We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal but rustic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Battlefields Country Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dundee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Battlefields Country Lodge
Save
You added Battlefields Country Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Route 33 - Dundee to Vryheid | Springfield Farm, Dundee 3000, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Birmingham, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ideal but rustic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We visited this part of the world as part of a tour to see the Battlefields of the Anglo-Zulu and Boer Wars, as well as a flying visit to Dundee. I think it is about 30miles from Rorke's Drift/Isandahlwana sites.

The resort is well-spaced out and the welcome was good. It sits on a prairie with the mountains in the distance and tame-game wandering around the perimeter - zebra, springbok, ostriches etc.

I get the impression that tourism is a new thing for Kwazulu Natal and while the enthusiasm is definitely there, the support network that hotels often require from suppliers etc are not yet up and running. That said, I found the reception articulate, knowledgable and helpful when requesting wifi passwords/dealing with queries etc.

We stayed in a silo room, which was by definition circular. The rooms were basic (rustic, to quote our tour guide) but were clean and spacious. As per usual for SA, the television was antiquated and it was pot-luck if you could get a channel. If you need to relax in SA, bring a book! The shower was fine and the towels were plentiful. The bed was good and our sleep was good. The room was cleaned to a perfectly adequate standard. As it was a thatched roof, the inevitable fusty smell (which I like but my wife doesn't) was evident.

There was a thunderstorm in the afternoon - common in many parts of SA - that was a show in itself!

As you are somewhat isolated, you are something of a captive audience but the restaurant and bar on site is more than adequate. The food was ok, if a little school-dinnery but was plentiful and very, very reasonably priced. The wine was great and was almost embarassingly cheap. The bar staff were friendly and full of fun but for me, the highlight were the Zulu waitresses who gave an impromptu sing-song of I would assume are traditional Zulu songs.

The swimming pool was a strange thing, it had no sunloungers and it took us about five minutes to figure out how to open the gate (lift and push) to gain access. A sign and a few loungers would be an easy win here, I'd suggest.

To summarise: yes it is rustic. But this is in the middle of rural KZN and will most likely improve in time. It was the most basic of all the hotels we stayed in on our tour but due to the friendly welcome it made up for it quite a lot. It is probably ideal if you're doing a Battlefield Tour.

Room Tip: If you don't like thatched roofs, avoid the Silo rooms. There's plenty of normal rooms too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    49
    24
    7
    1
See reviews for
10
49
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newport shropshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The staff at this hotel were fantastic. I still feel guilty. The girls carried our heavy bags uo the stairs to our room. The same girls would have earlier cleaned the rooms and later waited on us in the restaurant. They still kept smiling and on the last evening did an impromptu dance by the counter in the restaurant.
We were part of the tour and as with Richard L, we were advised that the hotel was basic. Nothing of the sort, it was the best hotel on the tour by far.
The girl in reception was very patient in helping to sort out the wi-fi on my phone.
A bonus was to sit outside watching the zebras and ostriches.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the lodge as part of a tour group and we found our stay here to be better than we had anticipated. We were told before hand that the hotel was a basic three star hotel with limited facilities so did not expect much. We were placed in a more modern block as opposed to the unique round houses but our room was spacious, clean and very comfort with good lighting. The bath room was excellent with a powerful large shower. The room also had a fridge and safe. In the room there was a note stating that there was a problem with the water filtration system so the water shouldn't be drunk but they left plenty of bottled water. I also noted that in the room there was a large bottle of "Raid" insect killer ( I believe these were left in all the rooms) however, we never saw any signs (dead or alive) of any insects. The air conditioning worked well. Outside there were Ostriches and zebras roaming in a open space behind a fence which was nice to see. We found the staff helpful and friendly. The restaurant provides a daily buffet which was basic but ok and perfectly acceptable for our stopover to visit the battlefield sites. Overall a good stay and we would be happy to recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Situated about 45km from the site of Rorke's drift, the lodge is set in nice grounds populated with ostriches, zebra, guinea fowl and springbok. My room was decently sized, cottage style, had aircon, a kettle with coffee etc, a television with lots of sports channels and free wi-fi. A note in the room said there was a problem with the water filtration system and bottled water was provided. Plenty of hot water but a bath and no shower. It was very quiet. I didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the food.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the lodge as part of a group touring Southern Africa. This is a rather unique place to stay, with comfortable accommodation and delicious meals, and ideally situated to visit the various historic battle fields of the Dundee area . The manager was most helpful, however his efforts were not backed up by the reception area. After a 3 hour bus trip in sweltering heat with a non-functioning air conditioner, our tour guide phoned ahead to the receptionist to request a cool drink to be waiting for us, as was the custom in all the other venues we had stayed at. The response was a very curt "No!"

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at Battlefields Country Lodge for one night over a wedding in October 2013. They checked us into a filthy room with the beds not even made. We were travelling with family and specifically asked for us to be close together, however, this was not the case and they had messed up our room requirements COMPLETELY. After insisting on rooms closer together, changes were made but we were still left with a bad impression.

As we could not check in properly because the rooms were not clean / prepared, we had no where to go / stay in the meantime. We could not even order a drink as they were only opening the bar for the wedding in the evening. After travelling for 3 hours, the least we could have expected was a complementary beverage for the trouble.

The wedding was lovely (but this was largely due to the bride and not the lodge), however the next day most of the wedding guests fell violently ill. Many were sick for over a week and some ended up in hospital. Numerous emails to the lodge afterwards were merely brushed off and no real apology or explanation was provided.

We were bitterly disappointed and will never return nor recommend this place to anyone

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights from the 19th October and we were staying in Room DeView 6.
The location and setting of this Hotel is truly wonderful. It has the most picturesque grounds and buildings with lovely colonial style Rooms. The lay out clearly compliments the weddings and events of that style that do take place here. Our Room was in a Block but had all the conveniences with a well presented kitchenette and large bathroom. The Hotel had complimentary WiFi which worked very well during our stay. The parklands surrounding the Hotel have great wildlife with Zebra, Ostrich, Springbok roaming nearby.
.the dining areas are very well laid out and look good.
We are sure local South Africans truly love this place and can see why.
Being European, there are a number of disturbing issues that we had.Hot Food temperatures at the Buffet were what we would describe as being on the 'low side'.
What proved even more of an issue was the water supplied to the rooms. The stench when turing on the tap was exceptionally nauseating. This smell came from the kitchen sink, the bathroom taps and the shower area. The Hotel had tried to compensate by leaving cans of air freshener in the affected areas, but this just did not work due to the severity. Many guests had the identical issues with the water being yellow. We had information that there was a problem with the filtration system. This all culminated in illness becoming pervasive amongst a group of 38 traveling to this Hotel.

Room Tip: Try to use bottled water for all needs if travelling from European areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Battlefields Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battlefields Country Lodge

Address: Route 33 - Dundee to Vryheid | Springfield Farm, Dundee 3000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Battlefields Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Africa's Premier Battlefields, Conferencing,Wedding,Rugby Resort & Events Destination Battlefields Country Lodge is half way between Durban & Johannesburg and situated in the heartbeat of the well known historic Battlefields in KwaZulu Natal. Accommodation comprising of 70 air-conditioned, en-suite rooms surrounded by immaculate lawns, gardens & game. We are in close proximity to the famous battle sites Isandlwana, Rorke's Drift, Blood River monument and Talana Museum, rated as one of the best in South Africa. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battlefields Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.