We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of samson restaurant

samson restaurant
wella devala rd, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 52 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Delhi
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

went to this place twice over a week's period. good food, value for money and great tasting food. amazing location on the beach. all in all, we enjoyed the meals here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    16
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not the last time we'll come here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We have been to Samson three times during the week we've been staying in Unawatuna. It wasn't like we don't realize this place has shortcomings, but it's got a lot going for it, too. Casual beach atmosphere. Cold beer. Really good seafood and noodle dishes. And the big tree for getting a little shade, when needed. Tableservice could be a little faster, but this is by far not the only place where one can experience the relaxed tempo of Sri Lanka.
Definitely worth dropping by.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Just okay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We ordered a lobster and sea food platter in the afternoon in order to get prompt service and a predictable sea food meal since we were splurging for the evening. While the lobster and other seafood presented was tasty and fresh it took almost an hour to get and the portions for the seafood platter were pretty small from experience. The seafood platter was half french fries and coleslaw. The price was okay but nor for what they advertised when we talked to the in the afternoon. I think you are better off going to one of the restaurants with the seafood displayed where you get to pick what you want.
The atmosphere on the beach is really nice but you can get that at many of the other places along the beach. The one guy serving was definitely overworked for the number of tables.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you are looking for fine a la carte dining, this is not the restaurant for you. The set up is basic, with some wooden tables on the verandah, and others on the beach. It is unfortunate that, as usual, smokers show zero consideration to their fellow diners, so try not to sit downwind of any social lepers or you may have your dinner ruined.

Of course, this is not the restaurant's fault, and the food that is offered is good quality, and absolutely fresh, certainly as far as the seafood is concerned. The service is friendly, especially if you are looked after by Chamin, the restaurant manager. Food is served quickly and efficiently - the owner cooks the food himself. The pricing is very competitive, and quite a lot cheaper than the hotels on the strip. I would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Super cheap fish on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We really enjoyed this tiny no-frills restaurant run by a friendly Sri Lankan. My wife and I had both had grilled tuna, salad and chips, washed down with a few lion beers. It was really tasty and incredibly cheap. A perfect spot for a cheap meal whilst watching the waves roll in.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed samson restaurant also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle
Unawatuna, Galle
 

Been to samson restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage samson restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.