We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingfisher

Kingfisher
Welle Dewala Road, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
(0) 91 225 03 12
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 52 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Cuisines: European, Italian, Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Ballarat, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic food on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is a fantastic restaurant on the beach in Unawatuna. Fantastic fresh seafood, cold beers, excellent service from the waiting staff. Thoroughly recommend!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    135
    43
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location, great food, great cocktails.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This funky but classy place on the beach is a must for anyone visiting. If there is any complaint it is the service is a bit slow, but we have seen that all through Sri Lanka. This place has great cocktails, excellent food and great prices! They have sun lounges too spend the day here also on the amazing beach! Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Value and Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

After reading about this place in the Lonely Planet, we thought to hunt it down for lunch. We were not disappointed with the quality of food and presentation, price or service. We kept going back for lunch during our stay. The only complaint was that some food was a little salty. The passion fruit mojito was a favourite as was the roti wraps. Go and give it a try.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A nice surprise for a lovely Diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Visited Kingfisher on friends recommendation and were not let down.
The restaurant is located right on the beach and you can sit on a nice table on the sand.
Menu is very rich, I personally had the Green Bean Prawn Curry that was delicious, accompanied by a bottle of white wine.
Staff is efficient, helpful and fast. Prices are very reasonable. Nothing to complain about.

Would highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Drinks only - gutted we didn't eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Late afternoon beers and cocktails, and found the staff friendly and attentive, bathroom spotlessly clean, and the drinks of a very high standard at reasonable prices.

We decided to walk further up the beach to eat, and realised we had made a mistake having eaten a meal I ended up feeding to the dogs on the beach, and looking back to find Kingfisher absolutely packed with no tables available.

Will definitely eat here if we are in the area again

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingfisher also viewed

 
Unawatuna, Galle
 

Been to Kingfisher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingfisher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.