We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guesthouse, beautiful views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun'n'Sea Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Unawatuna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sun'n'Sea Hotel
Save
You added Sun'n'Sea Hotel to your Saves list
324, Matara Road, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 90 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely guesthouse, beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

My boyfriend and I had a great stay at the Sun 'N' Sun. The view is stunning -- perfect for sunset watching. The beach by the hotel is great for swimming; the waves are fairly calm. The rooms are minimalist and very clean. The only hiccup was the AC wasn't working in our room, however, the staff was very nice and accommodating and let us change rooms. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    19
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Sun n Sea is simply one of a kind! The room we had was on the upper floor, it was clean and stylish, the Sri Lankan coffee and curry were both delicious, staffs were helpful and friendly, wifi was covered in most rooms. On top of everything, the view from the hotel was beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

This place should be rated far higher as a place to stay in Unawatuna. It is simply beautiful and pretty well priced! We didn't book and just turned up so got the cost down to 3000 rupees - about £15 a night. And we got a beautiful room on the first floor. The room opens out onto a long balcony and you waves washing up to the rocks by the balcony. It is idyllic. The staff are also great. It is a little bit further down the beach so the restaurant is not nearly as busy as it should be. It was quiet so we didn't eat there till our last night but ended up having my best veggie curry of the trip!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemainus, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed for a couple nights, and found it to be an awesome guesthouse. The staff was very friendly, and there was wireless internet, which is always a plus, and the beach was beautiful. Breakfast was included in our cost, and we requested a traditional Sri Lankan breakfast, which they were happy to make! It was a really cool place, and I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Gorgeous seaside resort, this place has by far the best views in all of Unawatuna and waking up by the sea, literally on the beach, was an absolute dream. Don't know about that nonsense review i've read below - I spoke to their family and was told that the owner had passed away soon after the Tsunami, many of her friends had passed through this traumatic time, it's not something to be joked about or weirded out about, it was a reality that this hotel was hit in 2004 by the Tsunami, however they have rebuilt the damaged rooms and it's looking even better than before (i've stayed there twice!).

I would definitelly recommend this resort to anyone, there was nothing freaky about it - was simply gorgeous and my partner and i shared a very romantic stay there. Would go there again in a heartbeat.

xox

Room Tip: For the best view, ask for one of the bottom rooms (ground floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

I stayed at the hotel with a group of friends and it was eerie and weird throughout. Although it looks nice and inviting there was something that we all felt very odd.
There was a lady at the reception dressed in black who said she doesn’t stay overnight as she don’t trust the others and kept on speaking of deaths in the hotel! The owner had died sometime ago at the hotel and was not discovered for 2 days. There had been 2 mysterious deaths of staff and apparently noises were heard at night. All that had stopped after some religious activities as per the lady named Florence.
We lost our cake of soap in the first night and had no idea how that happened to date! There were no entry/exit points for any kind of animal visible to us! Hotel staff were not helpful when we reported this.
There are doors from the rooms opening to a corridor towards the hotel to which guests are not given any keys, and there are absolutely no latches for us to lock the doors from inside other than hoping for the best. I think staffs are occupying the other side of the corridor which is very unacceptable

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

This is probably the type of accommodation I like best. Small, personal, clean and uncomplicated. It is directly on the beach, you'll have breakfast with a great view.
The rooms are quite modern, they seem to have renovated recently, and everything is in order. Breakfast is good, and staff is very friendly. There is really nothing to complain about.
Although the Galle-Matara road passes right behind the hotel (this is the case in many hotels in Unawatuna), you don't hear any traffic because the sea is much louder. So the road didn't bother us at all. We had a nice experience in this hotel, because the cook showed us how to cook real Sri Lankan rice&curry.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun'n'Sea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun'n'Sea Hotel

Address: 324, Matara Road, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A piece of heaven on Earth... ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun'n'Sea Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.