We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““On” the Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thaproban Beach House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Thaproban Beach House to your Saves list
Thaproban Beach House
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yaddhehimulla Rd | Galle, Unawatuna, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
““On” the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This was actually a very nice place right “on” the beach but beware of “ocean view” rooms. There are only a few rooms that actually face the ocean and from most rooms you can only see the ocean when stepping outside your room.

This is one of the examples where a building was put right back onto its original foundations after the 2004 tsunami. The problem is that the tsunami changed the share of the entire shoreline. So this property is now right “on” the water with making the beach/restaurant sand patio inaccessible during certain high tides as waves will break and splash right there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments,

Nuwani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    163
    42
    18
    17
See reviews for
103
260
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

spent 5 days chilling on the south coast of sri lanka at this place. the hotel is right on the water but you have to walk out the door and around the corner to get to the beach. the hotel is right on the edge of the water at high tide and the waves they a crash over the fence. the rooms are spacious and clean. there are mosguito nets provided, although i never found there to be many bugs. the staff are wonerful and attentive. the food in the restaurant is good, and the included breakfast is delicious. the wi fi in the lobby was reliable and occasionaly it would work in your room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments.

Nuwani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenaa, Arhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is our second time in Unawatuna. had 9 nights at the hotel, previously we stayed at the sister hotel which is also highly recommended.
Now we chose this hotel because of the location on the beach. Super Location by the beach especially if you order the rooms with sea view.
Super service all over, starts from the booking service & check in staff. Shower that was broken was replaced immediately and a hole where from came cockroaches were also fixed.
All in all a great place, makes really good food and staff members are incredibly friendly.

Things for improvment: Mattresses should probably be replaced before long, breakfast should be more flexisibile, small mistakes in the kitchen should be avoided, and a single servant in the restaurant shouldn't have this job. All this small issues don't change the nice experience and we will go back and can recommand the place to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments.

Nuwani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonn
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed for five nights and had a very good experience. The staff is extraordinary frindly and helpfull. Prices are fair and the restaurant is to be recommended especially the fish meals. Unawatuna is anyhow a nice place and this hotel is definitely a good choice. They have also a sister ressort not far away with a small spa and a nice small pool which can be used by the guests.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments.

Nuwani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We had a booking for 7 nights in the beginning of February. The room was quite ok, although the shower was not really having much water pressure, shower drain was not working well, and bathroom was missing the glass in one of the windows (bugs and noice coming). Also the bed was really shaky, making a lot of noise whenever you tried to turn in the bed. Further, the room had only thin wall separating it from the main street, and there was a lot of traffic noise (tuktuks, motorcycles, cars, you name it) coming from the street very late in the night. It should also be noted that while the hotel promotes to have massage and pool services, these are actually located in the sister hotel's premises 5-10 minutes walk away. For some reason the lady in the reception did not mention this at all when we made a booking for a massage, so this walk (with no maps provided) was a bit of surprise when a few minutes before the scheduled massage we went to ask where in the hotel the massage parlour is located. Further, there are no chairs etc. that you could get/rent when going to the beach - which unfortunately is quite dirty in many places. The worst thing about our Thaproban experience however were the bed bugs that we noticed in the mosquito net around the bed after the first night. We naturally had many bites around our bodies and rushed to inform the hotel receptionist about the situation. The receptionist did not seem to understand the severity of the problem at all, but after some talking offered to change the mosquito net in the room. While a bed bug infestation really requires a more thorough approach for eradication, and we certainly did not want to get our own stuff infested with bugs, we requested for a new room. The hotel was fully booked so we then asked about the possibility for a refund for the 6 unused nights if we manage to find a new hotel. The receptionist agreed to give us a refund but had changed his mind when we came back to him with a booking to another new hotel. Extremely disappointed we went to collect our stuff from the hotel room and at that point one of the hotel managers came to the room shouting aggressively "what's wrong with the room", claiming that he himself had checked the room to be now clean (net and bed sheets had been changed). At that point we were extremly glad to just leave this place behind and fight for the refund later on. Luckily we ultimately managed to get the refund with the help of the online booking agency we had used for making the hotel reservation. So while this hotel has received a lot of positive feedback - the reason why we made a booking in this hotel in the first place - our extremly bad experience really prevents us from recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, the reason why the reception staff was not able to give a proper answer about your refund as your booking was made via agoda and the hotel cannot give a refund to your hand unless the booking agency refunds it back to your credit card.

The room category which was booked by you was a standard category of which the pictures clearly shows the room setup. Also we never had complaints of bed bugs in the room ,once you complained the staff had changed the mosquito net, sheets etc... It could be the bed bugs came from the hotel which you stayed the night before. since there were no complaints from the guest who checked out the day of your check in about any bed bug infestation. Also from the guest who took the room after your check out.

We do pest control every month to both our properties.

Yes the pool and spa is at the Retreat which is just 5 minutes walking distance from Thaproban and there is directions in every turning point also the reception staff normally gives directions to every guest on request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed here for 10 days during the recent Cricket Test Series, the hotel was perfect for what we wanted. Perfect location to the beach, and facilities at the retreat were also very useful. The rooms were cleaned spotlessly every day and the food was also to a high standard. Special mention to the housekeepers (especially Nuan) and the waiting staff (especially Preantha). The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and possessed a great sense of humour, we would hope very much to return there one day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments.

Nuwani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowaramup, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Our family of four (with two girls aged 5 and 2) booked into this resort as our first stop on a 10 day trip to Sri Lanka. Immediately we were pleasantly suprised by the warm welcome and exceptional service we got on arrival. We stayed in the penthouse suite, which was up a number of flights of stairs, however this was not a problem given the amazing view. We spent a lot of time simply looking out at the spectacular views on Unawatuna beach, and people watching. Every day the staff went out of their way to say hello and enquire as to how we were enjoying our stay. We found them very accommodating and friendly. We also enjoyed visiting the Thambapanni retreat, a sister resort, with a fantastic pool area and staff to match.

Our only problem was caused, not by the resort, but the very loud weekend disco. On the Friday and Saturday night we were disturbed until the early hours of the morning by sounds that reverberated through the building, although the venue was at least 200m away. We felt for the travellers staying closer to this end of the beach, as sleep must have been impossible.

All in all, we would highly recommend this guest house to anyone wanting great service and beach views.

Room Tip: make sure you get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thaproban Beach House, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, We appreciate your comments,

Nuwani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thaproban Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaproban Beach House

Address: Yaddhehimulla Rd | Galle, Unawatuna, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
#7 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Thaproban Beach House 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thaproban Beach house is by the world famous Unawatuna beach. It has oneof the very few best known restaurants in the region. Some rooms areoverlooking the Indian Ocean with private balcony and lot of comfort. Rooms are equipped with A/C, Satellite T.V (LCD), Mini bar, In room teamaking facility, En suite bathroom with hot and cold waterand well furnished. Safe facility is provided and free Wifi in Public area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Thaproban Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thaproban Beach House Hotel Unawatuna
Thaproban Beach Hotel
Thaproban Beach Unawatuna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thaproban Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.