We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial class” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanmira Rennaissance

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sanmira Rennaissance to your Saves list
Sanmira Rennaissance
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Unawatuna
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Colonial class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Very clean and friendly staff cannot do enough for you
Has a pool
Bar
Air con in all rooms
Clean
Comfy huge beds
Right on the beach
Don't expect any European crap this is Sri Lanka !
Food is good curry for breakfast takes some getting used to lol
On the whole an ideal base for any expedition or beach holyday

Room Tip: 3rd floor sea view is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    11
    9
    7
See reviews for
4
11
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Nice hotel in a good location but the road was rather busy at night and also quite dangerous. Staff in hotel very helpful and also had 1 of the new rooms in the new wing next to the swimming pool. Food reasonably good in hotel. Would probably stay in this hotel again if returning to Unawatuna.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Sanmira Rennaissane is not a luxury hotel but it is one of those quaint and cosy guest houses that are neat, tidy and comfortable. The road can be noisy for tourists not used to the hustle and bustle of the infamous Galle road but it can be convenient.
Sanmira food is not amazing but alright for a quick bite and it can be cheap by Galle standards.
The rooms are alright, clean and tidy but nothing much.
The staff are friendly but make sure you tell the receptionist what your needs and problems are. Housekeeping can be slow but as long as you ask early you won't have problems.
Overall a good guesthouses which recently got a swimming pool but could be better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed in Sanmira Renaissance for 2 nights because we had heard very good things about the Unawatuna beach. Also, by the time we booked, all the good hotels (with great reviews) in our budget were sold out. We checked in to the last available room as we reached only by 7 in the evening. This room, although spacious and neat looking had many major flaws. As soon as we entered the room, there was a horrible damp smell that came from the bathroom which had spread its way into the room.

The bedspread had 2 spots which looked horrible and no one would have slept on it. So we called a room boy and got that changed. They apologized for not noticing. The room had no Wifi as promised. When asked they said, they will reboot the router, but to no avail. There was no TV remote, neither was there a telephone to call a room boy. This meant we had to climb up and down the stairs 3 times. The bathroom was clean and spacious (except for the horrid smell that remained once the effect of the room freshener wore off). There was one small issue with the shower area. The architect of the hotel did not understand gravity and hence put the drain in the upper side of the floor! So after every shower the whole area would turn into a swimming pool (probably the reason for the stink). We had to push the water towards the drain with our feet!

That's no 3 star! While using the bathroom, the lights went off on their own while the rest of the room had no issue. Then it also came back on its own in 5 minutes. We just left it for then as we were too tired to walk down once again, and decided to talk to the manager once we went down for food. The restaurant is good and serve huge portions which are tasty. The service is also very courteous.

When we later spoke to the manager and asked him how we can manage in such a room, he told us there were no other vacant rooms and hence we would have to adjust. So we asked him if they would refund a portion of our money as half of what they promised was not delivered. He gave us the stink-eye and was very rude. We just walked away immediately as we didn't want to put up with their nonsense when it is their fault. Later the staff was apologetic and even offered us a different room the next day when there were vacancies. But we saw no point in moving around for half a day, hence left it.

This could be a good hotels during off season when they don't book rooms which don't have any of the facilities that they claim to provide. But during the peak season, if you're unlucky like we were, you wouldn't want to visit again. Especially considering it is not so very easy on the wallet.

Room Tip: Beach facing rooms are good as long as you don't mind the continuous traffic noise from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My holiday in Sri Lanka was perfect , been here in this same hotel 3 times and looking forward to come more. My experienced in this Hotel SANMIRA has a memorable everytime cause the hotel management as well all the friendly staff including the food,room,swimming pool --- simply great.And the best part abt this hotel is , it's right infront of the beach .

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny , in that way all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Sanmira Rennaissance is well out of the centre of Unawatuna, on a busy road. You need to walk 5 - 10 minutes to get the best bit of beach or the shops and restaurants.

However, the hotel is both modern and well equipped with clean comfortable rooms, quiet air conditioning and fans and a lovely swimming pool. The restaurant serves a good choice of food but is a bit expensive compared to the restaurants in the main resort.

Room Tip: Rooms in the garden addition building are well appointed and away from the road so quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights at the end of package group tour of Sri Lanka. Some of our group had rooms in the main hotel with sea views but they also reported noisy roads, jammed balcony doors and a lack of hot water. We had a room in the top floor of the new building at the rear of the property by the pool. These are brand new and of the highest standard we stayed in our entire tour. The shower was hot and powerful. There were multi-adapter sockets all over the room and the room was very well lit. The only downside was the presence of a mini-bar price list but no mini-bar! As we were here 3 nights it would have been nice to be able to keep water etc cold in the room. The hotel is a few hundred metres along the very busy main road from the main beach with the all the restaurants and bars. This can be a challenging walk at night if you don't want to eat in the hotel as there are no safe areas to walk.
Breakfast was the normal buffet affair but eggs could be requested to order.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building have a sea view but are noisy. The rooms in the annex are quiet but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sanmira Rennaissance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanmira Rennaissance

Address: Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sanmira Rennaissance 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sanmira Rennaissance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanmira Rennaissance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.