We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, traditionally British lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paraa Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murchison Falls National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paraa Safari Lodge
Paraa Safari Lodge, Murchison Falls National Park, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Middletown, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, traditionally British lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

It was a real treat to stay here, especially after more than a week in pretty substandard lodgings. The lodge was beautiful, the staff attentive and helpful, the food delicious and the location close to perfect. Our rooms were large and comfortable and the bathrooms were well appointed. We especially enjoyed the patio of our room which overlooked the pool area.

One small drawback: there are a great number of bats about at night- be sure your patio/balcony door is closed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    100
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
46
89
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Paraa Lodge. The lodge is a very nice place and definitely well-located north of the river. The setting is beautiful!! The staff is very attentive. There is a wonderful pool and a bar. You don't expect this in Uganda; drinking gin-tonics in a pool overlooking the Nile!!!
Food is served buffet style.
The boot tours to the falls and the delta are very nice. We saw a lot of different animals at the parc; lots of elephants and antilopes and girafes.
It is a pity they are searching oil in the parc, so in a couple of years the parc could be changed by this. Hopefully this will not happen!!!
Over all, we enjoyed our time at Paraa Lodge very much, and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Paraa Lodge, doing self-drive safari within Murchison Falls. The lodge is a nice place and definitely well-located north of the river, which means you do not need to take the ferry each day to and from the main game area. (Even so, you still end up driving about 30 minutes to get to the prime viewing areas.)

Paraa Lodge is not a small, boutique bush lodge, but rather a fairly large hotel. But it does this well with very attentive staff in a beautiful setting. One of the two wings of the lodge has a river view and it is worth asking for that, otherwise you are looking at the pool or trees from your room. Food is served buffet style. One morning we went out on the lodge's boat for a ride up the river to the falls - definitely worthwhile as it is a pleasant way to see hippos, crocs and birds, although you do not get very close to the falls due to safety concerns.

Our one complaint with the lodge is that we were presented with the option of upgrading to AC rooms upon arrival at an additional $25/night. That's the kind of thing you'd rather be told about when initially booking. More importantly, it is a little stuffy to be in a room without AC, as the big sliding glass door that opens onto the balcony has no screen. After checking out the rooms, we opted for the AC, as we had spoken with friends who had suffered through nights in non-AC rooms when temperatures were high. We wouldn't generally advocate for having AC in safari lodges, but it would seem to make sense to put screens on the main window so you can get some fresh air during the night.

Over all, we enjoyed our time at Paraa Lodge, and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was my second visit to Paraa and it was not exactly on holiday but I stayed over during a field trip. We were warmly welcomed by the staff on both occasions and on the second visit we had welcome drinks waiting. Check in was quick and our luggage carried to the rooms. This is a tranquil place and very scenic as well. I enjoyed the sound of the hippos as they relaxed in the water. We also manage to see some giraffes, buffalos, kobs, warthogs and baboons during our stay. The meals were very good and the rooms comfortable and clean. Relaxing in the chairs on the balcony and looking out at the water was such a joy. My only problem was that the mattress was very hard otherwise everything turned out perfect. I plan to come back on holiday with family and will hopefully write a better review.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UGReview, Manager at Paraa Safari Lodge, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you very much for having stayed at Paraa Safari Lodge and also for taking your valuable time to give the feedback. In an effort to improve on the facilities in the guests rooms ,new mattresses, duvets and bed throws were recently added. We appreciate and acknowledge that you found the new mattresses a bit hard but would like to assure assure you that this will be addressed on your forthcoming visit with your family. We pride ourselves in the fact that at Paraa Lodge are a flexible and caring team and look forward to hosting you and your family again.
Thank you once again for this valuable feedback.
Crispus Mwamidi
General Manager
gm@paraalodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We recently stayed two nights at the Paraa Safari Lodge at Murchison Falls. After spending a couple of hours hiking around the magnificent Falls and then taking the small ferry to the Lodge location we were warmly welcomed by staff, who greeted us with refreshing juice and cold towels. Check in was quick and our room was large and beautiful, with a deck overlooking the pool area and out to the Nile. The bed was so comfortable and the bathroom was large and had great water pressure in the shower. Buffet set up for meals, with an excellent selection of food choices. Lovely bar/lounge upstairs which was a nice place to socialize after dinner. The staff were so friendly and helpful throughout the resort. Swim up bar at pool and also seating around the outside bar. Alcohol prices reasonable. The pool was clean and very refreshing after a morning game drive. Nice loungers situated around the pool.
The location is perfect for beating the crowds for the early morning game drive, as the first ferry over to the area is not until 0700. The game reserve is full of animals - we almost felt like we were on a movie set with animals put in place. Girafffes, elephants, buffalo, variety of antelope, ground monkeys, wart hogs, ect. Unfortunately we did not see any big cats, but there was evidence that they had been in different areas.
We did an afternoon boat ride on the Nile to Murchison Falls (great seeing the Falls from the water level); lots of hippos, crocs, baboons and so many bird species.
Free wi-fi in the main reception area.
Paraa Lodge is a wonderful relaxing resort. Great location for walking around with many plants/flowers and so many beautiful butterflies. If you get the opportunity to stay here we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Top floors have view of the Nile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I spent two nights here during my safari at Murchinson Falls. I was welcomed with fresh juice and cold wet towels... the staff is amazing, really friendly and helpful, it is truly a five star lodge. It is situated right in the heart of the Murchinson Falls national park on the top of a hill. The food was excellent. They have been very accommodating to any requests. The room was spacious with a nice balcony overlooking the river. You need to tell them when you arrive as they need to pick you up from the ferry - the last ferry was at 7pm. The road to the lodge is full of baboons.

The only thing that could have made my whole stay even better if they let us swim in the pool in the evening, since during the day almost everyone is doing the safari, and the pool was closing at 7 or 8 pm so unfortunately I didnt get to try it at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I loved it here! The rooms are spacious, with marble top counters and showers and nice toiletries. Beds are covered in the evening with a mosquito net. I had a beautiful terrace that looked over the Nile. I believe this is standard for all rooms. The property is lovely; baboons and elephants frequent the grounds. You can hear the hippos in the morning and evening! The restaurant is very nice with a buffet option in the mornings and evenings, pre-fixe for lunch (they will pack a nice lunch if you spend your lunch on safari). Lots of fresh fruits and gorgeous salads, Indian food (the owners are Ugandans of Indian descent), traditional Ugandan dishes, at least one type of Western style dish and at least one type of fish every evening, almost always Tilapia prepared in a different way. Waffles, pancakes and eggs to order at breakfast, with fresh juices all the time. The swimming pool is lovely but it will be empty since everyone is on safari. There is a great gym, with a wonderful view of the Nile, so said a fellow traveler but I confess I did not use it. I noticed there is a spa too with inexpensive massages and treatments but, again, I did not use it. The lodge is right in the park, which is wonderful and only three minutes from the ferry and boat launch. The staff is so warm and welcoming and always asked about my safari drives and what I saw. I really can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paraa Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paraa Safari Lodge

Address: Paraa Safari Lodge, Murchison Falls National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Murchison Falls National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty lodging in Murchison Falls National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1954, Paraa Safari Lodge is located in northwest Uganda in Murchison Falls National Park overlooking one of nature's best kept secrets, the River Nile. Paraa Safari Lodge offers a unique blend of comfort, relaxation and adventure. Each of the rooms is a haven of style and serenity, complete with balcony and private bathroom. The safari decor of the lodges still reflects the bygone era of early explorers, enshrined with a modern touch. The luxurious pool overlooks the winding River Nile below, which was the setting for the classic Hollywood move, The African Queen". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paraa Safari Hotel Murchison Falls National Park
Paraa Safari Lodge Uganda/Murchison Falls National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paraa Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Paraa Safari Lodge to your Saves list