We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream of Wonderfulness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Le Canonnier Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Beachcomber Le Canonnier Hotel to your Saves list
Beachcomber Le Canonnier Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Royal Rd, Pointe aux Canonniers, Grand Baie, Mauritius 32170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Port Allen, Louisiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dream of Wonderfulness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Recently returned in March 2013 from staying at the LeCannonier for six days. It was wonderful.
Our rooms were clean & efficient, the staff was friendly & helpful. Beautifully designed & many activities to do. The food was great, just watching the people could be fun. We loved every minute of it, close to Grand Baie for additional shopping. As for the beach, it was mostly rockie
but the island is a volanco so you expect that, we called it black sand. Enjoy great place for families.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    539
    122
    38
    15
See reviews for
606
803
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Our first hotel was the Verandah Grand Baie, we then moved onto Le Canonnier, this hotel was fantastic, the service the ammenities, the food, and the hotel in General was outstanding. The Older Grand parents enjoyed the Verandah Grand Baie, as it was easier to get around and smaller, but the rest of us really enjoyed this hotel. Kids had plenty to do, and the beaches are stunning. It has three different restaurants to eat at, one of which booking is essential as its smaller than the others. They had free wifi in the foyer and one of the pubs, which was very slow, but at least available for the guests. Glass bottom boat, ski-ing, spa, small kids zone, huge pool, archery, two pub areas, table tennis tables, snooker table, and plenty of pancakes for the kids made this hotel our favourite choice in Mauritius out of the two hotels.
It's slightly out of town, so Taxi rides are necessary to get into Grand Baie, but the Taxis are always available.
Definitely our next choice of hotel in Mauritius

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful stay at Le Canonnier, It was our first trip to Mauritius, we were so well looked after at the hotel, the staff we very friendly and attentive. The hotel was fantastic, very peaceful and relaxed.

I was really impressed with the restaurants at the hotel, I am not usually a fan of buffet restaurants, but even here the food was of such high standard that I really couldn't fault it, The views from the Navigator were amazing, especially during the daytime. The grounds were really well kept, and beaches were never too busy.

We hope to return again soon!

Room Tip: The views from the hotel are incredible and would definatley recommend a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I loved the location, the Feng-shui, the grounds, the quiet private beaches, And the nightly entertainment. Some people will fault the food or the rooms, but you have to take into consideration that none of the food in Mauritius is "good" by European standards. We had dinner at The Royal Palm and the food was just like at Canonnier, just ok. But put it in perspective -- the island is not known for it's dazzling cuisine. ;-)

The rooms at first looked not up to standard of a typical euro standard but the bed was soooo comfortable, and the humidity accounts for the white, simple decor. But our view!!! We watched sunsets from our balcony! Heavenly!

Advice: take a sea-view room on the west side of the hotel. Sea-view makes you feel like you are in paradise.

There are rocks on the beach but it's clean and crystal clear, and quiet. Shade.
Wonderful to read all day under an umbrella and walk a few steps up to the Navigator restaurant for a 5-star patio view which is priceless. Again, I never said the food was 5-star but who needs great food with that kind of luxury ?

The staff make or break a hotel and this staff makes the hotel feel luxurious and welcoming. They made the stay feel like a home away from home.

We visited Royal Palm hotel which felt too empty. Le Canonnier has the exact same quality architecture and elegant feel but with a little life and character too.

We toured the entire island and saw hotels from the outside, or entrance (picking other tourists up for boat tours) and every time I was so GRATEFUL to be staying at LE CANONNIER. It has elegance, beautiful common areas, and is well laid out. Best weather too, in all of Mauritius.

I'm not easy to please but I fell in love with this hotel. Will be back next year !



  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We got married here and had no regrets about our choice of resort. We travelled with my parents and our 2 children. I'd read the usual mixed bag of reviews and am continually astonished at how petty some people are. People with realistic expectations will be delighted with the place.
Our transfer, with Solis, was very friendly and efficient. There was a bit of a ritual at check in but it took 15 minutes, with us seated in comfort with a cold drink. The staff were exceptionally friendly throughout, and especially our room cleaner, Saynam. We were in a duplex room, which was modern, spacious and comfortable. The kids were above, up some very steep steps. There was a bolted gate at the top but you'd need to tie it shut with younger kids.
The main restaurant is excellent, with fresh cooked and buffet food to suit all tastes. The a la carte restaurant near the beach (Navigator) was very nice for a change, with excellent food and service. We were AI and didn't regret it at all. Very drinkable wine at dinner, beer was good when cold and we tried quite a few of the cocktails. Kayaking, laser sail boats, windsurfing, glass-bottom boats, pedalos were all included. Our 8 year old went water-skiing with the miniclub. We didn't but I think that's included too. The mini club is a very relaxed environment, with great staff, and both kids loved it. We left them for 3 evening sessions, where they had dinner with the other kids and went hunting for crabs (later put back alive!) on the beach with a torch. There is SCUBA diving (extra) available. There are also 3 tennis courts and a couple of table tennis and pool tables. Free wi-fi is available in the lounge and reaches to the main bar most of the time.
The pool is very nice. Warm and big enough for a decent swim. The beach probably isn't the best in Mauritius but was nicer than we'd thought. The kids loved the wade out to 'treasure island'. Take some beach shoes for wading. No need if you just want to swim.
We took a catamaran day trip to Flat Island from the water-sports area. You have to book and it's weather dependent. It cost £175 for 6 of us and was great. Friendly crew, free drinks, great BBQ lunch, tremendous beach and live coral to snorkel over.
Our wedding coordinator wasn't a bundle of laughs (serious business, weddings) but he was friendly enough and the whole thing was organised like clockwork. An included cab ride to Port Louis the day before to get the legals done and then on to Grand Baie to meet the registrar. The rest was done in the resort in a place of our choosing. Weather was a bit of a worry in February but it stopped raining 4 hours before we got hitched. If you get married BEFORE you have kids, you won't be tied to half term and can go when it's more guaranteed to be dry!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Came here in August 2012 and was really nice. The food at the buffet was amazing, think I put on weight for like the first time ever. As it is on the point, it has 3 areas of beach, one was extremely windy so we never went there, then there was the main beach and a quiet beach with less sand. The smaller one was the best to go snorkelling from as you didn't have to go far to see loads of fish.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beau Bassin - Rose Hill
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

great location but I was disappointed with the services...I went to reception to borrow a pen and was told that sorry but they did not have any spare to lend out. I asked for the daily program of activities for the next day at 20.00 and was again told that it will be put up on the board at 2130 or the next day; Absolutely not an effort made to look for one in spite of my asking whether it is possible to check if it is available. Upon the day of my arriva, I wanted to register my child to the miniclub and was told that registration is only in the morning. This is the first hotel in Mauritius ( and I have been to many ) where they do not accept the guest in the afternoon of arrival day.
Food was average, not very tasty, kind of bland...
Premises was clean but found some of the furniture look old e.g. sun lounges and rattan chairs.
I won't go there again as the overall experience was not too good. Pity as the hotel is located in a great spot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachcomber Le Canonnier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Le Canonnier Hotel

Address: Royal Rd, Pointe aux Canonniers, Grand Baie, Mauritius 32170
Phone Number:
Location: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie > Pointe aux Canonniers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pointe aux Canonniers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachcomber Le Canonnier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Beachcomber Le Canonnier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Canonnier Hotel Pointe Aux Cannoniers
Le Canonnier Pointe Aux Cannoniers
Beachcomber Le Canonnier Hotel Mauritius/Pointe Aux Canonniers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Le Canonnier Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.