We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell to your Saves list
Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Barry Avenue | Central Otago, Cromwell 9342, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
rangiora
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have been staying here off and on for 20 odd years, great to see the rooms have been done up, Comfortable, warm, private with bar and restaurant all on site. Great that the hand basin is outside the bathroom as someone can be in the shower or on the loo while someone else is using the hand basin.

Room Tip: Looking our over the golf course is very relaxing and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
6
14
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The room was adequately equipped and the double bed was huge. I slept on a sofa bed but this wasn't so comfortable as the mattress was quite thin. The motel had no free Wi Fi but with a voucher could be purchased from reception. The sink was outside the bathroom which was less convenient. Overall it was clean and the staff were polite so I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed at the Golden Gate for a weekend while attending a friends wedding at the Wooing Tree Winery (across the road). Overall impression of the lodge was great, the rooms are very big with comfortable beds. Our room had a great view out towards the mountains. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We were staying in the older part of the resort which could do with abit of renovating as it is started to look abit dated especially the bathroom, this did not worry us as we were only sleeping here and out all day. On the whole had a great time and will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

No WiFi. That says it all. It's like timewarp back ten years.

Oh. And bed not in rooms. Just out in the lounge. Water cost money. No hand wash basin in the toilet and shower room. The design is down right crap.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenChristiansen, General Manager at Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment. It is unfortunate that you find the design of our rooms not to your liking. Our studio hotel rooms are of a standard design, with one studio room with ensuite bathroom, it is unfortunate you were expecting a seperate bedroom.

The hotel does in fact have WiFi available throughout the building, as it states in the compendium. Your computer should automatically find the hotspot, and our staff are able to help you log on if you experiencing difficulties. For future reference if you ever have any issues please contact the reception desk as we are always happy to help.

Yes we do have a standard charge for bottled water from our minibars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

In this day and age where a cellphone has become as standed as having the keys to your home in your pocket I was disappointed that the places still charge for Wifi access despite being patrons.

We decided to enjoy our last family dinner together at the Golden gate to catch up on all the last bits of news and finalize our travel plans by checking on a few things online. Upon arriving low and behold we were told that should we want to go online we could buy a card : 4 dollars for an hour.

Why it wasn't free for diners ...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough Sounds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Golden Gate Lodge was our second choice and turned out to be a good one. Whilst the whole complex could do with a refurb the rooms were very clean and comfortable.
The staff were friendly and table service fine. My steak was cooked to perfection (rare) something many chefs are unable to do it would seem. My companions were also happy with their meals.
We would all happily stay there again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stay at the Golden Gate regularly whilst in Central Otago on business. I have always found all staff pleasant and helpful. Meals are excellent, well presented and more that adequate in volume. The establishment is undergoing a bit of an up-lift at present which was about due. The rooms are not 5 star but serve their purpose. i have no intentions of changing away from here.

Room Tip: A room at the North Eastern end gives a view of the golf course and nice early morning sun shine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell

Address: Barry Avenue | Central Otago, Cromwell 9342, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Cromwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Cromwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Gate Lodge Cromwell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.