We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this one!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Earth Outdoor Kitchen & Cellar Door

Wild Earth Outdoor Kitchen & Cellar Door
803 Kawarau Gorge Road | Goldmining Centre Kawarau Gorge, Cromwell 9384, New Zealand
+64 3-445 4841
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 25 restaurants in Cromwell
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery
Description: Cross the bridge over the Mighty Kawarau River to join us in our idillic Central Otago setting, surrounded by Wild Thyme and rocky outcrops.
Cromwell, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't miss this one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Sunday lunch, superbly serviced and professionally prepared. A shared platter for four was abundant in tasty and beautifully presented foods, ample for the appetite. Wild Earth's Riesling complemented the food and the wait staff were ever vigilant, keeping the table supplied with chilled water and asking if everyone was happy with their food. A definite "go again" venue where we will be proud to take others as it advertises the region's produce to the max.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    60
    26
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very special restaurant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A really interesting and enjoyable restaurant that stands out with its wine barrel cooking method.
A real highlight was the fantastic staff who were all friendly and very knowledgable. The waitress that seated us also offered us sunscreen and hats to wear as it was a beautiful sunny central otago day.
We had the platter for two and found it very good, our waitress ran us through each element which was nice- only suggestion would be the option to change out the seafood component of the platter as neither of us ate seafood so lost out 1 part of the platter. The salmon and venison was outstanding!
Will definately be back next summer!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The food and wine matches on our platter were great A wonderful way to be able to try the lovely foods the Wild Earth offer. along with their range of wines.We will certainly be returning here when next we are back in this region

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“On the wild side from Chris and Les”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We had the pleasure of meeting Quintin in Melbourne, our home town, in August at a dinner he hosted for some friends of ours, with his wines and ummy smoke cooked food - absolutely delicious. We have a property in Queenstown and were over visiting in September. We were delighted to take our NZ neighbours to lunch at Wild Earth Kitchen where we met up with Quintin again and enjoyed a lovely platter and wine tastings. Our neighbours are hooked on the food and wine, as we are. We are back again in Queenstown for a pre-Christmas visit and are heading to Wild Earth Kitchen again for more food and a wine top up! Ummm

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann B, Communications Manager at Wild Earth Outdoor Kitchen & Cellar Door, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We're more than happy to top up your wine and food needs. Quintin is quiet inspiring and a wonderful host and I'm sure he'll have some new stories to tell on your return. Christmas is fast approaching so we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northland New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A great lunchtime experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had the wine tasting with the platter that accompanies it and the dessert to follow. An excellent meal in wonderful surroundings. Great value and well worth doing. We would do it again in a heartbeat. Thanks to Quintin and his team.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann B, Communications Manager at Wild Earth Outdoor Kitchen & Cellar Door, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
I hope you will get the opportunity to return. It's always a delight so see people come back again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Earth Outdoor Kitchen & Cellar Door also viewed

 
Cromwell, Otago Region
Cromwell, Otago Region
 

Been to Wild Earth Outdoor Kitchen & Cellar Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Earth Outdoor Kitchen & Cellar Door, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.