We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice campground, but no river views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Murchison River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murchison Falls National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Murchison River Lodge
Murchison, Murchison Falls National Park, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Invercargill
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice campground, but no river views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at this campground for two nights while doing a self-drive around Uganda. Initially I was disappointed that the grounds didn't have any river views, but it was nice nevertheless, as it was set in a little wooded depression. There were a couple of covered kitchen areas (no electricity or water here), and some tables set around. At nighttime the trail from the restaurant back to the campground is nicely lit by laterns, and a worker is available to walk you back in case of any 'rogue' hippos! The bathrooms were newish and well-maintained. On our second night here we made use of the restaurant for dinner, and enjoyed a first-class meal and service! A really nice stay, and a convenient place from which to explore the nearby Murchison Falls Park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    24
    4
    0
    5
See reviews for
32
31
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while on safari. A short ferry ride takes you across to the park. Views of the nile were fantastic and so close to wildlife. Hearing hippos at night was brilliant. The 2 bed cottage we had was lovely, especially the veranda. Best food all holiday had here, thanks for the packed lunches and breakfasts! Pool was lovely and staff were amazing. Decor and atmosphere perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in one of the lazy tents. I was a bit nervous beforehand about camping in the bush but I loved it. Yes there is some wildlife but that's what we came on safari for! Monkeys playing outside the tent and hippo noises was all part of the fun. I felt safe and at night staff escorted us back to the tents just in case of roaming hippos! The staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was excellent. We forgot to order breakfast to-go on a game drive day and something was immediately rustled up for us. The owner was brilliant - we arrived having booked nothing and he helped us plan game drives and a boat trip. We hired our own car, which I can thoroughly recommend (you can't go wrong with the map directions to get there) and game drives were pretty cheap just costing the petrol and the ranger. They have a new pool, which was much needed after a long day in the park. I highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We camped at MRL for 3 nights and had a great time. Camping is $10 with your own tent and although the campsite is a couple of minute walk from the bar, the location makes it worthwhile.

The lodge is on the banks of Victoria Nile with lovely views from the bar. There are several sofa style seats and a hammock to relax in. The staff are all exceptionally friendly, in particular Fred, who didn't stop smiling once the whole time we were there.

One of the other bonuses was the pool, it gets quite hot up at Murch and it was very welcome! Staff pop down regularly to take drinks orders.

Food is fine and is what most lodges of this type seem to serve, however venturing into the nearest town and going to a local restaurant will save you a reasonable sum. I guess it comes down to whether you are travelling on a budget or not. (we were!)

I can't comment on the rooms but overall as a place to stay it is great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here as part of a safari organised by Matoke Tours.The lodge was clean, quiet with beautifully constructed bandas, absolute luxury in the middle of the park. The decor you would not find in many top class hotels in the uk. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, early breakfasts for game drives, late suppers... even a guard on hippo duty at night to see you to your accommodation! The food was the best we had on our trip, and the pool an added unexpected bonus.
The tour company arranged our river trips and safaris, but to be honest if you want to travel independently the lodge staff are so helpful you could arrange everything through them

Room Tip: the bands are wonderful... and big enough for 2 couples sharing or a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed in one of the cottages for three nights and wish it could have been longer! The location was stunning, attention to detail on everything spot on and staff fantastic! The food we had was the best whilst in Uganda, perfect meats and salads, gea chef! Perfect location for safari's and boat trips, hearing hippo's at breakfast was an amazing experience. We would reccomend to anyone wanting a truly first classtay at Murchison.

Room Tip: The cottages sleep 4 and are beautifully decorated, bit of awalk from the bar area but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kampala
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

its indeed a marvelous set up.murchision river lodge is indeed a true African arrangement,you are totally guaranteed relaxing in the wild bushes of Uganda.I personally recommend a two day night stay to refresh your mind.For honeymooners,their is no better option than the river lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Murchison River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murchison River Lodge

Address: Murchison, Murchison Falls National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Murchison Falls National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty lodging in Murchison Falls National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A really lovely mid-range lodge (with it's own campsite) directly on the south bank of the River Nile with breathtaking views over Murchison Falls National Park, Uganda. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Murchison River Lodge Uganda/Murchison Falls National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murchison River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Murchison River Lodge to your Saves list