We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in sleepy Cromwell” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Armando's Kitchen

Armando's Kitchen
71 Melmore Terrace | Old Cromwell Precinct, Cromwell 9310, New Zealand
+64 3-445 0303
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 25 Restaurants in Cromwell
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Here at Armando's Kitchen Italian Cafe' we pride ourselves in serving top quality,locally sourced food. Overlooking Lake Dunstan in Old Cromwell Precinct you can come and sip our delicious coffee or have a full lunch in our beautiful Central Otago surroundings. We offer a light lunch menu and traditional Italian dishes prepared by Chef Armando. Our menu also includes classic New Zealand dishes to please our Kiwi friends. Call in for a coffee or award winning locally produced gelato!
Sydney
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A little gem in sleepy Cromwell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you pass Cromwell, you must have lunch here.

I doubt that this is Central European. It is decidedly Italian, actually!

Food is fresh, value great, service prompt and views to kill for.

What is not to like?

We had a Pizza between my wife and I and a glass of Pinot.

Memorable food - though the Pinot seemed a day old.

This is the kind of place we all need to support.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    10
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I take people to armandos frequently and the food is always excellent and good value for money
check out his coffee machine

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Tapas heaven!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We shared tapas for two and it was plenty for us. It included two bruschetta, hummus with two kinds of bread, a spinach, two zucchini, and feta frittata, one slice of chicken terrine with cherry sauce, four meatballs, and three green-lipped mussels with a couple of slices of chorizo, onions, and peppers. Everything was delicious and I ordered extra bread to soak up the wonderful broth with the mussels. The breads are homemade and for sale. Our Pinot Noir was bottled locally for the restaurant and was fine. Our server, Manea, was young and somehow waited on twenty plus people competently and hospitably. What a lovely evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Wobbly Boot and a fantastic lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Stopped off for lunch mid way through a wine tour. Amazing view from the deck. Brilliant service from Sandra. Well worth the stop.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Glad we had the chance to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We returned to Armando's kitchen and again was simply amazing! The food was top notch and we were treated like royalty!!
Make sure you visit this place while in Cromwell! Thanks armando you were as great as last time ...

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armando's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Armando's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armando's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.