We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thaproban Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Thaproban Beach House to your Saves list
Thaproban Beach House
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yaddhehimulla Rd | Galle, Unawatuna, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“nice hotel to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

plus points : it is a hotel with nice location, right on the beach.
nice view. stayed there 2 nights. unawatuna beach is good with nice waves.
just a few steps from the room to the ocean.
minus points : ill-maintained bathrooms and average breakfast.
advise to hotel : shud remove dog-poop on the beach side
bargain for prices. around USD 50-60 it is a good place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, We have made a note of your comments regarding the bathrooms and the beach area. Hope you will visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Medha Dissanayake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    163
    42
    18
    17
See reviews for
103
260
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel surpasses all expectations--and even wildest hopes. The rooms are gorgeous: right on the beach, with doors opening on to a spacious balcony. Lotuses bloom in every room; the food is wonderful; the private beach is lovely. The thing that really made the difference, though, was the staff. Always smiling, helpful, and kind, these folks were incredibly dedicated to making every moment of our stay as comfortable as possible. I am beginning to wonder if my husband and I should have come here for our honeymoon! What a glorious place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay in June 2013 at Thaproban Beach House and we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home.

We were honored to read your great review and it gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us highlighting the overall ambiance of the hotel and the quality of personalized service provided by our associates.
We have shared your compliments to the entire team and they are equally happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. We are certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve the higher standards of excellence.

We thank you once again for your compliments and we all look forward to having you back with us on your next holiday to Sri Lanka. Please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Unawatuna.

Sincerely,
Medha Dissanayake
Thambapanni Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Location is fantastic,right on the beach.We had two bedrooms and bathroom on the top level with a great view of the beach.Very clean and comfortable,Would be good for two couples travelling together.
The staff are fantastic,always there to help you whenever you need anything.A special thank you to Nuwani for her extra help and attention to detail and always with a smile.
The food is also very good!!
I can highly recommend the Thaproban beach house for a holiday stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay in May 2013 at Thaproban Beach House and we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home.

We were honored to read your great review and it gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us highlighting your room at the hotel and the quality of personalized service provided by our staff.
We have shared your compliments to the entire team and they are equally happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. We are certain that this will serve as a source of inspiration for us to achieve the higher standards of excellence.

We thank you once again for your compliments and we all look forward to having you back with us on your next holiday to Sri Lanka. Please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to our hotels.

Sincerely,
Medha Dissanayake
Thambapanni Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Thaproban beach house is a much reviewed hotel, for good reason. Its a great place!

We stayed at Thaproban for the Vesak Day weekend and had such a nice time. We rented the penthouse, which had 2 bedrooms and a great view. It would be great for a family with kids or couples traveling together. There is only one bathroom, and the shower isn't the best, but for the price, you can't do any better. Initially, we were torn between staying in Galle or in Unawatuna. We chose Unawatuna because of the beach access, and affordability. Unawatuna is really a charming, quirky little beach town, much loved and cared for by those who are still working to rebuild after the 2005 Tsunami. There's a local population here, who worship at the Buddhist temple nearby, and it was an honor to be with them during the Vesak Day celebrations.

More about the room: Great Aircon, nice Balcony with plenty of seats. Bring your own shampoos and stuff as the amenities in the room are pretty basic. Also, bring a converter, as the hotel only has one in its main office. There are stairs, so if you're infirm and wanting to stay in the penthouse, be mindful that you'll have 2-3 flights of stairs to climb.

The food: Holy smokes, it was good. NOTE: IF YOU WANT SRI LANKAN BREAKFAST, MAKE ARRANGEMENTS THE DAY BEFORE. Trust me, you want the sri lankan breakfast. The western breakfast is fine, but it's truly a waste to eat anything western when you're in Sri Lanka. Their food surpasses even the best Thai food I've ever had. Everything is fresh and wholesome. They grind their own coconut to make their own coconut milk...for EVERY meal. No one uses cans. Its also a vegetarian/pescetarian heaven. At Thaproban, we had fish curry, prawn curry, cucumber curry, potato curry, beetroot curry, green bean curry, coconut roti, etc. Many reviewers suggest eating at Kingfisher--I don't recommend that, as it's just Western food--no Sri Lankan options available. If I were you, I'd take a tuk tuk into Galle and treat yourself to the Rice and Curry at the Amangalla. It's $30USD and you can split it. Their breakfast is heavenly too. I can't stress enough that the Sri Lankan food is better than anything you've ever had.

Re the service: As all the reviewers have mentioned, the service at Thaproban is impeccable. They all work so hard, and do a great job at it. At every level, you'll be taken care of--from the airport pickup to the reception to the waitstaff. These are good people, and they really make you feel at home.

Definitely bring mosquito spray/patches. You'll need them in Sri Lanka and you can only buy the local citronella spray at the stores. In fact, unawatuna/Galle is not such a commercial place. If you have a specific brand of anything, you'll need to bring it, because likely you won't be able to go get it in the little stores. It's not like Bali where its so commercial that you can pop down and buy your favorite spray sunscreen brand in 1 minute. There are no Starbucks in Unawatuna/Galle, no big chain resorts, no McD--that's part of the charm!

Anyway, enjoy your stay at Thaproban. Amazing beach view. We saw a full rainbow, and the blood red moon while we were there. Clean, beautiful beach. And we didn't hear any disco while we were there.

One last thing--there is wine and liquor in the Colombo airport and the prices are in USD and not so bad (we live in Sing where alcohol is very expensive). Nevertheless, if you want something NICE, such as a bottle of Moet or some better wines, bring them with you into Sri Lanka. Once you get to Unawatuna, etc., you'll be hard pressed to find anything on your own, especially since there really aren't even 7-11's. Lion beer is good when cold. Also, I brought an airline blanket with me, which was handy as there is only a sheet on the bed.

Overall, it was awesome! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Use Agoda to book the penthouse. Bring bug spray, shampoo, etc., nice wine, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review recommending our hotel.

Special thanks to mentioning about our rooms, staff and food. Yes the staff will always go out of the way to help you out with any issue.

We hope you will come again to spend another holiday at Thaproban Beach House and contact me if you need any assistance in planning your next trip to Sri Lanka!

Sincerely,

Medha Dissanayake
Thambapanni Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed at Thaproban beach house with a couple of friends. We all enjoyed this experience very much. The hotel was clean ,safe and of a very good standard and beautifully layed out. The location was perfect, situated right on the beach. The best part of the hotel was definitely the staff as they were all so friendly and treated us like members of their own family. They were very helpful and gave us good advice on travel etc. Nuwani in particular was very friendly and hospitable and we will be keeping in touch with her and the hotel in the future. We will most definitely be staying there again next time. Thanks again Thaproban for making our trip a holiday to remember and making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Shanika,

Thank you for your review and your time spent on the feedback. Yes we certainly look forward to having you again and please contact me if you need any assistance with your travel plans to Sri Lanka.

Sincerely,

Medha Dissanayake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Very good location right on the beach at Unawatuna, friendly staff who all made you welcome, always smiling & helpful, good clean rooms & great food. Nisansala arranged a trip to Yala for us, which was very good value.Would stay there again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay in April 2013 at Thaproban Beach House and we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home.

We were honored to read your great review and it gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
We have shared your compliments with all the staff and they are equally happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated.

We thank you once again for your compliments and we all look forward to having you back with us on your next holiday to Sri Lanka. Please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Unawatuna.

Sincerely,
Medha Dissanayake
Thambapanni Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

The thing that gets you first about thaproban is the amazingly friendly staff. They all taken a personal interest in you and make the stay very hospitable indeed. Even the chef wanted to know exactly how we liked our food, and the came out to check to see if we were happy.

The hotel is right by unawattuna beach, which is perfect.

The Hotel however doesn't have much parking. You have to drive further down the beach and park at its sister hotel, thambapani, which isn't too far away but is still a bit of a downer.

The rooms were what you would expect for the price you pay. They aren't by any means lush, but were clean and sizeable. The bathrooms were clean and large too.

Their restaurant isn't on the beach, and offers no view of the beach, and unfortunately there were quite a lot of flies given its open nature. But despite this, the place has good food. It was on the pricey side though.

We didn't use any facilities within the hotel, but it seems like there were a few. The staff were more than happy to help us with things like finding a tuk tuk to get into galle.

Overall, it's a great place to stay if on a budget. No gaping complaints.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Owner at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Thaproban Beach House on your recent holiday to Sri Lanka. We sincerely appreciate your gesture in taking the time and posting a good review on Trip Advisor.

Regarding your comments about the parking facilities, yes due to the lack of space for parking we offer the guests the car park at the sister hotel Thambapanni Retreat which is 5 minutes walking distance from Thaproban Beach House. However if any guest wish they can park by the road area which has parking space before the Thaproban Beach House property.

Thank you for your comments on our rooms and cleanliness.

We thank you once again for the recommendations and we all look forward to having you back with us. Please feel free to contact me if I may be of service in any way in planning your next visit to Unawatuna.

Sincerely,
Medha Dissanayake
Thambapanni Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thaproban Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Beach House

Address: Yaddhehimulla Rd | Galle, Unawatuna, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#7 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Thaproban Beach House 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaproban Beach house is by the world famous Unawatuna beach. It has oneof the very few best known restaurants in the region. Some rooms areoverlooking the Indian Ocean with private balcony and lot of comfort. Rooms are equipped with A/C, Satellite T.V (LCD), Mini bar, In room teamaking facility, En suite bathroom with hot and cold waterand well furnished. Safe facility is provided and free Wifi in Public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Thaproban Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaproban Beach House Hotel Unawatuna
Thaproban Beach Hotel
Thaproban Beach Unawatuna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thaproban Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.