We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely stay! Very quiet and remote.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ardgour Strawbale Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ardgour Strawbale Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Ardgour Strawbale Bed & Breakfast
60 Thomson Gorge Road | Tarras, Ardgour Valley, Cromwell 9383, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Cromwell B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“What a lovely stay! Very quiet and remote.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We rocked up to Cromwell and everything was booked. My husband went into the info centre and they booked us here. We didn't know what expect. Imagine how thrilled we were when we saw the place!

We'd just come off a 2 night hike and were concerned about our appearance but the hosts were totally unfazed by our dirty boots (left outside of course) and piles of laundry.

It's absolutely serene. The views are incredible, there's a few kitties wandering around, the hosts are charming and the bed was incredibly comfortable.

The next morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast before packing up and heading out. We were also allowed to do a big load of laundry the night before which was very helpful!

The rooms are spacious and the straw-bale construction makes them very well insulated.

Room Tip: There's only 4 so any of them are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We made a last minute booking to stay with Irene & Ray, who were both friendly and gave us the space we required. The rooms had everything you need and a wonderful vista overlooking Tarras. Only a stones throw from Wanaka and the neighboring vineyards, Ardgour is well worth a visit. Highlight of our experience was eating fresh raspberries that Irene had picked for breakfast plus enjoying homegrown Ardgour oil, that we could purchase and use as gifts.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altona, Manitoba
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this B&B. Ray & Irene have become special friends to us and were most gracious and accommodating. The food was fabulous! The rooms were beautiful, comfortable and private with a lovely view of a scenic countryside. Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed in Argour Inn during our trip around New Zealand this winter. It was probably the nicest place we visited. The place is worth its price. For the breakfast we had delicious homemade muffins, fresh fruits streight from the garden and much more than that. Rooms are just as its shown on the webside - lovely furniture, fresh flowers in a vase, the collection of tee on a cupboard, equipment useful for making dinner and a lot of pillows on the beds. Seeing our admiration for the view from our window (seemed like Toskania - with its olive trees garden and lavender), the land lady offered us a walk around the country side (for free). I definitely recommend Argour Inn :)
Asia from Poland

Room Tip: I believe there are just two rooms available (for 4 people)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fes, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Ray and Irene have become special friends and are the perfect hosts. Her Indian cooking was spectacular. Rooms are very comfortable and private with gorgeous hilltop views. The Central Otago countryside is ideal for tramping, biking and touring vineyards. Cellar doors offer tasting of pinot noirs on a par with the best French burgundies. Summer open air weekly market in Wanaka is only 30 minutes away. The charming country store and cafe in nearby Tarras (home of Shrek, the famous "woolly" sheep) includes beautiful merino wool goods. And play the Tarras golf course, with fenced greens to keep the sheep off! We come back to Ardgour every year!

Room Tip: Better Wireless Internet in room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southerner
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

Stayed here for 1 night and wish we had stayed longer, we will be back. Deserves a week to explore all there is to offer in the area. Not recommended for people who don't like rural retreats. Owners were friendly but not in your face. Room was luxurious and well worth the money. Huge breakfast provided as a hamper which allowed us to cook our own when we chose and they have great home cooked meals ready to reheat and ingredients if you want to cook an evening meals. We didn't take advantage of that but they looked great. Wonderful views and it would be a good place to use as base to explore the area rather than pack up and move to Wanaka and Queenstown as we did. Sorry we didn't get any photos.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ardgour Strawbale Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgour Strawbale Bed & Breakfast

Address: 60 Thomson Gorge Road | Tarras, Ardgour Valley, Cromwell 9383, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Cromwell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Cromwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a peaceful valley near Tarras in Central Otago, New Zealand. Surrounded by stunning mountain views our delightful semi detached Strawbale cottage overlooks our olive grove and local farmland. It offers privacy in two adjoining, self contained units both with en-suites. 1 hour from Queenstown 20 mins Cromwell 40 mins Wanaka. Ideal for singles, couples, families or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Ardgour Strawbale Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ardgour Strawbale Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.