We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Letting your hair down...in every way!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cantaloupe Aqua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cantaloupe Aqua to your Saves list
Cantaloupe Aqua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Matara Road, Habaraduwa | Talpe, Unawatuna, Galle GL 80630, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Check in with free wine !
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Unawatuna
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Letting your hair down...in every way!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011 via mobile

If you looking for a place to get away from normality, to chill and not care about a thing in the world...then you've arrived! I'm talking about white crisp sheets shining lumirously as you open your bedroom door to your own private balcony overlooking 'Paradise'!!!!
Rough-edged designed bathrooms, which is always spotless and fresh white towels within your reach. C'mon thats all you need...the rest is up to you!

This modern, stylish hotel has young, vibrant and the utmost respectable management that ensures all your needs fulfilled. I stayed at the hotel while it was still in the 'teething' stages, there was a few 'hiccups', which is normal for a new establishment...but i still had a darn good experience. If you are looking for a place to relax and laze around during the day and party at night...this is the place!!!!

I recommend it anytime and definitely return to this exotic destination!

PS!! If you are "young at heart" and a no-moaner...this is where its at!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    93
    39
    13
    5
See reviews for
41
147
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

A truly refreshing boutique hotel, just what the new Sri Lanka needs!
After travelling for 2 months around the country it was an absolute delight to stay at Aqua; the comfort of the Aqua Zen room cannot be beaten and the choice displayed on the menu was astounding! The staff were attentive and the facilities absolutely spotless. The location is ideal as well, close enough for the fun of Unwatuna and the relaxing charm of Galle.
I will definately be recommending this fabulous place to all back home, and hope to come back myself!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

On my first trip to Sri Lanka, I was pleased to find an architecturally appealing boutique hotel located right along the water with beaches of the softest sand I have ever walked on to both sides of me.

The hotel is clearly meant to appeal to a young, affluent class who appreciate modernism in its true sense, from the architecture to the artwork on the walls. At most of the boutique hotels I have stayed in, there is typically at least one flaw in the theme of the hotel, and this is typically in the choice of artwork. But at Cantaloupe Aqua, the pop-art wall hangings reminiscent of Andy Warhol only added to creating a true modern and hip boutique hotel. My only design suggestion would be to also provide a collection of magazines that match the hotel atmosphere for guests to peruse during their stay. Also, I think the landscaping area could use a little work, but the hotel staff did mention to me that this was under way, so by the time of writing this review, I expect it is better.

Besides the hotel design, a few things really made my trip memorable such as relaxing on the deck lounge chairs enjoying the sunshine and listening to the waves while sipping from a glass of mixed fresh squeezed juice as well as the pleasant and helpful staff; I am not use to the managers of even small hotels handling such minute tasks as finding me a power converter for my laptop and was happy to have such personal service.

As a tip to other guests, I had an amazing grilled Red Snapper dish at Lucky Tuna in Unawatuna, which was recommended by the hotel staff when I asked about local restaurants outside of the hotel for dinner. I should mention that I did have breakfast the following morning at the hotel and had a chance to sample Sri Lankan breakfast, which I thoroughly enjoyed.

In summary, I highly recommend Cantaloupe Aqua to young professionals as well as couples who are looking for a pleasant and welcoming retreat and for travelers who enjoy modern architecture/design.

Room Tip: Book a weekday stay for best room options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

for some of us who frequent the southern belt, we struggle to find a venue with atmosphere and exacting standards. We walked in impromptu on New Years Eve and were treated to a delectable meal in an idyllic setting. Wishing to subscribe to boutique hotels for attentive service and high quality, we found just that at Cantaloupe. The chef modified dishes especially for us and the experience was tantalising. Thank you. Will be back

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

I stayed at Aqua for one night, after staying in the Cinnamon hotel in colombo, and boy was i dissapointed!!!

The hotel is by the sea in an area called talpe. the sea in front of the hotel is vitually un-swimmable as it is covered by rocks and very rough seas!

the room we stayed in faces the sea and had a decent view but was very very small (compared to the 5 star hotel in colombo, the room was almost twice the price, yet half its size.) The bathroom is also misescule, so small infact that when one showers the entire bathroom gets flooded! also beware of the trecharous step from the room into the bathroom, as it is very easy to stub your toes on it (in fact 2 other guests staying in the hotel at the same time as us comlained about the step!)

the food is alright, and definitely the prawns and seer fish in lime are the best thing on the menu.

the staff of the hotel also seemed very inexperienced and it took quite a bit of effort to get thier attention whenever we needed to order anything.

the architecture of the building is nice, and the pool, (although small), is a lovely place to watch the sunset.

all in all i was quite dissapointed with the hotel, after hearing so much about it from the people in colombo. just 15 minutes away is the town of unawatoona which appear to have many small hotels, a much nicer beach stretch, and wonderfull cuisine!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

I stayed here with my husband in January for 4 days. Very chic and loved the exclusive atmosphere. We really enjoyed sipping cocktails on the cosy outdoor sunloungers watching the sunset. Loved the lights, euphoric music and dancing in the evening!!
Great summer spot. Would highly recommend it to my friends!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

One of the best places to stay near Galle/ Unawatuna. It is about 5 minutes past Unawatuna beach. The area is very secluded and you literary have your own private beach and is surrounded by private beach villas. The food is very good - try the red curry prawn. It has lychees which add a unique flavour.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cantaloupe Aqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantaloupe Aqua

Address: Matara Road, Habaraduwa | Talpe, Unawatuna, Galle GL 80630, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cantaloupe Aqua 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cantaloupe AQUA, our private hotel and beach club. AQUA again has been awarded the Trip Advisor 'Certificate of Excellence'for 2014. Cantaloupe Aqua is a 15 room affordable seafront boutique hotel style in Unawatuna (Galle) Sri Lanka. The concept of the hotel is inspired by famous beach clubs around the world; it's the only one of its kind in Sri Lanka. AQUA combines contemporary spaces, amazing music, and food to create the ultimate beach getaway. A further attraction of AQUA is that it features a private beach in one of Sri Lanka's most upmarket beach strips, Talpe. Through the year Aqua changes it's character from Up-beat to relaxation based on events and promotions taking place at the hotel. During the peak season (Dec-Jan, Mar-Apr, July-Aug) Cantaloupe AQUA hosts numerous sun set cocktails and Brunch Parties with an upbeat atmosphere. In keeping with our relaxing weekdays and Upbeat week ends. The parties however do not go on much later than mid night. All guests are given free access pass to the eventDuring quieter months of the year Cantaloupe is the prefect retreat for families with kids and Guests looking for ultimate relaxation. Please confirm with front desk on dates of events coinciding with your arrival to make sure if alternative accommodation needs to be arranged on the day/night of the event. AQUA cuisine just like aqua is inspired! Our inspiration created a menu, which is a combination of Thai Fusion, Japanese, Western and Sri Lankan. From fresh seafood platters with tamarind sauce to Prime Imported Steaks COCONUT will provide you with an exquisite culinary experience. The restaurant area is a veranda, which opens out to the Jacuzzi area. The theme is euro chic with white taking prominence with feature art adding color and character."Dine where the action is infinity poolside, beach side, indoors, outdoors, under the stars, on a deck or on the beach!" AQUA offers you numerous options and spaces to wine, dine, lounge, party or just chill! Nandana, Cantaloupe AQUA's Executive Chef, who has recently returned after completing a culinary course at the world famous, Blue Elephant Cooking School, is always busily preparing some delectable dish for the Coconut Restaurant guests. Nandana's food philosophy and culinary style is extremely simple but never fails to impress, any one of his dishes will have sentiments from at least two nations of the world. Fusion is his greatest skill. When describing his technique, the characteristically shy Chef, becomes vividly animated by his passion. His guests are constantly in an exciting state of anticipation, awaiting the next surprise Nandana will turnout. He prides himself in stocking the kitchen with the finest and freshest local produce and ingredients. His latest culinary conquest is Coconut's new Tapas Menu, which he has painstakingly crafted to weave in elements of Sri Lanka's tantilising flavors. He also just finalized the Thai-Fusion menu and it has already racked up rave reviews. The dining experience Cantaloupe AQUA plate up is easily one of the best in the south! 'Due to unforeseeable circumstances, Cantaloupe Aqua being primarily a beach front property has encountered difficulties providing guests with direct beach access in front of the property depending on the time of year and the seasonal weather changes. Due to man made structures built into the sea on the coastal line and global warming, which has caused inconsistent patterns of sand deposits. Sea erosion has caused Aqua to lose it's beach during some months of the year. In the event the beach is inaccessible our front desk staff will be more than happy to offer you complimentary transport to the closest beach on the right hand side of the property, which is also accessible by a 10 minute walk' - Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cantaloupe Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cantaloupe Aqua Hotel Unawatuna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cantaloupe Aqua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.