We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for a family holiday - you won't be disappointed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med La Pointe aux Canonniers

Save Saved
You added Club Med La Pointe aux Canonniers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med La Pointe aux Canonniers
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Grand Baie, Pointe aux Canonniers, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Excellent choice for a family holiday - you won't be disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

On reading the reviews from this site I was still a bit uncertain wether the resort would cater for my family's needs especially my 8 month old baby. I was not disappointed, from the first day we arrived to the moment we left there was not one request that the staff were not willing to help with. I was constantly amazed at the level of service and this made me very happy! If you are reading this and not sure about baby food etc. you can rest assured that there were jars of food available as well as fresh food served at lunch and dinner tme which could be liquidised. Yoghurt and fresh fruit are also available. There are also plenty of push chairs / prams available however i found that taking my own helped alot at the airports. Airport officials noticed us as well and pulled us out of queues to serve us first. We were a bit apprehensive to make use of the baby and petite club but after a few days we decided to give it a try so my hubby and I could have a bit of a holiday too. We were very happy with the care our children received and my 3 year old asked to go back the next day. It is a bit pricey but well worth it! What an amazing place, wished we had spent an extra week there so we could do a bit more site seeing and get to enjoy some of the amazing activities on offer at the resort.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    480
    255
    63
    23
    15
See reviews for
391
225
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joondalup, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our family of six, recently spent 10 days at Le Cannonier Hotel in Mauritius. The welcome was great, the rooms comfortable & clean, staff most polite. The disappointment came in the dining room. A great variety was provided, but all hot food was consistently cold, as were the plates - I ate salads for 10 days. There was no provision made for children aged 2-4 for their evening meal to be made available earlier than 6.30pm, by which time they children were too exhausted to eat.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are pleasant, the higher floors would be far more comfortable as you could l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just returned from a 10 day holiday at the resort. Was at the same resort in 2009. Can defnitely see that it has deteriorated over the last 3 years. There is no longer a mini golf course, nor is there archery anymore. The attitude of the majority of the staff is friendly but there are a couple of rude and arrogant individuals that need sorting out. THey have about 12 Hobiecats but was told they only have sails for 6. They used to have a number of small sailing boats for kids but looks like only two are functioning. the windsurfers are no longer in operation as they are all broken. The slalom water ski course is missing a number of bouys. The kids did enjoy the kids club and the GQ's involved are very active and interested. The food was good although a bit monotonous. Did seem that the staff were friendlier towards french speaking guests.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Club Med Pointe Aux Cannonier is fabulous! What can we say about this ideal resort? The beach is fantastic, as are the staff, food and accomodation! The position on the island is very convenient for Port Louis and Grand Bay, but why leave the hotel, you have everything at your finger tips right there! We stayed at the Club for our honeymoon, and they really did us proud, giving us a surperb room full of unexpected goodies, thank you very much! It really is difficult to point out any flaws in the Club Med format, everything seems to run absolutly seamlessly, with very little disturbance to the guests. The Fully Inclusive is just that, Fully Inclusive, with no rules or regulations that other hotels like to tell you about when you arrive, so it is the best F/I we have ever stayed in! As we have said, we have already booked to go back as soon as our leave permits. Our honeymoon was really special, and it just would not have been the same anywhere else! A big thanks to the Genreal Manager, Karim Dos Santos, you have worked wonders with the club, and the staff, and a special mention to Nasser in the resaurant, and Frederick in the beach bar, you guys went out of your way to make us feel totally relaxed!! See you all soon!!

Room Tip: Try for a room away from the nightly entertainment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I spent 7 nights here and were totally blown away by beauty of the resort and the excellent staff who really made our stay an absolute pleasure. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the facilities were good, the food and service was excellent and the setting was awesome. Thank you for a fantastic holiday, we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manguzi, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I went with the hunters group and it was fantastic just want to go again.
Never a DULL MOMENT always busy always something to do. in the 3 days we were there couldn't
even do half of everything that is available to do.
Next time i go ill stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband, son of 4 and I stayed here for 7 nights at the beginning of August 2012. We chose the hotel mainly because of the reviews of the Kids Club - it turned out that we made the right decision to come here! Our son loved it and he often chose to stay with the Kids Club even when we wanted him to come with us. This gave us lots of free time and we could really relax - we went kayaking, sailing and also just lazed around on the beach. The quality of the food was great and the resort tried very hard to provide variety. The staff at the kids club seemed to enjoy their jobs and made it very easy for the children to enjoy their holiday. The only thing that I would say is that the main language spoken at the resort is definitely French - my son is very confident and able to adapt easily, but a less confident child whose first language isn't English and who can't speak French may have suffered more. Also, the level of customer service wasn't always that good and when feedback was given, the response was not that positive. If you are looking for a quiet break-away, this may not be the best choice of hotel - there was a disco each night and even though our room was far away from the main entertainment area, we could hear the music quite clearly. The noise only stopped at 01h00 in the morning and on the friday night (when the locals come and hang out to relax), it carried on until 2.30.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Med La Pointe aux Canonniers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med La Pointe aux Canonniers

Address: Grand Baie, Pointe aux Canonniers, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Pointe aux Canonniers
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Pointe aux Canonniers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med La Pointe aux Canonniers 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Southern hemisphere, in the heart of the Indian Ocean, Mauritius brings together all kinds of beauty. You can marvel at a palette of colors, from the evergreen mountain to the perfectly blue sea, from colorful gardens to the beach of coral sand. In this unspoilt natural setting with abundant greenery, the colonial-style bungalows of La Pointe aux Canonniers, gently rise above lush green lawns awash with hibiscus. In this atmosphere of variety, you will discover this renovated Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med La Pointe aux Canonniers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med La Pointe Aux Canonniers Hotel Pointe Aux Cannoniers
Club Med Pointe Aux Cannoniers
Pointe Aux Cannoniers Club Med
Club Med La Pointe Aux Canonniers Mauritius

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med La Pointe aux Canonniers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.