We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent summer accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Moulin de Saint Verand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Le Moulin de Saint Verand to your Saves list
Le Moulin de Saint Verand
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Roche, 71570 Saint-Verand, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Verand
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent summer accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I visited the Moulin de Saint Verand in July, and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I rented one of the 'roulotts'; the carriages that have been converted into rooms. The bed was large and comfortable, and it also contained full bathroom and shower facilities. The restaurant offers a delicious menu which includes escargot, foie gras, veal, cheese, and a good selection of some pretty delicious wines. We found three caves located within a short distance from the hotel (one was directly accross the street) where wine tastings and sales are offered. The region is beautiful, and the countryside offers many walking opportunities, as winemakers don't seem to mind if people hike through the vineyards )as long as the plants remain undisturbed). The weather was quite hot during the day, but cooled down to a pleasant temperature at night, which made sleeping comfortable. Finally, the price was very reasonable, and the staff was extremely kind, curtious, and keen on ensuring that all their guests had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    35
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
34
66
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I first visited the Moulin de Saint Verand this spring and was very pleased with my discovery. I made a special point of returning this summer and was not disappointed. Just as good as the first time. Clean and comfortable with a friendly welcome and the resaurant just as good as before. It really is a great location for the Macon wine region and a great mid way stop over when heading to or from the Midi. Only regret is I could’nt stay in the Gipsy caravans this time either. Moto of the story ? Book early next time !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a very nice place located in the wonderful French countryside where there is plenty to explore and equally it is not too far from the motorway. We found this typical French place to be very clean with friendly staff, good atmosphere and facilities which suited our needs, such as a terrace, garden and a (medium sized) swimming pool. It could be ideal for those travelling further south or east or those enjoying the countryside and its typical villages.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This little hotel must be a little gem. We celebrated my husband’s anniversary here with a very nice lunch. It was very hot (+37) but in the shadow under the threes we were quite comfortable. The lunch was light and fairly simple but well prepared. The local vine was excellent just as we expected. Next time we visit this region we will definitely stay the night so that we can try out the little swimming pool too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were looking for a place between Paris and the Alps to stay for 1 night with the 5 of us (2 adults/3 kids) in 1 room. I found this place and it worked out very well. The place was recently refreshed and was clean. The room was perfect and they have a nice restaurant as well. It's in a perfect place to visit wine country...there is a cave across the street! We'll most likely come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Although difficult to find even with a Tomtom it is well worth the search.On arrival we were taken to our room by a charming lady who carried our bags, she then took a long time to set up my laptop and made sure I understood everything.
The room was small but very tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean, the one drawback was that it was on the second floor .
The evening meal was delicious,both waitresses were very attentive, making an effort to ensure that we knew exactly what was in each dish and the service was excellent.
Breakfast was of a high standard with a good choice.
Based on my experience I would certainly recommend this logis and I am looking forward to my next visit.







eac

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Raphael, France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We picked this hotel after reading good reviews, and although a little more expensive we decided to have a treat and chose a comfort double room at extra cost from the standard double. On reserving a room we were charged 50% of the room rate & when checking-in we were requested to settle our bill that evening after dinner! although we would not be leaving until after breakfast the next day
Dinner proved to be a big disappointment, the menu sounded good but the food was mediocre and not of the standard we have become accustomed to when staying in this area of France

All in all, our bill at this hotel was the most expensive we have picked up so far when staying overnight travelling from Calais to the south of France, so we will not return to this hotel again.

The hotel is situated in a beautiful area and the room though small was very clean & bright

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Moulin de Saint Verand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin de Saint Verand

Address: La Roche, 71570 Saint-Verand, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Burgundy > Saone-et-Loire > Saint-Verand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Verand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Moulin de Saint Verand 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moulin de Saint Verand is intalled in an old building in stone completely renovated. 10 Double bedrooms, 4 family bedrooms, 1 cottage near the river, all equipped with shower room, TV, wifi, telephone, and 2 gipsy caravan equipped with large bed, shower, wc and electric heating. Get special offers throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Moulin de Saint Verand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Moulin de Saint Verand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.