We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What are you waiting for?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mkoma Bay Tented Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pangani
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mkoma Bay Tented Lodge
Save
You added Mkoma Bay Tented Lodge to your Saves list
Pangani Road, Pangani, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Diani Beach, Kenya
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What are you waiting for?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Highly recommended - What a wonderful stay we had at Mkoma Bay - just a pity we spent only one night. I would highly recommend this Lodge and would suggest you stay a minimum of 2 nights. Beautiful surroundings, amazing, quiet beach, great hosting and mouthwatering food. A place where you can truly relax, unwind and enjoy yourself. Can't wait to visit Lisa and Ullrich again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    6
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
19
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townshend, Vermont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Mkoma Bay sits above a fantastic beach and small bay perfect for swimming. No beach boys, hawkers, just locals taking a stroll or fishermen. Spent Xmas here and it was great fun and wonderful for kids and adults alike. Great rooms and truly wonderful food. Owners and Tanzanian staff alike really great. A wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We had an amazing time, nice food nice location and the owners are very nice and welcoming.. we felt totally relaxed at the pool and watching the sunset also made our stay perfect. comfortable beds and clean rooms also.. all in all we just had brilliant 3 days away and this place made it all possible.. we will go back there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I found this place on tripadvisor, and booked without knowing much about it other than what was on their website and Facebook page. I've been to Zanzibar twice, but from now one when I'm in Tanzania and want to relax at the beach, I'll be going to Pangani. This Lodge really has it all. It's a great place to relax, the food and staff are wonderful, but there are excursions if you'd like. It's situated perfectly for wonderful beach views (the sunsets are amazing!), and there's easy access to the beach. It was warm while we were there, but there are fans in the room. The shower was great, the bed comfortable, and waking up listening to the velvet monkeys scurry over the roof or in the trees was enchanting. Yeah, we loved it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My 3 night stay was used to de-jetlag before my safari tour. What a perfect place for it!
The lodge is set on a bluff overlooking the bay, with empty sandy beaches extending out for miles. In the time I was there I did not see any other tourists on the beach. If you want to really "get away", this is it.

The lodge is run by Lisa and husband Ulrik, who seems to drink about a gallon of beer a day. They are wonderful hosts and their staff of Tina, Mike, et al provide top notch service. Their stories of a lifetime in Africa fascinated me. Lisa was very kind to help arrange my transportation to get to this remote slice of paradise.

As good as the lodging is, the food is even better. There must be a 5* chef in the kitchen. Every meal produced simple dishes with fresh ingredients that were outrageously tasty and well presented. The trip alone was worth it to have the tuna steak caught that morning. A full American breakfast is served every morning. They will even tailor the menu to your tastes and food restrictions - allergies, gluten free, vegan, etc.

Only come stay here if you like perfect settings, great service, and world class food for a bargain price. I cannot recommend Mkoma Bay highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Mkoma Bay Tented Lodge and wish we we could have stayed longer. It is a well run and a relaxing place to stay. Lisa and Ulrik are the perfect hosts and know how to create a wonderfull experiance. We drove through Saadani National Park on our way from Dar es Salaam to Pangani and enjoyed the safari, then walked around the old town of Pangani. It was a relaxing slow drive and we still arrived at Mkoma by 2 pm. While at Mkoma we divided up our time relaxing in a the cabanna overlooking the waves, around the pool and kayaking.

A perfect weekend trip.

Room Tip: All the Tented lodges have lots of light and are top notch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I just spent three nights at Mkoma Bay Tented Lodge and I loved it. The tents are clean and comfortable, the location is terrific. The view from the pool bar is stunning. The place is a bit higher and you look down upon a virgin beach where there is either nobody at all or at low tide some people trying to catch small fish with their nets. This place has such a special atmosphere and is so quiet. The beach is good for walking and swimming. Food is nice, staff is very friendly and the owners are very helpful in arranging everything necessary for people to feel well and at home. Lisa arranged a historic walk with a local guide and it was quite interesting. I will surely be back to that place, if I have a chance!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mkoma Bay Tented Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mkoma Bay Tented Lodge

Address: Pangani Road, Pangani, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Tanga Region > Pangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Pangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off the beaten path in historic Pangani on the northern Tanzanian coast, Mkoma Bay Tented Lodge is a blissful mix of luxurious beach and bush sitting atop a cliff overlooking a quiet, romantic beach. Owner-managed, this intimate boutique hotel offers everything from complete relaxation to active water sports and a solid reputation built on excellent food and friendly ambiance. A truly romantic venue for weddings and honeymoons. Excellent facilities to host small workshops and retreats in a quiet, natural environment. It is a great value starting at $75 per person half board. The owners, Lisa and Ulrik Lind and their staff will welcome guests in English, Danish, German, French, Spanish and Kiswahili. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mkoma Bay Tented Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.