We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first trip to sri lanka” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Grove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Unawatuna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palm Grove
Egodawatte, Unawatuna, Galle -, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 81 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“first trip to sri lanka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed at palm grove for 2 weeks in jan, beautifull surrounding accomodation exellent. spacious rooms, very clean, brilliant location just a few minutes walk to the beach. breakfast on the terrace every morning, paradise! Lorraine & paul were brilliant, very knowlegable & welcoming, did a 4 day tour with guide that was recommended by paul & lorraine, was brilliant recommend it. will definatly be back to lorraine & paul at palm grove.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    13
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
65
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at Palm Grove on the recommendation of our daughter who had spent a week there in 2012. We found that the guest house lived up to her praise. Lorraine and Paul are excellent hosts who run a very welcoming place. The garden is lush and green and full of flowers. There are two large terraces with hammocks and chairs for lounging. The bedrooms are large and airy with four poster beds with mosquito nets, AC and very clean bathrooms. Breakfast is served on the terrace or on the balcony outside your room and it is delicious and very generous. Lorraine could not do enough for us. Unfortunately, she had accommodation for us for only one night, but she found us a room nearby and we continued to have breakfast on her terrace. Palm Grove is a real find. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is the best place in Sri Lanka. We stayed with my boyfriend in this guesthouse for 5 days. And it was the best of of all places where we stayed. Paul and Lori were welcoming and did everything to make us feel like at home.At this hotel feels very calm and relaxed! The real rest! Laurie told us many interesting things. Interior photos not very correspond to reality. There's much more cozy and more beautiful! The rooms are cleaned every day. Everywhere is clean. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Palm Grove is somewhere that i'd be happy to keep returning to time and time again and was my favourite guest house during my Sri Lankan adventure. Unawatuna is a lively and bustling resort and the Palm Grove is a tropical oasis of calm nestled in a small back street so noise is never a problem. But within a few minutes you can be walking on the beach or sat outside one of the many bars and restaurants. Lorraine and Paul are both wonderful hosts, friendly, kind and attentive to your needs. Lorraine arranged transport on to my next port of call and suggested some lovely things to do in the local area including a wonderful massage and their restaurant suggestions were spot on. The room was large, very clean and bright with a/c, fan, mosquito nets and plenty of fresh, clean towels. An issue with the plug in the hand basin was resolved immediately. The Palm Grove has some lovely shared areas including a roof terrace with a hammock where you can take breakfast and enjoy watching the monkeys in the trees. A nice touch is the honesty bar where you can help yourself to cold beers and soft drinks which is lovely after being out and about in the heat of the day. I really can't recommend the Palm Grove highly enough and i'll certainly be going there again on my next visit. Thank you once again Lorraine and Paul for your humour and kindness.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in January 2013, and it was one of our favourite stops along the way. Paul and Lorraine (along with all other staff) were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area, and went out of our way to ensure we enjoyed our stay.

The size of the rooms makes them great value, and the faciities are top notch (aside from the occasional lack of hot water). Tucked away in a nice little laneway, it is a great way to be in the middle of the action, without having to deal with constant noise.

Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brumath, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Dear Lorraine & Paul,
Thank you very much for your welcome. We did have 4 beautiful days with you. I would say it was our 4 best days during our 3 weeks tour. Our little daughter enjoyed as well your relaxing garden, the breakfast with monkeys, and your kind attention. It will be a pleasure to see you again if we plan to come back in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Unforgettable holiday in a true paradise! Everything was perfect: luxurious room, beautiful garden and very delisious breakfast. Special thanks to Lorraine and Paul who made our standing in Palm Grove more bright with their kindness and care.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palm Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Grove

Address: Egodawatte, Unawatuna, Galle -, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Grove is located in an idyllic village setting.Only a 10 minute stroll to the shops,bars,restaurants and the beautiful bay of Unawatuna. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Palm Grove to your Saves list