We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingfisher

Kingfisher
Welle Dewala Road, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
(0) 91 225 03 12
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 59 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, European, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Settled on the beach, have great location and ambience. Ordered chicken filet and some cheese pasta and Kingfisher salat. Well the pasta was very good, like expected, but chicken was nothing speciale, and the portions are very small. We chouse restaurant becouse of great reviews, but didnt found it the best in Unawatuna. The most anoying thing is very very slow service. As we traveld with young chind this could be very bed. Next time we aqre going for Thai food, as suggested in other reviews.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    169
    65
    22
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great food, especially the Thai currys. Even though it was meat currys, the cook was happy to make me a vegetarian dish. Right down to the beach, lovely location. Very nice staff, friendly and great service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best food in Unawatuna!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Luckily I was staying across the road from Kingfisher - I ate or drank there every day for a week! The food was amazing, but be sure to book ahead for dinner during the busy season as it's probably the most popular restaurant in the area - and for good reason!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienne, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Perfect setting on the beach. You can eat on solid ground if you prefer. One again friendly staff it seems to be the way it is in Sri Lanka. I wish we were welcoming tourists in France as we are welcome here. I had prawns with garlic sauce, served with a mix salad and some French fries. The portion of prawns was very generous and very tasty. With a diet coke and a vanilla ice cream the bill came to 1670 Lkr / 12€ very good value for money indeed. I have a couple days left in Galle. No doubt I will return a couple of times.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lovely setting, great food and service. My partner had the steak which was melt in your mouth delicious! I would also recommend the chicken satay starter.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingfisher also viewed

 

Been to Kingfisher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingfisher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.