We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always doing it right the first time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   39 Tatham Street | Corner of Ryley and Tatham Street, Dundee 3000, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Dundee B&B and Inns
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Always doing it right the first time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The experience was very great. The staff is very friendly. The accomodation was very neat and seemed like new. I was very impressed when the staff gave me directions to Nquthu Hlathi dam area where we were attending a wedding. Guys you are the best, first impressions count. Adeiu!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Turnersville, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This review is long overdue. Recently stayed here while traveling with my University in August 2013. Elizabeth went above and beyond to accommodate us during our stay. Prior to arriving at Chez Nous, I had lost my camera during our drive. While we were out the next day for an excursion, Elizabeth went out of her way to go into town and find me a fabulous new camera (Thank you and Dr. Lemaire for arranging this!). The rooms were very comfortable and the food was delicious. I don't have a single negative thing to say regarding our stay. I would definitely recommend to anyone passing through.

Thank you again, Elizabeth! I think of you and your generosity every time I use my camera :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
205 hotel reviews
Reviews in 174 cities Reviews in 174 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Nothing bad to say about the guest house- clean, good sized rooms with TV, fridge ( which was a bit noisy during the night)and strangely a microwave given there were no kitchen utensils! The bathroom was clean, large and modern, though there was no hot water when we came in on night 2.The B&B is situated on a quiet road and has security gates leading to its pleasant garden so has secure parking . Breakfast was included in the price and was home cooked with omelettes a speciality . The owner Elizabeth is a friendly French/South African lady and the decor in the dining room reflects her home country. An added bonus of staying at Chez Nous is the presence of Bob, the friendly Spaniel! We stayed in Dundee for a couple of nights to visit the nearby battlefields. We weren't expecting a hotbed of nightlife but were surprised at how little there was. The main hotel in town- the Highland,was ok for a drink and look at their zulu war memorabilia but the restaurant was deserted. There were a couple of B&bs including chez nous which offered evening meal but we prefer to go out on a night. There was one chain steak bar - the Spur, and we ended up eating there both nights.We'd booked Chez Nous as it was advertised as a central location. It was, but the helpful receptionist, Leanne advised against walking even a short distance at night . To compound this she also advised that Dundee has not a single taxi. We were therefore faced with a choice of a 'dry' night or a risky drink and drive exercise . I won't tell you which we went for...(clue- we're English). In summary, the guest house is fine but if you like to go out of an evening and have a drink after a days sightseeing ,Dundee as a town may not be the best option.(Though Chez Nous do offer evening meals if you don't mind dtaying in)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I had not confirmed my stay and I was out of comms for the two previous days so I missed Chez Nous' calls. When I arrived, Chez Nous went to great lengths to rearrange accomodation for the reserves who had been given my room and to fix the tour of Isandlwana the following day. As a result I got the room, supper and the most amazing battlefield tour the following day. The food was delicious, the room spacious and comfortable and the battlefield tour a once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Anyone who loves good food and a comfortable room with all the mod cons will find Chez Nous an enjoyable experience. It offers the choice of self-catering or being pampered with a great breakfast that includes the choice of Dundee's most famous omlette. One can also order dinners that can match those of top quality restuarants. Besides all the home comforts, the hostess, Elisabeth Durham, is an entertaining raconteur who will keep you enthralled with stories of the famous battles that took place in and around Dundee - from the Anglo Zulu War of 1879 and the death of the Prince Imperial to the opening conflict between Boer and Brit in the Anglo Boer War on Talana Hill in 1899. At Chez Nous we certainly got more than what we expected at no extra cost. From the moment of our arrival we were warmly greeted by a senior staff member and taken to our rooms. I'm a director of a film crew, and after a long, hectic day at the Talana Live Festival we enjoyed a relaxing evening at the B & B. Our cameraman settled into a comfortable couch in the lounge to watch the Currie Cup semi-final while his assistant took time to chill out in the room. There is a sense of space at Chez Nous where one doesn't feel boxed in, and it's situated in an up-maket, quiet, residential area of the town. It has a charm that is quite unique - a touch of French hospitality and cuisine in the heart of Zululand.

Room Tip: The Cycad Room opens onto a lovely garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHEZNOUSDUNDEE, Owner at Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Neville

Thank you for this wonderful review.
We all here at Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast are please to here you and your crew had a lovely stay with us.

We look forward to having you and your crew stay at Chez Nous again soon.
All the best and thank you.

Elisabeth Durham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I visited Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast and stayed in a very well equipped self catering unit. Everything was just perfect. All the staff and the owner - (Elisabeth Durham) made us feel totally comfortable and at home. I would really recommend this establishment to anyone visiting the Battlefields area. Elisabeth has a "canine policeman" named Bobby. He is such an adorable and well behaved pooch and I am already missing him.

The food is outstanding and this is an excellent base from which to explore the KZN Battlefields. Elisabeth is a very knowledgable and qualified tour guide.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensburgh, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Many thanks to the personal on the weekend of 6 to 8 September for me and my wife stay at Chez Nous and the warm friendly treatment we had...next time I call again.We were received with a smile and Leanne made us feel very welcome. The Cycad room was very neat and clean and the atmosphere was very calm around the room and the birdlife was a plus point waking up in the morning. The lodge is also very safe and secure. The meals was the best and the workers in the kitchen was very helpfulll with our request.Even the pets of the owners made us feel at home and we enjoyed there company Dundee is a very good focus poInt to stay over for the battlefields and local history in the form of Talana museum and the lodge have a lot of info about local tourism and history......Many thanks again to everbody at the lodge from Rudi & Lucia Venter

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHEZNOUSDUNDEE, Receptionest at Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Rudi and Lucia

Thank you for reviewing us on Trip advisor.
All the Staff at Chez Nous is pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit!

Many thanks and take care.
Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast

Address: 39 Tatham Street | Corner of Ryley and Tatham Street, Dundee 3000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast is centrally situated in Dundee and easy to find. We offer self-catering facilities . Experience exceptional South African hospitality with French flair in Dundee. We provide B&B and Dinner on request, served with home baked bread and home grown organic vegetables.Our South African breakfast, with its FAMOUS FRENCH OMELETT, FRESH CROISSANTS AND CAPUCCINO COFFEE) will give you a great start to your day. With us, you will be treated like royalty. We have 11 well- appointed rooms with DSTV, coffee and tea facilities, iron and hair dryer are part of our 3 star graded services. Our comfortable self-catering facilities are fully equipped. BATTLEFIELD TOURS FROM IN HOUSE GUIDE. CREDIT CARDS ACCEPTED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Nous Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.