We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could have stayed longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thaproban Beach House

Save Saved
You added Thaproban Beach House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thaproban Beach House
Yaddhehimulla Rd | Galle, Unawatuna, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 hotels in Unawatuna
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wish I could have stayed longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I foolishly turned up in Unawatuna without a hotel booking wanting to stay in a beachfront hotel. I was luckily able to get into this hotel for my first night but as it is so popular I had to stay elsewhere for the rest of my four day stay. As such I ended up looking at all of the other beachfront hotels in Unawatuna and I would say that this is by far the best option. The rooms are beautiful, service is first class (they were a tremendous help with finding me somewhere else to stay and then onward travel even when I wasn't staying there) and really good value. So my recommendation is to book ahead and stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments posted on Trip Advisor. We appreciate it.

Sincerely,

Janaka Kuruwitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    136
    39
    13
    15
See reviews for
82
227
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked a Superior room via Agoda - as you can see, and as described on the Thaproban's own website, these have a "balcony and a sea view". When we arrived we were stuck in a room with a view of the car park, and told we had booked a "normal" Superior room not a "Sea View" Superior room, despite us having it in writing...they wanted cash to move us to one of the REAL superior rooms - which we had already paid for!! This would have been another $80 per night, what a scam!

We used our booking info and their own website to try and argue the point, and got moved to a sea-view room for a couple of nights before being moved back. I refused to pay the additional charge. the (superior sea-view) rooms themselves are ok - spacious but a bit battered, not as nice as the photos but still good & the balconies are nice. Bathrooms are ok, showers works well - first place I've ever seen tiles drawn on with a pen though!

The staff are friendly, except the lady who manages the hotel / front-desk (who isn't). And the reception areas are really nicely done. Breakfast was really good - western or Sri Lankan- though we didn't eat there in the evening but wandered along he beach to the Spice Chili Cafe (great food, cocktails, beer and cool sounds!) or other restaurants. You can simply wander back to your room through the back of the hotel from the beach in the evening, which is great (beware reception closes very early though in case you need anything).

The beach drops off the back of the hotel & you can simply walk from the verandah down the steps onto the beach. The hotel is REALLY close to the sea & most of the time you'll need to find a bit further along the beach & inland to avoid being washed away! There are bars & restaurants all along the beach, simple to get to.

Overall, a decent hotel with a few issues. We were really put off by the room scam and having to argue in reception with about ten guys at once - not nice. If you intend staying here make sure you get email confirmation of your exact room type from the hotel in advance.

Room Tip: Dont't get scammed and put in a standard room when you've already paid for a superior room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, We are sorry to hear about your bad experience however we do not give downgrades to guests who have booked Superior rooms, as there are six superior rooms which are on the ground floor, first floor and second floor.

Sincerely.

Janaka Kuruwitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Rizal, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

After 7 years my son finally got out of Afghanistan. Was able to meet him in SriLanka and stay at the Thaproban Beach House on our last leg of our trip. We were immediately treated to warm hospitality. That staff is very caring and took care of every need we could possibly have., I would have to say that Nuwani is my most favorite hostess with the mostess. THe accomedations where good but the staff and service was amazing!!!Thumbs up to this place and will visit it again soon!!!

Room Tip: Superior Room is the only way to go. Although all rooms were nice that I was able to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments posted on Trip Advisor. We appreciate it.

Sincerely,

Janaka Kuruwitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Thaproban Beach Hotel for a week in September 2012 and cannot speak highly enough of it. Everything was excellent; our room opened onto the beach, the hotel location was perfect, the food was incredible, and the staff... the staff were some of the BEST that we have encountered.

We asked to change room upon arriving to the hotel as our room was located directly above the kitchen and had potential to be noisy. The lovely receptionist quickly showed us to another room and it was absolutely beautiful with a balcony overlooking the beach (it was a little bit more expensive but well worth it). Every morning when we came down for breakfast, the receptionist would call out to us (by our first names) and ask if we were happy. And whenever we would walk around the hotel, the staff would talk to us, give us high fives and just generally make a big fuss over us. We felt like celebrities.

The food was delicious and the Thaproban Beach Hotel was the culinary highlight of our holiday. One afternoon when talking to some of the staff, we asked if there was anywhere that we could get Hoppers as we had not seem them on menus. The manager told us that he would organise Hoppers and had his wife cook up a whole batch at home especially for us and deliver them to the hotel in time for dinner. It was a really authentic Sri Lankan experience and another example of how the staff go the extra mile for you. We would also order lunch to our balcony every day as the view was so nice and the food so good.

We cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments posted on Trip Advisor. We appreciate it.

Sincerely,

Janaka Kuruwitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I had a wonderful 4 nights staying here. Wonderful service from all the staff, and beautiful rooms, and top location. Nuwani at the front desk could not do enough for us, extremely helpful with every question. As we didn't book in advance she sorted an option for us, so we stayed in 3 different rooms, all of which were lovely, huge clean bathrooms & bright modern rooms. My favourite room was the top floor penthouse, however the other 2 rooms were just as lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments posted on Trip Advisor. We appreciate it.

Sincerely,

Janaka Kuruwitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

What makes a great stay... for me, the location is a must; comfortable and beautifully furnished rooms seal the deal; stunning food and dining excites me; but the real winner especially at Thaproban, is the beautiful staff. My experience with the staff drove me to return here for a second stay and the welcome was like coming home. From the young guys who look after your rooms and every need, through to the managers and head chef M.D. Sumith Bandara, the level of service with a smile and genuine enjoyment is impressive. Add the perfect location, amazing seafood and eloquent rooms, what you have is the perfect mix for a beautiful holiday.

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms overlooking the beach, double the price but worth every cent and large enough for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments posted on Trip Advisor. We appreciate it.

Sincerely,

Janaka Kuruwitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

we stayed 7 nightes here & loved it .. can't wait to come back .great location , lovelybeach ,staff very firendly & helpful,clean rooms ,air-conditioning , great bathrooms & free wifi. A real beach front locatioin & sea safe & great for swimming . only steps from the hotel rooms. Hotel supplies drivers but Tuk tuks too if wanting to experience the local transport.
Restaurant great ,best in the area .. fresh seafood with wide range ,breakfast included & great sri lankan omelet.
Unawatuna is quaint, jumble of litte shops with local crafts & tourist trinkets , bars ,roti stalls eating places , hotels
Best value for money & already planning our next trip

Room Tip: all seemed fine , all had views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, General Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments posted on Trip Advisor. We appreciate it.

Sincerely,

Janaka Kuruwitage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thaproban Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Beach House

Address: Yaddhehimulla Rd | Galle, Unawatuna, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#7 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaproban Beach house is by the world famous Unawatuna beach. It has oneof the very few best known restaurants in the region. Some rooms areoverlooking the Indian Ocean with private balcony and lot of comfort. Rooms are equipped with A/C, Satellite T.V (LCD), Mini bar, In room teamaking facility, En suite bathroom with hot and cold waterand well furnished. Safe facility is provided and free Wifi in Public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Thaproban Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaproban Beach House Hotel Unawatuna
Thaproban Beach Hotel
Thaproban Beach Unawatuna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thaproban Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.