We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant overnight stay to attend a wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Bridge to your Saves list
The Bridge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Walshford, Wetherby LS22 5HS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walshford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A pleasant overnight stay to attend a wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

It was an early wedding so we could not check in until about 3.45 when the ceremony and main reception finished. The ceremony was very pleasant and in the Byron room which is characterful and ornate. The wedding lunch was very tasty, nicely cooked and hot. Checked into our room (room 18) which was very clean, carpet and furnishings looked fairly new, no complaints at all. The evening reception went very well though i understand from the Brides parents the food served was not sufficient for the number of guests and not exactly what they ordered. Bar service not very good, a till had broken down at one bar and a replacement didn't work either, can't say this bothered us that much. Breakfast is buffet style, everything fine, though bacon is never cooked enough for us. Check in and out was efficient, friendly and quick. All in all we had a good day . Can't comment on the Spa because we didn't use it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit, we hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    223
    110
    39
    25
See reviews for
160
347
20
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had a one night stay at this hotel and although we experienced one or two issues with our room, we were most impressed with the way the duty manageress dealt with them when we brought them to her attention. She showed empathy and concern and did her utmost to ensure we had an enjoyable stay - well done!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
I am so pleased that we looked after you so well during your stay with us. We have very friendly staff here at The Bridge, I am so pleased they looked after you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boroughbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We recently took our close friends for a meal in the restaurant at the Bridge Inn. It is somewhere my husband and I often go ourselves as the service is excellent and the food so enjoyable. We had the set carvery which is £20.95 per person and includes a starter and pudding + tea/coffee and mints which is very good value for money.
Our friends loved the carvery meal and were amazed how much meat they received from the chef who carves up the meat for you. We could help ourselves to a variety of potatoes and vegetables, gravy and sauces - it was very very nice.
As always the staff were very friendly, attentive and provided excellent service and helpfulness to us. They always add little extras like a jug of water on your table; extra breadrolls for soup if you require them and you get lovely chocolate mints with your coffee at the end.
We would really recommend going - there is plenty of car parking space including additional parking; it is set in beautiful gardens and with lovely scenery and views. The restaurant itself is beautifully decorated with high ceilings. There are many weddings held here throughout the year and its lovely to see the bride and groom and what everyone is wearing when you walk in and pass the main function rooms then wander down towards the restaurant at the other end.
We would really recommend going to this restaurant - it provides a lovely relaxing evening with good food, great service and good company and atmosphere around you. The hotel has a lovely bar and seated area and splendid gardens outside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant. As we are locally owned, we try very hard to use local produce where we can. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

AMAZING!
Last week my husband and I had our wedding ceremony and reception at The Bridge Hotel,
from our first meeting with the wedding co-ordinator June, to our checking out of the Bridal suite everything was perfect. We chose the 'Byron room' which is very ornate and oozing with character
The room caters for up to 50 guests (our reception was for 30) We had the ceremony in this room which was then re-set for our wedding breakfast while we were outside having photographs taken in the lovely grounds and gardens. The hotel offers a selection on food and drinks options for weddings, we chose a six course (including coffee and mints) meal and the 'silver' drinks package, the food was excellent and beautifully silver served by very efficient staff, hot food really was hot which can sometimes be a problem for group catering. The wine glasses were kept topped up and careful attention was paid to non-alcoholic versions being served to a couple of non-drinkers.
Sophie was duty manager and Marie our MC, both did an excellent job along with the rest of the front of house team, our compliments to the chef and kitchen brigade for fabulous food.
Our evening was spent relaxing in the outdoor hot tub and later in the intimate, cosy bar before we enjoyed a very comfortable night in the Eliot room (one of the bridal suites) this room has an adjoining lounge for added luxury.
I also stayed in the hotel the night before the wedding with a friend, we had room 6 again very comfortable. Breakfast at the Bridge is buffet style, a good choice of continental and full English, nothing was too much trouble for our cheerful waiter.
Overall I would say our chosen package represented excellent value for money, as an ex-hotelier (unbeknown to the Bridge), I cannot fault the 5 star standards received at this well deserved 4 star hotel and wish we could do it all over again!
Thanks a million,
Lindsey and Carl.
(Bride and Groom)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
I am so pleased that we looked after you both on your very special day. Your kind comments are very much appreciated, & I will pass them on to the team here as I know they will be very much encouraged by them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We recently spent two nights in mid week at this hotel using the spa twice, this was booked using last minute.com.
The hotel was near to main routes (but not noisy) therefore very assesable and near enough to make it convenient for our visit to York. We found it to be very clean and well maintained and the staff were very friendly and efficient.
In the room they had gone to the trouble and expense of providing complimentary chocolates and a small carafe of port, this may sound minor but we felt that it added a nice touch which we have not found in many hotels.
The restaurant side of our package was table d'hote eg choice of three starters, main and dessert the mains included carvery so the selection was limited but we could always have gone off the more extensive menu. The food was good but not anything special but we knew that before booking. The staff were very good and attentive.
With regard to the spa it was quite small however the numbers were managed well by staff so it had all that we needed such as steam room, sauna, jacuzzi, foot spa, relaxation room and at no time did we feel crowded or ill at ease with the amount of people, in fact we were the only ones using certain facilities at times.
Both my wife and I had a treatment, which we enjoyed and would say it was on a par wiith others that we have had.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Many thanks for you kind comments about your visit to The Bridge, I am pleased that you had an overall enjoyable spa break with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We attended a family wedding at this hotel and stayed the night there. It was an excellent wedding venue with the authentic Byron room for the ceremony, very good food, two bars and the courtyard to relax in. The room used for the reception was very hot and better ventilation or air con in there would be an advantage.
The bedroom was good with a good sized, firm bed and not too hot. We were able to open the window and the noise from the A1 traffic was fairly distant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed our wonderful Byron Room so much, it is a real hidden treasure.

I am sorry it was so very hot during your stay, a bit on a "one off" for Yorkshire!

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

After lots of research I decided on this hotel for a weekend away to celebrate my upcoming 40th birthday with my husband. From the outside the hotel looks nice, good sized car park. We went to reception and picked up our key for our room which I was disappointed in, extremely small and very dark and dull nothing at all like the photos on the website. We went to book in at the spa to be told it was fully booked all weekend and we should have emailed before we arrived!!!! I explained to the receptionist that it said you only had to book if you needed a treatment she then said she would try and fit us in!!!! We had evening meal in the restraunt on the first night which again was average the starter and pudding were much better than the main meal which was a carvery. Meat, potatoes and yorkshires very overcooked and dry. Breakfast was okay both mornings. The hotel was very busy all weekend with weddings with a very loud disco. The receptionist managed to fit us in at 5pm on the Saturday to go to the spa which cost us an extra £5.00 each which is a total cheek. The SPA is an absolute joke how they have managed to turn the name from The Bridge Hotel to now The Bridge Hotel and Spa is beyond me, it consists of a steam and sauna room both which were very smelly, an ice experience which was a bowl with a teaspoon of crushed ice in, 2 foot spas an extremely dirty hot tub which is outside its like being in a big barrel!!! and then a relaxation room. Defiantly nothing like previous spas I have visited.
I would sum the whole hotel up as AVERAGE and can't believe it is 4 stars should be 2/3 stars.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipRoberts1, Owner at The Bridge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments concerning you stay with us. In order to keep our bed & breakfast rates as low as possible we only include spa access in to our spa breaks. This small charge, & requesting guests to pre book the spa is clearly very marked on all confirmations. Our spa is small but exclusive with relaxation rooms, foot spa, sauna, stream room & cedar hot tub. To keep it exclusive we strictly manage the number of guests using it, & therefore we ask our guest to pre book for every ones enjoyment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge

Address: Walshford, Wetherby LS22 5HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wetherby > Walshford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walshford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bridge is a four star property, in the heart of Yorkshire. This unique independently owned hotel is renowned throughout the area for first class levels of 'Yorkshire Hospitality' and comfort. It is the perfect base for both leisure and business guests and has been recently refurbished throughout to the standard you would expect a First Class Venue to be. Our Spa is the ultimate place to relax and spoil yourself. Unwind in the relaxation lounge after experiencing our thermal suite with Japanese Foot Spas, Mentholyptus Sauna, Aromatherapy Crystal Steam Room and Sensation and Ice Experience Showers, followed by a relaxing soak in our Cedar Wood Hot Tub. The Spa also features treatment rooms, nail bar and make-up area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bridge Hotel Wetherby
Bridge Hotel Wetherby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.