We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cantaloupe Aqua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cantaloupe Aqua to your Saves list
Cantaloupe Aqua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Matara Road, Habaraduwa | Talpe, Unawatuna, Galle GL 80630, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Check in with free wine !
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Unawatuna
Guangzhou, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good for holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We choose more days stayed in the Unawatuan beach as many people in the Web said it is more nice than Mirissa. The hotel is good, is has own beach but it is difficult to swim as the wave is strong. The sitting area and restaurant are very comfortable. A bottle of wine was complimentary for my honey moon thank you. will come again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caqua_management, Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Wan Yin F,

Thank you very much for your positive and valuable review!

Cantaloupe Aqua, located only a few minutes away from the town of Unawatuna, and half an hour away from Mirissa, lays directly at the beach. Indeed, the sea can be rough to swim, for which we offer our guests to swim in a natural basin in the sea only 20 meters beside Aqua. Here for, we offer complimentary transportation in a three wheeler.

Our guests also enjoy relaxing in Aqua’s (small) infinity pool, the sun beds on deck or the restaurant itself.

We hope, to welcome you and your husband back to Aqua or Levels, on the Rummasalla Hills of Galle, opening this Summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    93
    39
    13
    5
See reviews for
41
147
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Great location/ perfect for reducing stress levels/ thought there would be loud thumping music into the night but the ambiance was a big stress reliever!

Nice location next to beaches that you can have to ur self / incredibly friendly service and great food/ get the in house Ayurvedic massage,/ I will return there later as it was one of the best places just to simply unwind in a creative setting.

I am writing this review from my stay 10 months Ago/ thought I had already done this along with my other reviews,....simply cannot miss this one jewel

Room Tip: Stayed in one of the spa suites...perfect view and simply cannot be missed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caqua_management, Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Theexechef,

Kindly allow me to thank you on behalf of the entire Cantaloupe family for your kind words!

We all do our best to create a memorable, relaxing holiday for our guests – just like yours. There for, we keep training our staff members, maintain the hotel and it's fresh, recognized food. „Coconut“, our restaurant, is open also to non-in-house guests, offering a variety of mainly Thai fusion, Western cuisine and Sri Lankan dishes. During the day we play several kinds of music in the restaurant and bar area, which loudness easily can be reduced on request.

Theexechef, since your stay has been almost a year back, kindly allow us the great opportunity in welcoming you back to our Jewel Aqua soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We arrived after a gruelling trip by Sri Lankan railways!!!! At first I thought the hotel looked rather small,but it was so much better than I perceived! We where shown our room,it overlooked the Indian Ocean the sound of the crashing waves was so relaxing,the room was very nicely set out,nice shower room,nice sitting area, the bedroom was a mezzanine affair very different but nice,the staff where all very helpful and so polite nothing was too much trouble,I must say the manager was 1st class,we asked what trips he would recommend,he told us to do the whale watching trip was good,he was wrong!!!! It was FANTASTIC rather an early start but so well worth it! We saw 5 blue whales a few wright whales and a whole load of Spinner dolphins,it was so very emotional to see all of these fantastic mammals!!!! Just beautiful.

Room Tip: A sea view room either to the left or the right of the bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caqua_management, Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear mickthesnip,

Firstly we at Cantaloupe would like to thank you so very much for your lovely and warm review; which is so much appreciated!

Aqua's unique design has been created by our CEO personally; chic, modern, yet calm and perfect to unwind. 13 our of our 15 rooms feature stunning sea view over the Indian Ocean. Our 5 Suites, located above the bar and restaurant, either offer a separate living area or a private Jacuzzi, overlooking the sea.

Some of our guests, including yourself, wake up early in the morning, taking the opportunity to see whales and dolphins nearby. I believe, you will never forget this experience!

I will personally inform my colleagues of your great feedback on their service and we all hope, to soon welcome you back to Aqua or our soon opening second property Levels, on the Rumassalla Hills of Galle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

we really had a great time at this small boutique hotel which is as close as it gets to the ocean.
great decor and it has a modern twist to it.
some nice art on the walls, food was great and rooms were nice as well with balconies overlooking the ocean

5 mins from the unawatuna strip which is full of action

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies on top floor facing ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caqua_management, Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Krm 194,

Kindly allow me to thank you for your throughout wonderful feedback, for which we are truly grateful!

It is lovely to read, that our design of our 4 star hotel - villa has impressed you, as well as the location, restaurant and of course – very important – the room.

Our restaurant „Coconut“, is not only open to our in house guest, we also like to welcome guests, who just want to enjoy fresh Thai Fusion food or Sri Lankan dishes.

Indeed, 9 out of our 15 rooms have private balconies, ideal to unwind and relax.

I hope, we will have the future opportunity to welcome you back at Aqua or our upcoming Boutique Hotel, Levels, in Galle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

On the plus side, beautiful setting, great beach location, lovely staff and Coco restaurant is excellent.
Down side, a long way from main 'town', room sparse, dodgy wiring, v basic, lot of traffic noise. Adequate but not the standard we thought we'd booked.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caqua_management, Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Dra25,

Firstly, kindly allow me to thank you for your positive and negative feedback.

We always encourage non-in-house guests or travel agents to stay at or visit Aqua, in order to indulge in our fresh mainly Thai Fusion food restaurant, Coconut, and at the same time get a taste of the hotels relaxed atmosphere!

Indeed, we admit, that the sounds of the road in our two non-sea view rooms, Aqua Aqua Rooms, which have better sound proving and are not facing the sea side, can be heard more easily than in the other rooms.

Our telephone and bedside lamp cables are long and, usually bundled, hidden behind the according concrete boxes. I man assure you, that those are bundled again, as well as safely behind the boxes.

Dra25, it would be a wonderful pleasure and honor, if we would have the opportunity in welcoming you back to Aqua, then in a definite sea view room, with excellent service and delicious food!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We arrived in a down pour but even that could not take the shine off this place. We were in a standard room (no sea view) but it was spacious clean and comfortable. The view from the resturant, infinity pool and sun deck over the Indian Ocean and along the beach were just..............breath taking. The staff were all happy and helpful. The food was really nice with a good selection of local and western dishes that were well prepared. (I could have done with some bigger portions but then again I'm a bit of a ganet) Although the Jumbo prawns were faultless.A little more light in the resturant of an evening would also have been helpful but these are minor gripes.

Room Tip: Get a chic or ultra chic room as they are the ones with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caqua_management, Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Andrew261033,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback!

Cantaloupe Aqua offers 15 rooms in total, 13 with stunning sea view, which can be enjoyed form the deck, the pool and the restaurant as well. The only 2 rooms (Aqua Aqua Rooms) are not standard rooms, which would be the “Aqua Ocean Play Suite”.

In regards to the size of meals, we also encourage our guests to inform a staff member right away, to which our Chef can attend right away, with the selection of Sri Lankan and Western items; meanwhile we have also added the Japanese cuisine.

Aqua, unique in it’s style, is indeed not the most illuminated place, creating privacy, peace and romance for our guests.

We all hope, to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to Aqua during your next trip to Sri Lanka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

4 nights stay is not enough ... wish i will stay longer ...
Beautiful View, nice big room with Balcony and Jacuzzi. Wonderful Ocean View...

Location are acceptable if you only plan to chill more in the hotel than going out. As you will need a Tuk-Tuk to get to the nearest beach that you can swim or go out for meals outside the hotel.

Transport from Airport to Hotel is expensive base on local standard of US$110 one way (although its about 3hours drive). At this price, we should be getting a limo and not a simple 4 sitter van (unless you are traveling in groups of 4 or more).

Staff are attentive and friendly.

Food selection are average. Will be better if more local selection are available. Curry range food temperature needs to be pipping hot and not cold. This will be an area to improve.
Good Value for Money on Food and Beverages.

Room Tip: Go for Aqua Ultra Chic room. Its told to be the best room out of the 15 rooms they have. With atta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caqua_management, Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Cloh3001,

Thank you very much for your honest review!

Since Cantaloupe Aqua is located directly on the beach, 13 of our 15 rooms offer stunning view over turquoise blue water of the Indian Ocean.

Depending on the season, which has also switched within the last 12 months, our guests can either swim directly in front of the hotel (with direct beach access) or walk along the beach or road or use our complimentary three wheeler service to a natural basin in the ocean, only 200 meters beside the hotel.

Indeed, the town Thalpe is quiet and small. The next bigger town is Unawatuna, only a few minutes away by three wheeler, which can be taken from the hotel directly. Thalpe yet offers small shops to stroll around.

We work close with a third party to offer a very comfortable transportation for our guests, which requires a what it seems a bit more higher price. In addition, this price has not been increased, though the cost has within the last 12 months.

We always encourage our guests to inform a staff member right away, if anything is not to their full satisfaction, such as not really hot dishes, in order to attend to it immediately and avoid unhappiness during the guests’ vacation. You would be glad to hear, that we now also offer Japanese cuisine, in addition to the existing Thai, Sri Lankan and Western dishes!

It would be an honor to welcome you back to Aqua soon and give you the possibility in indulging in our new food items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cantaloupe Aqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantaloupe Aqua

Address: Matara Road, Habaraduwa | Talpe, Unawatuna, Galle GL 80630, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cantaloupe Aqua 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cantaloupe AQUA, our private hotel and beach club. AQUA again has been awarded the Trip Advisor 'Certificate of Excellence'for 2014. Cantaloupe Aqua is a 15 room affordable seafront boutique hotel style in Unawatuna (Galle) Sri Lanka. The concept of the hotel is inspired by famous beach clubs around the world; it's the only one of its kind in Sri Lanka. AQUA combines contemporary spaces, amazing music, and food to create the ultimate beach getaway. A further attraction of AQUA is that it features a private beach in one of Sri Lanka's most upmarket beach strips, Talpe. Through the year Aqua changes it's character from Up-beat to relaxation based on events and promotions taking place at the hotel. During the peak season (Dec-Jan, Mar-Apr, July-Aug) Cantaloupe AQUA hosts numerous sun set cocktails and Brunch Parties with an upbeat atmosphere. In keeping with our relaxing weekdays and Upbeat week ends. The parties however do not go on much later than mid night. All guests are given free access pass to the eventDuring quieter months of the year Cantaloupe is the prefect retreat for families with kids and Guests looking for ultimate relaxation. Please confirm with front desk on dates of events coinciding with your arrival to make sure if alternative accommodation needs to be arranged on the day/night of the event. AQUA cuisine just like aqua is inspired! Our inspiration created a menu, which is a combination of Thai Fusion, Japanese, Western and Sri Lankan. From fresh seafood platters with tamarind sauce to Prime Imported Steaks COCONUT will provide you with an exquisite culinary experience. The restaurant area is a veranda, which opens out to the Jacuzzi area. The theme is euro chic with white taking prominence with feature art adding color and character."Dine where the action is infinity poolside, beach side, indoors, outdoors, under the stars, on a deck or on the beach!" AQUA offers you numerous options and spaces to wine, dine, lounge, party or just chill! Nandana, Cantaloupe AQUA's Executive Chef, who has recently returned after completing a culinary course at the world famous, Blue Elephant Cooking School, is always busily preparing some delectable dish for the Coconut Restaurant guests. Nandana's food philosophy and culinary style is extremely simple but never fails to impress, any one of his dishes will have sentiments from at least two nations of the world. Fusion is his greatest skill. When describing his technique, the characteristically shy Chef, becomes vividly animated by his passion. His guests are constantly in an exciting state of anticipation, awaiting the next surprise Nandana will turnout. He prides himself in stocking the kitchen with the finest and freshest local produce and ingredients. His latest culinary conquest is Coconut's new Tapas Menu, which he has painstakingly crafted to weave in elements of Sri Lanka's tantilising flavors. He also just finalized the Thai-Fusion menu and it has already racked up rave reviews. The dining experience Cantaloupe AQUA plate up is easily one of the best in the south! 'Due to unforeseeable circumstances, Cantaloupe Aqua being primarily a beach front property has encountered difficulties providing guests with direct beach access in front of the property depending on the time of year and the seasonal weather changes. Due to man made structures built into the sea on the coastal line and global warming, which has caused inconsistent patterns of sand deposits. Sea erosion has caused Aqua to lose it's beach during some months of the year. In the event the beach is inaccessible our front desk staff will be more than happy to offer you complimentary transport to the closest beach on the right hand side of the property, which is also accessible by a 10 minute walk' - Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cantaloupe Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cantaloupe Aqua Hotel Unawatuna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cantaloupe Aqua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.