We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast's great, especially homemade brown bread!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jina's Vegetarian and Vegan Restaurant

Jina's Vegetarian and Vegan Restaurant
Wella Devale Rd, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 52 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The restaurant is listed in the latest edition of Lonely Planet and Rough Guide. No website as far as I know.
huddersfield
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Breakfast's great, especially homemade brown bread!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner went to this veg restaurant as it looked welcoming and warm. I am not a vegan or vegetarian but I love homemade bread so could not resist! Breakfast is particularly good there, peanut butter, bananas, brown bread, tea and eggs. There also string of different choices such as porridge, French toast, and many more. I cannot comment on food that's suited to evening dining as I never been at that time of night. But seeing on the menu it looks like plenty of choices to choose from. BUT you must go there for breakfast! :-D staff is friendly plus quick service. One thing I like about them is that they grow their own seeds, vegetables and all sorts in their back garden so I know where it is from rather than using factory produced stuff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    58
    29
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious food in Sri Lanka Unawatuna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stumbled across this wholesome, fresh and lovingly cooking vegetarian and vegan restaurant. Gemunu Jinasena himself has a friendly greeting and shared his passion for food - he says it should be highly developed in spirituality- good for the soul, good for the stomach and excellent value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great to get a totally veggie menu, the food was really good and the chef was really nice. We had a veggie thali and it was excellent. There are trinkets on sale and there is plenty of seating in the garden with a playhouse so very child friendly too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious & Great Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Jina manages and operates one of the best restaurants in Sri Lanka; my partner and I visit here every time we visit from Colombo. The vegetarian food is lovingly prepared and tastes delicious - many of the ingredients are picked from the adjoining garden where you can relax in the lush green surroundings. Because the food is all freshly prepared, it can take a little longer to arrive at your table than other restaurants where it is all mass produced and microwaved to order, but the wait is well, well worth it! Jina is a rare breed in business; he genuinely puts your culinary pleasure before profit and ensures that your visit is one to remember. If you go to Unawatuna, you simply must visit here!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nasty!!! Not worth it!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We came to have lunch. after two bites we stopped eating. The beanpaste looked like it sat in its wrap since 3 days, the sour cream sauce looked also very unhappy. No taste at all in the food! Even the starter (avocado, popaya, shallots) was - seems impossible - very nasty. Maybe the dinner menus are better but a la carte: NO WAY! Even the place itself looked very shabby and has no charm at all..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jina's Vegetarian and Vegan Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jina's Vegetarian and Vegan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jina's Vegetarian and Vegan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.