We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Karafuu is Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 71 Zanzibar, Pingwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pingwe
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Karafuu is Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I've been to a lot of resorts and this one might be my favorite. The food is terrific, the staff is super friendly, and the setting is pure paradise.

The only shortfall is the beach - it's got a big coral reef right close to short, so you can't jump right in the ocean from the shore. You have to walk out on the jetty - which is pretty fun anyway.

Oh and the Wifi/Cell connectivity is dismal. Don't bother...just turn it all off.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    193
    62
    29
    21
See reviews for
121
274
25
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mzuzu, Malawi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I visited Zanzibar in 2004 and just had to go again. And I don't regret a thing. The resort this time ... at first I thought they advertise this as a 5-star ... I don't think so!!
But the rooms are very spacious, the verandah's with the day bed really an excellent place to just relax and read a book, have a sundowner and the variety of the food a pleasure. They have different theme evenings and also supply live entertainment. Never a dull moment there.
The all inclusive cocktails - alcoholic and non-alcoholic nothing to pull your nose up for as it is always delicious and refreshing (although after the first day I got a bit carried away with the 'sunsets'), but that was also okay. We only live once.
The spa is really an exquisite experience, the snorkelling and diving to 'die' for. Everybody is so friendly and willing to help. The hotel boutique is a must. They have a wide selection and the prices are very reasonable. I was amazed how much money I spent there and how many things I bought.
Just remember to take some plastic shoes or rock climbers that you can use in the water as there's a lot of sea urchins. Overall a place that I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We spent 12 nights there this nowember - in general everything was o.k. (specially in first days), but when you spent so many days there, you notice, that the hotel is average. First I have to say, that I am not difficult guest: I don't expect too much and we travel a lot. The best thing for me is, that my husband is with me and the hotel is not so important, but here.... In Karafuu nothing is "REALLY EXCELLENT" and nothing is so "HORRIBLE": so you can spent one week or two there, but... It does not stay in your head as "special hotel"....

We had bad experience, because someone from the stuff stole my new iPhone and charger for it: we called the police, but no one take this situation serious... Manager of the hotel was trying (not enough, if you ask me) to be nice and promise, that we will stay in touch and solve this situation (the investigation still wasn't finish when we left the hotel), but after two months of waiting no one of the hotel even write us. Me and my husband forgot about the telephone (we bought a new one), but the hotel reaction was terrible: everyone thought that we are lying, the hotel didn't take our complain serious: after two months no one send us e-mail or called us, to say "I'm sorry, we couldn't find the telephone and we apologize."

I would definitily go to Zanzibar again, but I would choose different hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basingstoke
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful 2 weeks....
This was our honeymoon and the whole experience was wonderful, the cottage was clean, well kept and room service was excellent. I can only assume that Karafuu have taken on board all the comments over the past few years and acted on them to bring it up to the standard it is now. The grounds were clean and tidy, the food was well presented a good choice and well topped up. As for the staff every one of them was polite and smiling all the time. Well done to all of them. The beach was kept clean by hotel staff and as for the walkway this was not a problem if you had the sense to wear the correct footwear for the conditions! All in all the hotel deserves all its stars. A very big thank you to everyone for making this a pleasant and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in September 2010 for 5 days as part of a safari trip in Tanzania.Upon arrival we we greeted, shown to our rooms and a short tour of the hotel. The (bungalow) rooms are spacious, well kept, charming and have a wonderful garden terrace. The garden is well kept as is the private beach. Staff is friendly but restaurant staff is a bit too eager. Don't let your plate of food out of sight because faster than you can say "Hakuna Matata" they take your plate away. The problem of this hotel is management. We booked this hotel for a part for the activities (kayak - tennis etc.) Kayak couldn't be rented because they were leaking, tennis court shows more craters than the moon, table tennis table could need some botox not to show it's age. Same problem with the bar. Some drinks are included in the price. I asked for a virgin pina colada but they could not make one because there was no coconut. No coconut ? In Zanzibar ? If you are not careful you could get hit by one. Pineapple juice, not possible because - yes you've guessed it - no pineapple. This lasted for 5 days so we had to pay for other drinks. The buffet is average. The cooks are friendly and helpful but I would have like some more couleur locale. I'm not looking for spaghetti on my holiday, nor for fries. I know it's difficult to please all the guests in a resort but a good mix of local and foreign cuisine is not that difficult.The food in general lacks some flavors and I was surprised to see so little fish on the buffet. For our last evening we wanted to reserve a table in the à la carte restaurant. The day before we went to reception the make our reservation. They told us that we didn't need a reservation and could just walk up. The next evening we went to the restaurant to find ourself in front of a closed door, although we could see waiters inside. Back to the reception we were told that à la carte restaurant was only possible with reservation??? They made some arrangement and we had a meal in the restaurant where we had dry lobster for 60 $ a head.
The resort could be something great if management just made some effort.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Great place. Very relaxing. Buffet food and all-inclusive alcohol was ok but not great. A la-carte was great.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

This was a really good experience to finish off a great safari holiday. The cottages were large and well equiped with big shower rooms and walk in dressing rooms as well as patios with chairs and daybeds. The food in the main restaurant was very good with a wide selection and exceptionally attentive, cheerful and helpful staff in all areas of the resort. It was possible to walk along the beach to the next (deserted) bay without too much hassle from the hawkers who on the whole were polite and willing to take no for an answer. The resort is quite a long way from Stonetown, but at least that gives you a chance to see some of the Zanzibar life and countryside on any trips back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa

Address: PO Box 71 Zanzibar, Pingwe, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Pingwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pingwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a deserted white sandy beach, at 65 km from Stone Town, lies Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, an international five-star hotel, winner of the World Travel Awards as Tanzania Leading Resort and Africa Leading Beach Resort 2011 .It is one of the most luxurious hotels on the east coast of Zanzibar, where, even during low tide, it’s possible to enjoy a comfortable swim in the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karafuu Beach Hotel Pingwe
Karafuu Hotel Beach
Karafuu Resort Beach
Karafuu Beach Resort And Spa Zanzibar/Pingwe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.