuisine to our guests. This is in addition to the existing Thai, Sri Lankan and Western cuisine.

We all hope, to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to Aqua during your next holiday in Sri Lanka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    93
    39
    13
    5
See reviews for
41
147
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

If you want to go on a vacation this is the ultimate place. From the Food to the ambiance to the location everything is just perfect. Been to Aqua many times and the Food is simply amazing and sitting on that deck during sunset is the one of those tasks that HAS to be done in life. Well Done Aqua!

Room Tip: The Sea View are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caqua_management, Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Dihan_desilva,

Thank you very much for your throughout positive review!

The location, the décor, carefully chosen by our CEO, are there for very unique and ideal to enjoy a weekend, a night or only a day at Aqua.

We offer also guests from other hotels our mouthwatering dishes, freshly prepared by our Chef, offering Thai, Japanese and Sri Lankan, as well as a few Western items.

We hope, to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to Aqua very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We choose more days stayed in the Unawatuan beach as many people in the Web said it is more nice than Mirissa. The hotel is good, is has own beach but it is difficult to swim as the wave is strong. The sitting area and restaurant are very comfortable. A bottle of wine was complimentary for my honey moon thank you. will come again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caqua_management, Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Wan Yin F,

Thank you very much for your positive and valuable review!

Cantaloupe Aqua, located only a few minutes away from the town of Unawatuna, and half an hour away from Mirissa, lays directly at the beach. Indeed, the sea can be rough to swim, for which we offer our guests to swim in a natural basin in the sea only 20 meters beside Aqua. Here for, we offer complimentary transportation in a three wheeler.

Our guests also enjoy relaxing in Aqua’s (small) infinity pool, the sun beds on deck or the restaurant itself.

We hope, to welcome you and your husband back to Aqua or Levels, on the Rummasalla Hills of Galle, opening this Summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Great location/ perfect for reducing stress levels/ thought there would be loud thumping music into the night but the ambiance was a big stress reliever!

Nice location next to beaches that you can have to ur self / incredibly friendly service and great food/ get the in house Ayurvedic massage,/ I will return there later as it was one of the best places just to simply unwind in a creative setting.

I am writing this review from my stay 10 months Ago/ thought I had already done this along with my other reviews,....simply cannot miss this one jewel

Room Tip: Stayed in one of the spa suites...perfect view and simply cannot be missed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caqua_management, Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Theexechef,

Kindly allow me to thank you on behalf of the entire Cantaloupe family for your kind words!

We all do our best to create a memorable, relaxing holiday for our guests – just like yours. There for, we keep training our staff members, maintain the hotel and it's fresh, recognized food. „Coconut“, our restaurant, is open also to non-in-house guests, offering a variety of mainly Thai fusion, Western cuisine and Sri Lankan dishes. During the day we play several kinds of music in the restaurant and bar area, which loudness easily can be reduced on request.

Theexechef, since your stay has been almost a year back, kindly allow us the great opportunity in welcoming you back to our Jewel Aqua soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We arrived after a gruelling trip by Sri Lankan railways!!!! At first I thought the hotel looked rather small,but it was so much better than I perceived! We where shown our room,it overlooked the Indian Ocean the sound of the crashing waves was so relaxing,the room was very nicely set out,nice shower room,nice sitting area, the bedroom was a mezzanine affair very different but nice,the staff where all very helpful and so polite nothing was too much trouble,I must say the manager was 1st class,we asked what trips he would recommend,he told us to do the whale watching trip was good,he was wrong!!!! It was FANTASTIC rather an early start but so well worth it! We saw 5 blue whales a few wright whales and a whole load of Spinner dolphins,it was so very emotional to see all of these fantastic mammals!!!! Just beautiful.

Room Tip: A sea view room either to the left or the right of the bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caqua_management, Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear mickthesnip,

Firstly we at Cantaloupe would like to thank you so very much for your lovely and warm review; which is so much appreciated!

Aqua's unique design has been created by our CEO personally; chic, modern, yet calm and perfect to unwind. 13 our of our 15 rooms feature stunning sea view over the Indian Ocean. Our 5 Suites, located above the bar and restaurant, either offer a separate living area or a private Jacuzzi, overlooking the sea.

Some of our guests, including yourself, wake up early in the morning, taking the opportunity to see whales and dolphins nearby. I believe, you will never forget this experience!

I will personally inform my colleagues of your great feedback on their service and we all hope, to soon welcome you back to Aqua or our soon opening second property Levels, on the Rumassalla Hills of Galle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

we really had a great time at this small boutique hotel which is as close as it gets to the ocean.
great decor and it has a modern twist to it.
some nice art on the walls, food was great and rooms were nice as well with balconies overlooking the ocean

5 mins from the unawatuna strip which is full of action

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies on top floor facing ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caqua_management, Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Krm 194,

Kindly allow me to thank you for your throughout wonderful feedback, for which we are truly grateful!

It is lovely to read, that our design of our 4 star hotel - villa has impressed you, as well as the location, restaurant and of course – very important – the room.

Our restaurant „Coconut“, is not only open to our in house guest, we also like to welcome guests, who just want to enjoy fresh Thai Fusion food or Sri Lankan dishes.

Indeed, 9 out of our 15 rooms have private balconies, ideal to unwind and relax.

I hope, we will have the future opportunity to welcome you back at Aqua or our upcoming Boutique Hotel, Levels, in Galle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

On the plus side, beautiful setting, great beach location, lovely staff and Coco restaurant is excellent.
Down side, a long way from main 'town', room sparse, dodgy wiring, v basic, lot of traffic noise. Adequate but not the standard we thought we'd booked.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caqua_management, Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Dra25,

Firstly, kindly allow me to thank you for your positive and negative feedback.

We always encourage non-in-house guests or travel agents to stay at or visit Aqua, in order to indulge in our fresh mainly Thai Fusion food restaurant, Coconut, and at the same time get a taste of the hotels relaxed atmosphere!

Indeed, we admit, that the sounds of the road in our two non-sea view rooms, Aqua Aqua Rooms, which have better sound proving and are not facing the sea side, can be heard more easily than in the other rooms.

Our telephone and bedside lamp cables are long and, usually bundled, hidden behind the according concrete boxes. I man assure you, that those are bundled again, as well as safely behind the boxes.

Dra25, it would be a wonderful pleasure and honor, if we would have the opportunity in welcoming you back to Aqua, then in a definite sea view room, with excellent service and delicious food!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cantaloupe Aqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantaloupe Aqua

Address: Matara Road, Habaraduwa | Talpe, Unawatuna, Galle GL 80630, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cantaloupe Aqua 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cantaloupe AQUA, our private hotel and beach club. AQUA again has been awarded the Trip Advisor 'Certificate of Excellence'for 2014. Cantaloupe Aqua is a 15 room affordable seafront boutique hotel style in Unawatuna (Galle) Sri Lanka. The concept of the hotel is inspired by famous beach clubs around the world; it's the only one of its kind in Sri Lanka. AQUA combines contemporary spaces, amazing music, and food to create the ultimate beach getaway. A further attraction of AQUA is that it features a private beach in one of Sri Lanka's most upmarket beach strips, Talpe. Through the year Aqua changes it's character from Up-beat to relaxation based on events and promotions taking place at the hotel. During the peak season (Dec-Jan, Mar-Apr, July-Aug) Cantaloupe AQUA hosts numerous sun set cocktails and Brunch Parties with an upbeat atmosphere. In keeping with our relaxing weekdays and Upbeat week ends. The parties however do not go on much later than mid night. All guests are given free access pass to the eventDuring quieter months of the year Cantaloupe is the prefect retreat for families with kids and Guests looking for ultimate relaxation. Please confirm with front desk on dates of events coinciding with your arrival to make sure if alternative accommodation needs to be arranged on the day/night of the event. AQUA cuisine just like aqua is inspired! Our inspiration created a menu, which is a combination of Thai Fusion, Japanese, Western and Sri Lankan. From fresh seafood platters with tamarind sauce to Prime Imported Steaks COCONUT will provide you with an exquisite culinary experience. The restaurant area is a veranda, which opens out to the Jacuzzi area. The theme is euro chic with white taking prominence with feature art adding color and character."Dine where the action is infinity poolside, beach side, indoors, outdoors, under the stars, on a deck or on the beach!" AQUA offers you numerous options and spaces to wine, dine, lounge, party or just chill! Nandana, Cantaloupe AQUA's Executive Chef, who has recently returned after completing a culinary course at the world famous, Blue Elephant Cooking School, is always busily preparing some delectable dish for the Coconut Restaurant guests. Nandana's food philosophy and culinary style is extremely simple but never fails to impress, any one of his dishes will have sentiments from at least two nations of the world. Fusion is his greatest skill. When describing his technique, the characteristically shy Chef, becomes vividly animated by his passion. His guests are constantly in an exciting state of anticipation, awaiting the next surprise Nandana will turnout. He prides himself in stocking the kitchen with the finest and freshest local produce and ingredients. His latest culinary conquest is Coconut's new Tapas Menu, which he has painstakingly crafted to weave in elements of Sri Lanka's tantilising flavors. He also just finalized the Thai-Fusion menu and it has already racked up rave reviews. The dining experience Cantaloupe AQUA plate up is easily one of the best in the south! 'Due to unforeseeable circumstances, Cantaloupe Aqua being primarily a beach front property has encountered difficulties providing guests with direct beach access in front of the property depending on the time of year and the seasonal weather changes. Due to man made structures built into the sea on the coastal line and global warming, which has caused inconsistent patterns of sand deposits. Sea erosion has caused Aqua to lose it's beach during some months of the year. In the event the beach is inaccessible our front desk staff will be more than happy to offer you complimentary transport to the closest beach on the right hand side of the property, which is also accessible by a 10 minute walk' - Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cantaloupe Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cantaloupe Aqua Hotel Unawatuna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cantaloupe Aqua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.