We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small place with great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Unawatuna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant
Yaddehimulla | Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 hotels in Unawatuna
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A small place with great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011 via mobile

Great location, right on the beach, excellent service, room comfortable, with full access to next door neighbour:Unawatuna beach resort.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    22
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
30
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Slovenia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

We have chosen Tartaruga based on very good reviews on TA, but as previous review says (which was written after we left), the rooms are very basic... nobody cleaned them for a whole week we stayed there. For 60$ a night we expected more. There´s nothing special about restaurant neither... we have eaten much better food on Sri Lanka. The location is one of the best in Unawatuna, right on the beach, and the lying pillows area is perfect, other than that this place is basic and overrated. I realy don´t understand how come this was number one place in Unawatuna (at the time I checked the reviews on TA).

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Tartaruga has an absolute beach frontage and it is nice to be able to wander out from your room for a swim. The property has a decent restaurant where you can get drinks and plain food (nothing fancy). The room itself was basic but adequate, and clean. We had to supply our own soap and toilet paper. Note that noise from the restaurant music makes it difficult to sleep if you want an early night. There are nicer options in unawatuna for not much more money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sraji, Public Relations Manager at Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
dear Mr or mrs,
We feel sorry for your respond. As you mentioned there were no soap and toilet paper we are wondering what has happened for the soap and toilet paper we left in the bathroom.
This review helps us to learn about our guests before we rent the rooms, so thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010 via mobile

We have visited Sri Lanka from north to south and the country side is amazing. Then when we wanted to relax we ended to Unawatuna beach, a wonderful bay for all kind of turism: relax, sport, shopping, culture...

In Unawatuna the best place to stay is absolutely Tartaruga: the cleanest, the warmest, the more complete!!

Thanks to Neel (the owner), Sham and all the staff we spent a really great time there and we will come back soon for sure :)

Walter & Elisa

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

This is by the far the friendliest place I have ever stayed at. I've stayed here a few times and the owner and all staff always remember me and are so friendly and welcoming. The rooms are beautiful, right on the beach and very clean. Fantastic food served literally on the sea shore and the views are amazing. Happy days, I hope I'll be back soon......

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Best location on the beach clean rooms great value just a few metres from the sea sheer paradise

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

just returned from Sri Lanka. Beside travelling around the island, we returned (we were there in May) to Tartaruga (Unawatuna). We've visited many places in SL and other countries of SE Asia and definetely it's one of the best place w've ever been!!! Very clean and cozy rooms just a few steps from the ocean (one of the bungalow right on the beach). Many people come with kids and stuff takes care of every single kid, play with them, so parents i think have really good chances for a honeymoon. Beach is really nice! To say that restaraunt food is great (both: european and the local) isto say nothing as it's like you having a meal at home! Some tables are on the beach, so a stunning ocean view is guaranteed!!! We really like this place and wholeheartly recommend it!!
Special thanks goes to the owners!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant

Address: Yaddehimulla | Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
#10 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
Also Known As:
Tartaruga Hotel And Beach Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tartaruga Hotel & Beach Restaurant to your Saves list