We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant camp sites and great facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort to your Saves list
Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Corner Stuart & Lasseter Highways | (P.M.B. 25), Erldunda, Northern Territory 0872 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant camp sites and great facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

After traveling up and down the Stuart Highway many times, we have come to expect very little from the roadhouses along the way... So it was a pleasant and unexpected surprise to find such wonderful camp sites... Grassed!! Such a luxury in the desert and certainly not to be taken for granted. I should mention that the unpowered sites are not grassed or formalized but it was quiet and the lovely Asian girl serving us was good enough to let us use one of the powered sites:) the reception was nice and I noticed they had a book exchange / the shower toilet facilities were big and very clean / we camped with kids and it was raining, but there was a sheltered BbQ area and a playground... Very happy campers!! The only complaint I have is that they had a baby bath area so when I took my 1 yr old that night I found the taps not working, no lights... Which is fine, I wasn't expecting a bath anyway but would have been good for them to put a sign on the door saying unavailable. Anyway, only good things to say about the camping experience :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    40
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
17
42
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed in this place because it was listed as "pet friendly". The rooms were very basic and not very clean, but there is little choice. We got there and the staff did not have ANY knowledge about Ayers Rock, the area or whether we could take our dogs on to "The Rock" - not even a phone number of a place we could get this info. The compound had no fence or yard where we could leave the 2 small, house-trained dogs, so we put them in the room while we travelled to the rock. We came back at dusk and were confronted by a very aggressive manager who told us to "clear out" and that he was not going to pay any money back for the 3 nights we paid for. There was absolutely no damage to the room or carpets. Fair enough - we broke a rule, but there was no harm done andyou should not have to worry whether a hotel manager is going to attack you when you go on holidays.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here just one night en route from Alice Springs to Uluru. The site is well-maintained, the shower blocks were clean (although there was a slightly suspect smell some of the time), and the staff were very friendly. We enjoyed the pool, although it was a very quick dip as it was rather cold! Very good value and the perfect place to break the journey.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Desert Oaks Resort stands on the corner of the Stuart and Lasseter Highways about 200 km south of Alice Springs, virtually in the dead centre of Australia. There is a substantial caravan park, 47 motel-style rooms, 12 Backpacker rooms, camping sites, BBQ areas and a substantial laundry with a fair number of lines for hanging ot the washing. There's also a swimming pool and a tennis court. It is also comforting to know that, this far from civilization (I couldn't use my mobile 'phone), there's also a large 'SHELL' service station dispensing all kinds of fuel ($2.00 /litre for unleaded!), a souvenir shop / general store / fast-food outlet and a tavern which served up copious amounts of passable grub. Being almost halfway between the Alice and Ayers Rock (Uluru), the Desert Oaks Resort is actually a great place to use as a base for exploring the Centre of Australia. Our room cost us $112 a night, about a third of what you'd have to fork out at the Yulara resorts. The beds were very comfortable and the room was spacious and clean. The Resort staff were most hospitable, courteous and efficient. The Resort is ideally placed. Ayers Rock and the Olgas are only 260 km away. Kings Canyon is another easy day's round trip. Chambers Pillar and the Henbury Meteorite Crater are also within easy reach. Road signs informed us that the 'WA Boarder' wasn't far away either but we never found out exactly who he or she is.
The Tavern has a wonderful frontier feel about it. The menu is simple, but beware! The food is unpretentious, very tasty and very plentiful. My son loves his food and rarely leaves anything uneaten but here he had to concede defeat a number of times. The wine list was adequate and by no means expensive, but after a day's driving in some of the most stunning scenery in the world, the Tavern is a more than satisfactory haven. The only drawback is that there's only one T.V. channel which only seemed to show AFL games. But, then, you don't go all the way to Erldunda just to sit around watching television.

Room Tip: Booking online is probably the best way to go. South-facing rooms are the coolest - don't get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here after a long days drive and what a delight. The pub meal was huge and the staff and service were great. A very friendly night was had meeting other travellers who provided great advice for our upcoming tour of Gibb river rd, over a few cold drinks. The price here is a lot cheaper than at Uluru. This is located on the turn off and you can refuel at a very reasonable price. It was very cold at night here so we kept warm in a lovely room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Friendly staff. Clean, comfortable rooms. Over-priced down the road at the resort so we elected to stay here. Booked a room in the morning then set off for Kings Canyon for the day. Excellent jump point for Uluru also. Pub meal of oversized portions was excellent. Undergoing renovations but this did not disrupt the bar/meal area.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Camped overnight at a powered site. Lovely to find it grassed after a night in the Coober Pedy sand. Had dinner at the diner and was a great feed. Amenities not the flashest but did the job - clean. Busy spot so need to get in early

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort

Address: Corner Stuart & Lasseter Highways | (P.M.B. 25), Erldunda, Northern Territory 0872 , Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Erldunda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Erldunda
Hotel Class:3 star — Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erldunda Desert Oaks Hotel Erldunda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erldunda Desert Oaks Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.