We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borneo Rainforest Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Danum Valley Conservation Area
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Borneo Rainforest Lodge
Save
You added Borneo Rainforest Lodge to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Danum Valley Conservation Area 88100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Croydon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Quality Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Warm warm welcome, Leigh ?, towels, cold drink and a comprehensive briefing on the lodge. Luggage already waiting at the chalet after checkin.
Free tea coffee 6 2 6 in the bar.
Deluxe chalets c/w plunge pool and small veranda.
Upper level of dining room bounces due to passing traffic. Better stability on lower level
Tiger beer 12 RNm. Wines approx 155. Excellent range of spirits and cocktails, provided the spirit bases are in stock.
Comp soft drinks in room minibar. Coke and 100.
Comp slippers in room - policy of no shoes in comm areas.
Excellent food presented as buffet but in small quantities and refreshed throughout the service so never stale or overcooked. Chefs station for individual dishes of a more mainstream variety.
Waiting staff attentive and professional.
Slick and professional checkout from bag pickup to bill presentation.
Top quality, even if you ignore it's remote location. On reflection the remoteness (70+km from Lazard datu) makes this place even more special when one considers the effort that is put into making every guest feel comfortable and at home whilst maintaining such high standards in every department.
Cannot fault anything or even try and suggest where small enhancements could be made.
The wifi is very hit and miss and mobile reception zero.














Warm warm welcome, Leigh ?, towels, cold drink and a comprehensive briefing on the lodge. Luggage already waiting at the chalet after checkin.
Free tea coffee 6 2 6 in the bar.
Deluxe chalets c/w plunge pool and small veranda.
Upper level of dining room bounces due to passing traffic. Better stability on lower level
Tiger beer 12 RNm. Wines approx 155. Excellent range of spirits and cocktails, provided the spirit bases are in stock.
Comp soft drinks in room minibar. Coke and 100.
Comp slippers in room - policy of no shoes in comm areas.
Excellent food presented as buffet but in small quantities and refreshed throughout the service so never stale or overcooked. Chefs station for individual dishes of a more mainstream variety.
Waiting staff attentive and professional.
Slick and professional checkout from bag pickup to bill presentation.
Top quality, even if you ignore it's remote location. On reflection the remoteness (70+km from Lazard datu) makes this place even more special when one considers the effort that is put into making every guest feel comfortable and at home whilst maintaining such high standards in every department.
Cannot fault anything or even try and suggest where small enhancements could be made.
The wifi is very hit and miss and mobile reception zero.



















Warm warm welcome, Leigh ?, towels, cold drink and a comprehensive briefing on the lodge. Luggage already waiting at the chalet after checkin.
Free tea coffee 6 2 6 in the bar.
Deluxe chalets c/w plunge pool and small veranda.
Upper level of dining room bounces due to passing traffic. Better stability on lower level
Tiger beer 12 RNm. Wines approx 155. Excellent range of spirits and cocktails, provided the spirit bases are in stock.
Comp soft drinks in room minibar. Coke and 100.
Comp slippers in room - policy of no shoes in comm areas.
Excellent food presented as buffet but in small quantities and refreshed throughout the service so never stale or overcooked. Chefs station for individual dishes of a more mainstream variety.
Waiting staff attentive and professional.
Slick and professional checkout from bag pickup to bill presentation.
Top quality, even if you ignore it's remote location. On reflection the remoteness (70+km from Lazard datu) makes this place even more special when one considers the effort that is put into making every guest feel comfortable and at home whilst maintaining such high standards in every department.
Cannot fault anything or even try and suggest where small enhancements could be made.
The wifi is very hit and miss and mobile reception zero.






















Warm warm welcome, Leigh ?, towels, cold drink and a comprehensive briefing on the lodge. Luggage already waiting at the chalet after checkin.
Free tea coffee 6 2 6 in the bar.
Deluxe chalets c/w plunge pool and small veranda.
Upper level of dining room bounces due to passing traffic. Better stability on lower level
Tiger beer 12 RNm. Wines approx 155. Excellent range of spirits and cocktails, provided the spirit bases are in stock.
Comp soft drinks in room minibar. Coke and 100.
Comp slippers in room - policy of no shoes in comm areas.
Excellent food presented as buffet but in small quantities and refreshed throughout the service so never stale or overcooked. Chefs station for individual dishes of a more mainstream variety.
Waiting staff attentive and professional.
Slick and professional checkout from bag pickup to bill presentation.
Top quality, even if you ignore it's remote location. On reflection the remoteness (70+km from Lazard datu) makes this place even more special when one considers the effort that is put into making every guest feel comfortable and at home whilst maintaining such high standards in every department.
Cannot fault anything or even try and suggest where small enhancements could be made.
The wifi is very hit and miss and mobile reception zero.















This is a quality destination, not cheap, but what an experience! The following points are in no particular order but are more observations and top tips:
Warm warm welcome, towels, cold drink and a comprehensive briefing on the lodge. Luggage already waiting at the chalet after checkin.
Free tea and coffee 6 2 6 in the bar.
Deluxe chalets c/w plunge pool and small veranda.
Upper level of dining room bounces due to passing traffic. Better stability on lower level
Tiger beer 12 RNm. Wines approx 155. Excellent range of spirits and cocktails, provided the spirit bases are in stock.
Comp soft drinks in room minibar. Coke and 100.
Comp slippers in room - policy of no shoes in comm areas.
Excellent food presented as buffet but in small quantities and refreshed throughout the service so never stale or overcooked. Chefs station for individual dishes of a more mainstream variety.
Waiting staff attentive and professional.
Slick and professional checkout from bag pickup to bill presentation.
Top quality, even if you ignore it's remote location. On reflection the remoteness (70+km from Lahad Datu) makes this place even more special when one considers the effort that is put into making every guest feel comfortable and at home whilst maintaining such high standards in every department.
Cannot fault anything or even try and suggest where small enhancements could be made although the wifi is very hit and miss and mobile reception zero.
We thoroughly enjoyed every second and if you get Dean as your guide then your chances of sightings will be enhanced.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    73
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
68
261
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We recently stayed at the Borneo Rainforest Lodge for 2 days. Overall, the stay was very really, really great and we enjoyed it tremendously.

Transport and Pick-up:
The transport and pick-up was perfectly organized. From the office to the Lodge it takes about 2 – 2 ½ hrs. It is bumpy, up-and-down ride, but the mini-busses are very comfortable.

Accommodation:
We stayed in a standard bungalow, which was very good. They are very spacious and the bed was very comfortable. They do not have an AC, but they use a system of constant airflow to cool it down. It was okay during the day and got surprisingly cold during the night. The difference to the deluxe bungalows is that these have a private Jacuzzi each and are located directly on the riverside, so you have a direct view on the river/jungle. The rooms were cleaned every day, nothing to complain about.

Food:
The food was excellent all the time. For breakfast, you have all the choices of cereals, fruit, pancake, baked beans, bacon etc. They also have cooking station for omelets and eggs. Lunch and dinner is always buffet-style with a focus on domestic dishes. That means, there is always a dish made from chicken, lamb, seafood, fish and a range of vegetables. You can have rice and/or noodle with it. But they can also make you burger [at lunch] and spaghettis [dinner] at the cooking station. We always enjoyed the food and get never tired of it.

Staff/service:
The staff is always super friendly and very polite. There is also nothing to complain about the service in the restaurant, they were always very attentive.

Walks:
If you want, you can walk a lot! The schedule you see on the internet or when booking is not written in stone, you can change according to your wishes and they very flexible. As an example, our daily schedules were:

1. Day.
10h - Arrival
12h - Lunch
15.30h - Afternoon walk 2 hrs
19h - Dinner
20.30h - Night safari

2. Day
6h - Morning walk/Canopy walk 1 1/2hrs
9.30h - Viewpoint/Jacuzzi walk 2 hrs
15.30h - Afternoon walk 1 ½ hrs
20h - Night walk [canceled because of heavy rain]

3. Day
6.30h - Morning walk 2 hrs
9.30h - Walk 1 ½ hrs
13h - Departure

They have a lot of nice of walks, but depending on your time there, I think, they focus on the main walks. It seems that everyone does the viewpoint/Jacuzzi pool-walk and the canopy walk. On arrival, you should discuss with your guide which walks are possible and what you want to do. They have 2 or 3 longer walks with about 3 hrs. we would have liked to do, but because lack of time and we didn’t know about them, we missed them. Also, the guide may change your planned walk if some animals were spotted somewhere else. The guides are in constant contact with each other via radio.
All the walks are not very difficult, except the viewpoint walk which is quite steep sometimes. My girlfriend, pregnant in her 4th month, had no problems at all.
Normally, you get your own guide, but you can get put into a group if more people arriving the same day/time. We started in a group of six, but had the guide for our own on the second day as the rest of group did not want to walk as much as we wanted.


Animals:
Don't expect to see monkeys or any other bigger animal on every of your walks. It can also be that you won't see any at all. We had one walk where we didn’t see any. You hear them all the time, but they are hard to spot. In the end, you are not in a Zoo, these are not caged animals. You might have more chances to see bigger animals if you go to Sandakan or Sepilok, but you won’t get that feeling when walking through that dense forest and feeling to be on your very own there. The guides, as written above, try their best to spot the animals.


So, would I come back? Definitely, it was a great stay! Hope that this review was any helpful.

P.S.: There are no mosquitos in the valley! We never got bitten once, but as mentioned in other reviews, there are leeches, which are pretty harmless though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A nice enough place to stay. Good service, good food. Enjoyed our guide Mike and the information he gave us, but we were very disappointed that we did not see more animals. Still it was kind of magical walking in the forest, swimming by the waterfall and rafting on the river.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights and two days at BRL and really enjoyed our stay. As a group of four adults and five children from 6 - 12 yrs. the staff were fantastic as were the buffet dinners, lunch and breakfasts! The accommodation in the Deluxe rooms were also great and worth the extra $$ for their accessibility, the jacuzzi and privacy. The drive in and out of BRL is long and windy, but ok. The only negative I would say is that we felt organised and scheduled by our guides while we were there but as they were the locals and it meant that we didn't cross over too much with other groups while walking, it was ok. We did see four wild Orangutans as well as monkeys, deer, frogs, and other flora and fauna which were all special. They also were vey good with the children.
I would definitely recommend BRL for people looking for a luxury jungle experience for people of all ages and fitness/ jungle abilities.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Very nice, good facilities, nice staff (especially our guide) and truly recommended.

However, our experience is summarized as a comfortable stay & jungle tour which could be much more if it was treated more as a experience where the guests are educated regarding this project as well as the jungle and wildlife.

Because the total experience is more ended towards facilitating a stay in the jungle rather than experiencing the jungle, it seems overpriced. I assume that a big part of the fee is used for research and/or conservation, however this is just an assumption.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our transfers were easy and timely making the experience stress free and our driver pointed out flora and fauna for us. However on arrival we were rushed into the dining room which was not so pleasant. A shower after a long journey would have been most appreciated, and a cold beer at the bar to unravel the bumps could have made our introduction a little more special.

We stayed in a deluxe room,with wonderful facilities, free soft drinks and tasty cookies as an extra! We were hardly given time to unpack a toothbrush before summoned to meet our guide, a very charming, funny young man named Mike. I think we should have specified our particular preferences for our trip, and I would suggest this to all who visit this wonderful place. Firstly, guides have particular specialities that they have great knowledge about and can direct their party to those areas. Secondly, as a grandmother, the trek to the view point was wonderful, but a bit hard on the calves and thighs! .And then it was ring rafting in the afternoon.... We declined and had a hot tub on the verandah. A good decision as we saw helmeted hornbills and lots of other wildlife.

The canopy walk was beautiful and not scary at all, but it looks better in photos than reality. The night safari is generally a waste of half an hour, but it is exciting to walk around in the jungle, rainforest at night.

The staff at BRL are well versed in dealing with a large turn over of guest and have been trained to deal with names. particular preferences and memory of likes and dislikes of all patrons. The training manager should be praised for this as it creates a happy ambience in all parts of the lodge and makes guests feel special.

The food at BRL is excellent. The head chef is constantly watching over his staff, food and the eating guests. It is nice to see a chef taking such an overall interest in his domain. Using woks, and only putting a few portions out means the food is always hot,.This is something rare in most buffet style menus and a brilliant way to ensure fresh hot food, congratulations!The BBQ food however was dry and lacked flavour, perhaps marinating the meat would help..

We saw lots of wildlife and exercised parts that had forgotten they existed! IBRL is a very special place and each guest can be as involved or not as they want in the rain forest experience. All the staff are friendly, helpful and always wear a genuine smile, nothing is too much effort. Thanks to all of you for making our stay so wonderful.

We would like to thank Mike who was such a wonderful guide to two unfit oldies! Mike has a great sense of responsibility to his party, he is informative, attentive and very funny. Thank you Mike for a great time. Maybe next time we will do the ring rafting with you!

Borneo Rainforest Lodge is a great escape from the humdrum of everyday life, it is luxury, but do not come here expecting to see an abundance of very rare wildlife. Only the lucky few find the rarities and the rest of us....well, we see orang-utans, gibbons, various monkeys, hornbills and much and many more.



.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

From the welcome in the office in Lahad Datu to being returned there at the end of our stay at the BRL everything was perfect. The drive to the lodge was fun and we saw quite a lot of wild life on both journeys.

We had a deluxe room and I particularly enjoyed using the out side bath tub. The room was a pleasant temperature even though there was no AC.

The food was truly excellent and although the wine was expensive the cocktails were reasonable. There was a wide variety of dishes and it was all freshly cooked.

We wore long trousers and long sleeved shirts, leech socks and walking boots and used a poncho when it rained and we didn't get 'leeched' or wet. The boot cleaning stations were brilliant.

We saw quite a few orangutans although they were quite tricky to see. We also saw quite a few red leaf monkeys. Take your swimming things when you do the jacuzzi walk - the pool was lovely and refreshing although the feet nibbling fish were thickly.

A fantastic place to stay and experience the jungle. Thanks Messius,our guide for being so great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borneo Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Rainforest Lodge

Address: Danum Valley Conservation Area 88100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Danum Valley Conservation Area
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Danum Valley Conservation Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Borneo Rainforest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A low density Jungle Lodge with 31 Twin Sharing Chalets located in the largest Conservation Area in Sabah which is home to 275 species of birds, 110 species of mammals & one of the oldest virgin rainforest in the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borneo Rainforest Hotel Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borneo Rainforest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.