We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you guys, for the Best 6 days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pipels House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pipels House to your Saves list
Pipels House
Pelaketiya Watte 55B | Yaddhimula Road, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 90 Unawatuna B&B and Inns
Kandy, Sri Lanka
1 review
“Thank you guys, for the Best 6 days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

It is a clean in hotel style, guesthouse, the staff is our friends now, and they are very profEsionel ! They are making a very good breakfast and the worlds Best wraps :) we enjoyed our stay there so Much. Highly recommended <3 Best regards Kia and Kevin (Denmark) Sri Lanka. Miss all of you guys.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    17
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was a perfect place for me to stay .. i had 5 days solo after a group travel trip. I was unsure and nervous about where to stay and came then across this guest house. I liked it's homely look and sat down for a coffee. I immediately felt comfortable and welcome. We chatted about the area and I was given so much help and advice before I even asked about the rooms. I then chose to stay and had a brilliant few days. I loved my room and loved the hotel. The staff made me feel so welcome and I found out so much about local life. I loved every minute and hope to revisit Pipels House one day son.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hulhumale
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This place felt just like a home for us in Unawatuna. It is a very cozy place with great hospitality. We felt like the staff were our friends. We booked a standard double room and it was far from our expectations compared to the rest of the places we stayed in Sri Lanka before. Room was super clean and neatly kept. Everything about the room was simple and not over the top, so it felt cozy. Rooms come with a mosquito net as well. You can get hot water in the shower. Staff were always available at anytime and very helpful with all our needs. The guys at Pipels house really know how to keep the guests happy. Thats what we felt. Food at Pipels house was amazing. One of the specials were the Rotti Wraps. We had an amazing Avacado wrap which was simply delicious and very surprising! we were actually expecting it to be sweet but it was mind blowingly good. The place is located in the heart of Una not far from the shops, beach, restaurants, etc. You can also ask the guys for a scooty, we were riding around on it. All in all this place is amazing. And guys (Nilantha, Indika and Chef) Thanks for the great experience and you will see us in the future for sure. Keep smiling guys

Miles and Sha

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ninove, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Unawatuna! the people over there are amazing and the place itself is very nice, clean en relaxing! we had a great time there with Nilantha and his friends. They cooked for us, we cooked for them, we played card games together, Nilantha showed us around, we had some great laughs together! Even some tears when we were leaving... If I ever go back to Sri Lanka, this place would definitely be on my list!

Room Tip: no swimming pool or fitness center but this is totally NOT necessary
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed just the one night (unfortunately) at Pipels House. Spent most of the day and evening on the beach and by the bars but Pipels House was a great place to relax and get refreshed. Booked the family room - two double beds (two guys, we didn't fancy sharing the bed) but bathroom is not connected to the room which is a bit strange. However, the room and bathroom was very clean. Big props to the staff who kept the whole place spotless. Lovely verendah to cool off and have a drink! No aircon but fans do the job. No mod cons and quite pricey for what you got. Felt pretty safe and staff were so friendly! Would love to return, and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Family room if you want a bit more space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We've just returned from a whistle-stop trip to Sri Lanka during which we booked a 2 night stay at Pipels House. Our decision was based largely on Trip Advisor reviews. We had the room to the front of the house on the 1st floor, which was small, but adequate for our needs and clean. If you want piece and quiet, it's not the best spot. Our first night was plagued by noise in the street and as there was a room (apartment) above ours, the second night was spent under a group of rowdy youths who thought it would be great to party until 3.30am! We didn't eat at the guest house, but in all honesty, it wasn't the nicest place to sit and when we did rest there, were plagued by mosquitos. In summary, it's fine for a quick, clean stay over, but I couldn't recommend it for a long term stay,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We are traveling with our 2 kids and booked Pipel's house as they has a "family" room available, which can be somewhat difficult to find at times. When we first arrived we were a little surprised to find the room on top of a restaurant filled with young people. It really turned out to be no big deal as things really did quiet down once it was time to sleep and we were never disturbed by the goings-on below in the shop. We never smelled any mysterious smoke as has been commented on in another review.

The young men working the place were extremely nice, well mannered and easy going. They were very helpful for us and guided us in some of our scheduling, which was very helpful (and not in a tout way, it was genuine). They even arranged a very helpful tuk-tuk driver that lives across the way and he went way beyond the call of duty assisting me in some issues I was having with attempting to ship a package home. Normally my wife is especially wary when staying at a place staffed entirely by males, especially in light of some of the recent events in India. However, she never felt uncomfortable or got that "icky" vibe from these guys.

The food in the restaurant was great and several times after eating in the more scenic beach restaurants (that would have average food at best) we'd end up coming 'home' to Pipel's and ordering more food since we'd still be hungry.

We did not stay in the suite with the balcony as we needed 2 large beds for 4 people, although it did look nice.

Our only issues were the fact that it is located right on the main road of Unawatuna and the dogs, tuk-tuks and general noise start pretty early and can wake you up. Also, there is no A/C and no screens on the windows to keep the mosquitos out, although there are mosquito nets on the beds. The thing that we were most surprised about was the fact that the bathroom/shower was outside of the main room and while it really turned out not to be a big problem, it may bother some and wanted to mention it.

Overall our stay at Pipel's was very good, and this was largely due to the very hospitable staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pipels House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pipels House

Address: Pelaketiya Watte 55B | Yaddhimula Road, Unawatuna, Galle, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Julien (Giulio), Rama and Nisa welcome you to their Pipel's House. Our hotel is situated in Unawatuna,100mt far from one of the best Sri Lanka's bay southside. Pipels House is newly built, and the quality of workmanship is very high. We have created a house, where something always happens! We offer an high level of service, English/Italian speaking staff, simple and genuine italian cuisine, all 100 mt far from the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Pipels House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pipels House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.