We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't disappoint!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Main Street, Hunningham CV33 9DY, England
01926 632715
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Hunningham
Price range: $0 - $34
Cuisines: English, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Won't disappoint!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have eaten at the Red Lion on several occasions for lunch, dinner and even pudding club with my girlfriends and it never disappoints. Lovely looking pub with open fires so cosy in the winter and the food is always a treat. Black pudding hash was yummy! Service always good so no complaints there!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    64
    65
    39
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
LEAMINGTON SPA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely pub but roast dinner was disaster”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We have been here many times before and always, repeat always come away very pleased. They have always done a great burger and fish and chips. We went just before Xmas on a Sunday at about 6pm and fancied the roast dinners. Now before I lay into the roasts , the people who had burgers on our table absolutely loved them . And I again say this is a lovely pub with friendly staff . But when 4 of us took a bite out of the roast dinners we stopped. The roast potatoes should never have been put on our plates, the kitchen should have known they were like eating plastic/cardboard. They had simply been hanging around for hours. The beef was pretty mediocre too. So we asked for new potatoes , which to be fair they replaced all the roast dinners in full. This meant a 25 min wait while our friends finished their plates.
If I were the pub I would sort this out as you can be so much better than this experience .

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An unmitigated disaster”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Three of us had the misfortune to eat at The Red Lion on the evening of 6 January 2013.

Perhaps we should have known better than to order roast beef, etc at 7.00ish in the evening.

However...

The advertised rare beef was clearly not cut off a joint, but a tough,reheated, pre-packed variety such was the consistency of the slicing. The roast potatoes would have protected a battlefield tank in Afghanistan such was the toughness of the skin - probably microwaved from frozen and/or re-heated. Mixed vegetables were curling at the edges and had been subject to a valiant attempt at rehydration by being smothered in the insipid apology for gravy. Yorkshire Puddings were 1% short of total cremation and as arid as the Sahara.

Pâté starter came with lukewarm, withered rocket and was missing the advertised onion jam or whatever.

This was the worst meal that the three of us had ever encountered. Steer clear if our experience is anything to go by. Shocking in the extreme and hideously expensive for such appalling quality.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superb experience, loved the atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We went for a late Sunday lunch, at about 2.30p.m. On Sunday the 6th January 2013.
Dogs are welcome so it's already a winner as far as we're concerned!!!
But the Restaurant was excellent, very friendly staff, gorgeous food, lovely comfy place with plenty of space but cleverly done so it feels warm and cosy.
Excellent menu and we loved the jovial banter on the menu, a paragraph at the end with things your parents used to say i.e. Sit up straight, don't talk with your mouth full, get your elbows off the table!! There were family games there too and my Husband and I amused ourselves with the board game of Logos.
There was even a Magician going from table to table wowing the children especially :-) a lovely touch.
We will be going again and again for different events, a winner and we thoroughly recommended it here 10/10

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Victory snatched from the jaws of defeat, a great Xmas dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had booked the Red Lion for our Christmas Day dinner and were really looking forwrad to it when a call came to say that the pub itself was surrounded by flood water and they would not be able to serve the food in the Red Lion itself.....BUT.....they planned to relocate food & staff to the Falcon at Hatton and serve us there if we were willing to go. We said yes and were really glad that we did. The menu seemed ambitious for a pub but it was carried off with aplomb - every course was a treat and we had a really fantastic time.

So thanks to Will and all the team at the Red Lion to saving our day and delivering us such a wonderful meal. No hesitation for us - its the Red Lion for Christmas Day next year!!! In fact we must go there more often in other times of the year too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 
Redditch, Worcestershire
Hatton, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.