We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and great view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brinkhouse Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Brinkhouse Guest House to your Saves list
Brinkhouse Guest House
Brinkhouse, Welledewalaya rd, | Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna., Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

BrinkHouse does not look as the best location on the map... But this is not true: Instead of water you got the jungle and I have never been to another place where you sit eating your lovely breakfast watching hords of monkeys in the trees and monitors slithering in the water.

The rooms are basic, but neat and the hosts are friendly and provide you with good service. The breakfast is a mix of local and english/continental and with plenty of food and fresh fruit is a perfect way to explore the neighbourhood. The beach is close, but far enough so one has plenty of privacy. The WIFi is also a must have.

So all in all a lovely place!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    10
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
devon uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is a well run guest house where you feel you get special attention,
Breakfast brought to your room,
balconies (watch out for the monkeys stealing your smalls)
transfers and taxis arranged
and a fridge in your room. where you pay for whatever you drink.
It's clean and the owners are around all the time so we felt secure as everyone has to pass their front door. Close Unawatuna beach. 1 min away it's great value for money,
lovely 4 poster bed with nets and a fan
we couldn't fault this place

Room Tip: our room upstairs at the front had a better outlook not a sea view but we could hear it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Like previous reviewers have nothing but good things to say about this place. The room was clean, bright, cheap, had a balcony and beers in the fridge (at a very good price). The view from the balcony was great, facing into forest area (monkeys, crabs, water monitors, etc). But what really made this place was the owners... a lovely couple who brought us a delicious breakfast to our room each morning. They also let us join them for a tasty dinner on the celebration for sinhelese new year, explaining all the traditions and history - a great experience.

Room Tip: try and get the first floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

I just got back from staying at Brinkhouse and I can't say enough good things about our time there. The couple who run it are simply wonderful! They organized drivers at reasonable rates who always showed up on time and were very helpful during the tsunami evacuation. We enjoyed having our breakfast of fresh fruit, toast, eggs, juice and tea delivered to our balcony daily. We had late check-out at 6pm and they made us roti etc before we went, neither of which they charged us for. It's located hardly a minute from the beach and you can walk along to all the bars and restaurants. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notodden, Telemark, Norway
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Loved a lot of things about Brinkhouse, the location for instance - close to the beach and restaurants, but still at a comfortable distance from the bars playing music during the night. A family of 11 monkeys visited the trees on the property daily, which was a pleasant surprise! The owners are kind and trustworthy people, and were always doing their best to make our stay comfortable. They also serve a huge breakfast, which you can eat on your own little porch.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We loved our time at the Brinkhouse! It is located really close to the
beach (1 minute walk), but is set far enough back in the jungle, off
the main road, that you can sleep peacefully and enjoy a quiet
breakfast on their private balconies. The mosquito netting canopies on
the bed are really romantic, and the area around the guesthouse is
private enough that it is possible to leave all the windows and doors
open to get a pleasant breeze. They even have a local population of
monkeys and monitor lizards that visit the area near the guest house.
We got some great pictures of the monkeys after throwing bananas to
them!

The owners are amazingly sweet and helped to accommodate us as best as
they could. They offered breakfast with our stay, and when we
requested Sri Lankan hoppers they produced them with a smile the next
day for us. They greeted us happily every time we saw them, and
offered us beach towels, beach mats and local fruits. When we left for
the airport at 3am they woke up to see us off and gave us water
bottles and bananas for our journey- they even walked next to our car
as we left the guest house waving goodbye. It’s great to have people
this nice helping to make your stay memorable!

If there were any issues on premise, the owners personally came to
our room to explain the situation (when the Wi-Fi went off due to a
power failure, the owner came to speak with us immediately and then
came back to tell us it was back on because he knew we wanted to use
it).

Also, before we even arrived at the Brinkhouse, the owners personally
emailed us confirming our booking which was great! We then arranged an
airport pickup with them from Colombo, which saved us quite a bit of
transit time.

If you are looking for a laid-back, peaceful retreat on Unawatuna
Beach, this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: the rooms on the second floor are best because you will have a private balcony (the bottom floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

As a family of 6 we spent five nights here over Christmas 2011. We were to made to feel very welcome and the hosts were very very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean and the monkeys which were usually in the trees in the morning were amazing! Only a short walk from the beach and would recommend The Hot Rock restaurant for the Sri Lankan Curry or Old Fashioned Prawn Curry which was one of the best meals we had in Sri Lanka. Would definitely recommend the Brink House to all a lovely family run guest house.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brinkhouse Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brinkhouse Guest House

Address: Brinkhouse, Welledewalaya rd, | Yaddehimulla, Unawatuna., Unawatuna, Galle 80600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brinkhouse - Guesthouse is a Sri Lankan family atmosphere-run guest house in Unawatuna. Room services: three upstairs cleaned & large rooms with large balconies, attached bathrooms, fans, nets, furniture, refrigerator etc. One downstairs large cleaned room with large veranda. Foods: Sri Lankan meals. We serve high quality authentic Sri Lankan meals (rice & curry with different types of seafood) served on your balcony or veranda. Also different kinds of breakfasts with Sri Lankan fruits. Specialty Hoppers, Egg Hoppers, String Hoppers, Coconut Roties, etc with Sri Lankan high quality tea. Also continental breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Brinkhouse Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brinkhouse Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.