We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoying a late break on a budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Bridge to your Saves list
The Bridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Walshford, Wetherby LS22 5HS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walshford
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Enjoying a late break on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Using a Travel zoo voucher made our stay, at the Bridge hotel, very good value for money. We had a friendly welcome, arriving early and our room was ready. The room overlooked the front car park but as it was mid week we were not bothered by any noise. The decor was adequate and there was all the usual, TV, coffee, tea etc and the linen was nice and clean and white. Surprised that the bed was a double, as many hotels now have king size beds, we found it quite comfortable.
We spent 3 hours in the spa, included in the offer, using the outside hot tub, sauna, steam room and foot spa. We enjoyed our afternoon relaxing. We visited the nearby town of Wetherby, which has a good selection of shops and pubs and as the weather was good it was pleasant strolling around.
The 5 course evening meal also included in our package, was served in the garden restaurant which was nicely set out. Our menu had a choice of several starters followed by French onion soup, sorbet, then a choice of Carvery? main course. The choice of Carvery was gammon, lasagne, beef in a cream sauce with rice, and salmon or chicken in ham The vegetables, which I felt let the meal down, were just tepid, although there was a good choice. Dessert again a choice if you had room for any. The staff in the dining room were competent and friendly.
The room was comfortable and the bathroom had complimentary toiletries, a good shower over the bath and nice soft towels.
Breakfast was good having a choice of fruit juice, cereals, fruit and nuts etc, croissants or cake and a choice from the buffet style full English breakfast.
We had a really good stay and would try some of the treatments on offer in the Spa if we had more time.

Room Tip: Maybe a room on the opposite of the hotel would be preferable if a view is important
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
I am so pleased you enjoyed your two day spa break with us so much, thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    200
    97
    36
    22
See reviews for
144
305
19
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We Stayed at the Bridge hotel and Spa in Wetherby for 1 night in August. This was booked through Wowcher websiie and for 2 people included breakfast, a 5 course meal and 3 hours of access to the Spa so we jumped at the chance. The Hotel were happy to pick us up from the train station Cattal which I guess may have been a couple of miles away. Yes it is a bit secluded but if you won a car this shouldnt be a problem. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we spent an afternoon in the Soa enjoying the outdoor hot tub, sauna, steam room ect. We had noticed some complaints about the facilities but we found the whole experience very pleasant, we were there on a Tuesday afternoon so perhapos it was quieter than normal? The restaurant served a carvery type buffet meal which was pleasant enough and the restaurant itself was nicely done out with seating on a upper level and then down some steps to the buffet area. to the right is also an old fashioned type bar which was very pleasant serving good local beers. The rooms themselves were nothing special but comfortable, quiet and if I had any compalint with my room is that it overlooked the main entrance so with cars pulling up occasionally was not very private. However, for the price we thought it was fantastic value and weer only disppointed that we didnt stay longer than 1 night, oh well maybe next time

Room Tip: The rooms are all named after Yorkshire towns, we were in Rippon wjhich overlooks the entrance car p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
I am delighted you enjoyed your spa break with us, I hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with my partner, it was lovely, the staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. We found the Spa to be very limited, not many facilities, but the outdoor hot tub was really good, but we had a nice day for it. We upgraded to a club room. which we found was well worth it for the price. The room was spotless and the bathroom was beautiful, we also had a lovely view over the grassed area from our bedroom window. The food was really good and Breakfast was plentyful with a good selection of different foods to cater for all needs, there was also a good selection of additional items for a small charge. All in all it was a lovely break and would definately go back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
I am delighted you enjoyed your visit, indeed our Club rooms are wonderful, I am so pleased you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford, Dorset , England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed four days. Good position for touring. Food excellent and the staff extremely pleasant and helpful. A classic hotel deal. Good hearty breakfasts and evening carvery with alternative choices. The restaurant setting is very pleasant and the service runs very smoothly.

Room Tip: Room 21 was a little small as situated at the end of the corridor but service was good and bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, I am so pleased we looked after you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

This was a 40th birthday treat for my partner. The staff were very friendly and welcoming upon arrival and went out if their way to make my partners birthday special. The evening meal was outstanding. The staff did a birthday treat for my partner and continued through out our short stay with the excellent service. They made us feel very welcomed up to the minute we left. We will definitely be returning and I have already recommended the hotel to friends. A beautiful hotel with excellent staff and service. Well done to you all and thank you for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your birthday treat with us here at The Bridge. Indeed the food here is wonderful, as we are family owned we try to source as much of the produce locally as we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on Travel Zoo deal. All staff are very friendly and incredibly helpful. Spa area was lovely and outdoor hotbub was a treat. Room was fresh and relaxing. The food was exceptional. Had breakfast, room service and five course menu. All was tasty, fresh and plentiful. Was exactly what we had hoped for...relaxing and calm. Will return to work feeling refreshed. Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit so much; indeed the food here is wonderful, I am so glad you agree.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a two-day break booked through Travelzoo. Despite being "on a deal" we were treated like royalty, even receiving a free upgrade to a superior room when they couldn't find our booking on their system.

Food is lovely, staff are friendly, helpful and efficient and the hotel is very attractive. My partner was particularly impressed by the hotel's extensive range of malt whisky and found time to sample the odd one whilst we were there.

The inclusive 5-course dinner was fabulous but is huge! A filling starter, followed by soup and a sorbet course before you get to the main event! Didn't have room for a dessert (which is unheard of for me!) but EVERYTHING was delicious.

Overall, an excellent break in a great hotel and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Many thanks for your very kind comments, we hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge

Address: Walshford, Wetherby LS22 5HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wetherby > Walshford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walshford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bridge is a four star property, in the heart of Yorkshire. This unique independently owned hotel is renowned throughout the area for first class levels of 'Yorkshire Hospitality' and comfort. It is the perfect base for both leisure and business guests and has been recently refurbished throughout to the standard you would expect a First Class Venue to be. Our Spa is the ultimate place to relax and spoil yourself. Unwind in the relaxation lounge after experiencing our thermal suite with Japanese Foot Spas, Mentholyptus Sauna, Aromatherapy Crystal Steam Room and Sensation and Ice Experience Showers, followed by a relaxing soak in our Cedar Wood Hot Tub. The Spa also features treatment rooms, nail bar and make-up area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bridge Hotel Wetherby
Bridge Hotel Wetherby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.