We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Grove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Palm Grove to your Saves list
Palm Grove
Egodawatte, Unawatuna, Galle -, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 90 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Very nice and peaceful place. We stayed in a big, clean room and had a good bed & shower. The owner Paul is very friendly and so is his labrador Charlie. It is not at the beach, but I'm sure that's only a good thing, as it is more quiet.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    15
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
69
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Diksmuide, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We've stayed here for about 4 nights and had a lovely stay!! We were not far from the beach but in a very quiet place!
Great building! Great location, a bit hidden away and quiet!
Very nice room!! Price for the room was okay (but we got a discount, because we stayed more nights!
Breakfast a bit overpriced in comparison to other places we've stayed.
Great roof terrace and other terraces!
The owners were in UK the moment we were there but there were other people who spoke English very good and helped us where they could!
The bonus of our stay was Charlie, the dog of the owners that was there! He was good company :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Nobody speaking english was there alla day long. We couldn't ask anything, and we couldn't have the wifi password. The building is nice and the room big but it smells of dust, we had to remove the mosquito net to sleep as it was full of dust and smelling bad. Once it was on the chair it was grey of dust. Breakfast is overpriced for what they give you.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The guesthouse is in idyllic settings as you almost feel that you are in a jungle.
I have given it a 3 because having travelled Sri Lanka for 4 weeks on a limited budget we have stayed in better places for approximately half the cost. Also, the room had a damp smell and as a result the clothes we hung up smell of damp.
The owner seemed very pleasant and helpful although on our first night (of 4) he flew back to the UK and the other staff spoke very limited English. We went for breakfast one morning and the waiter walked past us numerous times we ended up just leaving and getting food down the road. When we did have breakfast it was 4$ each which is definitely overpriced!
So overall, an idyllic location in beautiful settings but for 30$ a night it was too much.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhaktapur
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our last week in Sri Lanka we spent in Palm Grove and that was perfect. Friendly staff, nice owner, everything was possible. Rooms were spacious, very clean. They have a nice area to relax with a hammock. No idea why there are not the no 1 in Unawatuna, for us it was!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was definitely the best place we stayed in during our holiday in Sri Lanka.
The owners, Paul and Lorraine, are such laid back, friendly, warm people, when you stay with them, you don't want to leave!
Their guesthouse looks wonderful, nice and spacious rooms, with clean bathrooms. The terraces are nicely decorated and a nice place to have a drink in the night.
Close to the beach, but in a very quiet little street.
Unfortunately we could only stay for 3 nights, because after that the guesthouse was fully booked, otherwise we would have stayed here the entire week. We moved to another guesthouse, in which breakfast was not included, so we came back one morning to have breakfast at Palm Grove, on invitation of Lorraine.
we will definitely come back to Unawatuna one day and we know where we will stay then! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a very late review. However, I couldn't recommend Palm Grove more highly. Lorraine and Paul are truly great people who make you feel very wlecome. Having travelled around Sri Lanka, I know that the rooms are very good for the price compared to elsewhere. Very comfortable bed, super clean and lovely outdoor areas to sit and relax. I have it on my list to go back - for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Grove

Address: Egodawatte, Unawatuna, Galle -, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Grove is located in an idyllic village setting.Only a 10 minute stroll to the shops,bars,restaurants and the beautiful bay of Unawatuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Palm Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.