We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So pleased to stay here at last.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amuka Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masindi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amuka Safari Lodge
Save
You added Amuka Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary, Masindi, Uganda   |  
Hotel amenities
Kampala
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“So pleased to stay here at last.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Having seen the rhinos on day visits, at last it was my turn to get to stay up at Nakasongola at the Rhino Sanctuary with one of our volunteer teams. I'd heard from friends in Kampala how nice it was, and I wasn't disappointed.

After the drive, we were delighted to plunge into the pool and unwind, enjoying the hostelry available. We were a large group, and Johan and his team were well-prepared and looked after us well. Not only was there a delicious braai with plentiful supply of food, but the huge firepit provided later, enabled us to enjoy the rest of the evening under the clear starry sky.

The next day, we couldn't have been more fortunate with our walk to the rhinos - and ended up seeing almost all of the "babies" in one place together! Amazing.

We returned to a tasty breakfast, before heading off northwards.

One day I want to come back and do the "shoebill" birding trip, which I understand has a pretty good success rate. It's certainly a relatively easy weekend-away out of Kampala, which I recommend.

Room Tip: Either one of the chalets - if you are a group they will arrange beds to suit your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Entebbe, Uganda
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed for one night, and then did the rhino tracking the following morning. Very impressed by the quality of the food, given we were in the bush. Francis is a delight and was very attentive. Both Duan and Nico were very helpful, and it was an amazing experience to be able to walk a short distance and observe the white rhino.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I met the owners of Amuka Lodge whilst in Kampala and they suggested we come and stay for a night. That was one of the best decisions I made. We had a great evening and the food was fantastic. The lodge is beautiful and very relaxing. The hospitably is excellent and you are made to feel very welcome. In the morning they arranged for us to do the rhino trekking which was fantastic. I would highly recommend the Amuka Lodge whilst staying in Uganda.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

As someone who live in Uganda, and has stayed in many hotels all over the country, I can tell you that Amuka lodge is an escape from the chaos. It is a haven for those who have had enough of the disco music and all-night church services in Kampala. If you need a rest in place where the only noise comes from the many spieces of birds - Amuka Lodge is the place to go.
The food is fantastic. If you are a picky eater - contact the lodge a few days before your visit and place an order - they will organise it. The menu is limited as this place is relatively undiscovered.
The staff are very attentive and understand 'customer service' - a rare quality in most of Uganda.
The rooms/bandas are brilliantly made and spacious. Sitting on your private veranda you can't see or hear any other humans. I would recommend a tin of bug spray - that's one cost of peace in the wild - although the mozzie nets are good.
The entire place has been constructed from recalimed wood. Not a single tree was cut down during contruction. This adds to the natural feel of the lodge.
The Rhino sanctuary is very close by and you can organise a guide from Amuka. This place is also a bird watchers paradise - not my cup of tea but bring your binoculars.
Amuka Lodge is a fantastic place for a get-away - I highly recommended it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We weren't able to stay overnight here due to the size of our family group, but we were able to request experiencing a meal at Amuka whilst staying at Ziwa. The food was incredible. Quite the best meal I've had in Uganda (we're resident). If you are able to afford and are looking for a very special experience, this really does look like the ideal option. Looking to return...

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We we one of the first people to stay in Amuka lodge and it was newly opened. It was absolutely fantastic, it felt like staying with family rather than at a lodge. The main area with the pool is really spacious and comfortable, we saw our dinner being made and the chef explained to us what we were having for dinner and the ingredients and where his ideas came from, and it was beautiful. The lodge we stayed in was really comfortable, it was teh family room sleeping five. It has a very Ugandan feel about it and it's suprisingly luxurious. The shower is the bathroom is also really cool. They set up a camp fire after dinner and just chatted for an hour or two while the sun went down, one of our best evenings in Uganda. Next mornnig we went Rhino trekking, so worth the money as they have a 100% success rate of finding them and it is such an experience. We were metres away from the rhino known as 'Obama'. The pool was also really lovely, we have older children and they really enjoyed that.
Overall it was just an incredible place and I would highly recommend it - it feels authenticlly Ugandan, while also being very luxurious.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroto, Uganda
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My wife and I wanted a one night get away not too far from Uganda and someone recommended the Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary as a good option. We had heard there was camping and hostel accommodation, but when we called we were recommended the newly open Amuka Lodge. The advertise rate was beyond our means but when we called the rate we were offered was reasonable and we decided to give it a go. We were not disappointed.

Apart from escaping the Kampala jam the road north to Ziwa is now excellent and we made the journey in under 3 hours from south of Kampala City. The lodge is a series of spacious tented cabins with hot water, flush toilets and huge double beds. The tents and the lodge in general missed some sofa type furniture to relax into to read a good book, and the small swimming pool needed some more attention, but other than that - no complaints! We were treated like royalty, at least I guess we were having never experienced how royalty are actually treated, but the topping of the whole 2 day experience was the incredible food cooked by master chef - Joel. Our taste buds were overwhelmed :-) and our stomachs over extended :-( but each meal just had to be eaten in entirety! The lodge also arranged a ranger for us to go and see the Rhinos - a really nice experience - and the same ranger also took my wife on an early morning bird walk, which she reported to be excellent, although no new birds added to the list - although this is rare occurrence these days!

Room Tip: At the moment the number of tents are limited so book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amuka Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amuka Safari Lodge

Address: Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary, Masindi, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Masindi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Masindi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amuka Safari Lodge is located on the world-renowned Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary; offering top-class accommodation and services in true African safari style. A range of activities/amenities will ensure an unique experience. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amuka Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.