We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at this lovely resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Ensenachos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayo Ensenachos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iberostar Ensenachos
Save
You added Iberostar Ensenachos to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Villa Clara, 52700, Cuba (Formerly Royal Hideaway Ensenachos)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cayo Ensenachos
Stettler, Canada
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stay at this lovely resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

If going to Cayo Santa Maria Cuba make sure you stay at this lovely resort-well kept grounds,
clean-lovely towel art, Food good. I say this because it is rated as a 5 star but should be higher
if compared to Memories next door. We had a flight delay and after a long night sleeping on the
floor in a Cuba airport we were bused back to Memories to sleep for the day and fly out that
night. Memories was not a pleasant experience. The grounds were not maintained, food not
good-very run day. This is rated as a 5 star but should be more like a 3. Also keep in mind
that the bus trip from Santa Clara airport is one hour and forty five minutes, Our travel book says
55 minutes-noticeable when taking tours or flight delays and are bused backed. Glad we
had this delay to experience Memories where we appreciated our travel agent picking a very
good resort, friendly and went out to make us comfortable

Room Tip: If you dont like all the walking go to front of lobby and they will be more than helpful to give yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear traveler1907,


First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Ensenachos for your so valuable vacations.

Thank you very much for your good comments and reviews about the hotel, staff and services, opinions like yours are very important to keep working every day to exceed the expectations of our customers and achieve ever greater improvement of our staff.

Hoping that you do decide to visit us in the future please accept our best regards

Carefully

Brenda Correa
General Manager
IBEROSTAR Ensenachos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,394
    946
    374
    153
    67
See reviews for
708
1,688
40
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed on a second-floor room in the Adults-Only "spa" area. This side of the resort was pretty quiet, maybe somewhat due to the lower demand at the start of the season (just before Xmas). In fact, between the room's air conditioning, the beautiful foliage outside our balcony, and the fountain in the middle of the courtyard, it was a white noise paradise.

The beach was gorgeous and we found a little spot away from the main crowd, where we could still sit in chairs and watch the pelicans hunt and generally survey the action (catamarans, swimmers, generally laid back crowd).

I was surprised at how many people bring young children (in the Main area of the resort), but they were generally well-behaved and the resort is so well taken care of and so spread out, it's really a cut above so many of the others we've been to.

Our room, a junior suite, exceeded what we expected with a large bathroom, & very spacious with a large walk in closet.

We also found the food great and as usual only booked the a la carte evenings in the restaurants a couple of times for variety. The buffet is generally a better bet for flexibility & food. The dining area is very large and elegant and more removed from the fray of the buffet than many other resorts. I won't list the many great things about the buffet. If you're looking for cartoonishly "6 star over the top" buffet then you could be 'disappointed', and seasonally they will not have as many local green veg and fruits in Dec. - but you can always find a huge selection if you work at it. Fresh caught tuna and fish, grilled to order, would be all many people need. Have this or any number of other choices.

Don't bother with the gym until they renovate it -- you should be outside anyway. Service here was either overly attentive or completely passive with the guy watching soccer on a break from the spa. Either way, annoying to have a staff presence that is a rather unhelpful one for a tiny little gym. (One of the few annoying things about the resort, so many other good things to say, they far outweigh this.)

We enjoyed a couple of side trips - powerboats + snorkeling, and a mountain hike (3.5 hr. bus ride for the latter, but worth it).

It seemed like everyone -- guests and staff alike -- were in pretty good spirits. We had a great experience and felt the need to tell you about it, to balance out any unjust reviews that may pop up. This place is *very well kept* with *beautiful* grounds, and it is not old. The fact that it is somewhat established just makes it prettier.

Room Tip: You owe it to yourself to try the Adult Only section if you do not have children. Here, the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Andrew G,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to express your opinions and thank you for letting us know. Our clients’ comments are very important to us and we sincerely value them. They will assist us in better serving our guests in the future. I will make sure that this comments get all the departments at the resort.
We hope to have you again among us.

Regards,

Brenda Correa
General Manager
IBEROSTAR Ensenachos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were at the Iberostar Ensenachos Dec.09-16th for our first visit to this resort. Have been to Cuba 15 times & by far this was our best holiday. The resort grounds are beautiful & well maintained. The beach’s are the best we have seen – easy to walk on & shallow for a good distance. The staff were very friendly & always greeted you with a smile. This was the first resort who replied to us regarding our room requests. Very professional & they did meet our requests.
We stayed in the Park section Bldg # 41 – located close to the main pool & walkway to the beach. The room was large & well appointed. No issues at all with the room. The food selection was the best we have experienced in Cuba. Lots of variety at the buffet & lunch restaurants. The Seafood a-la-carte was very good.
We hope to bring our grandson next time as he would really enjoy the water park/play ground – nicest facility we have seen in Cuba.
Will definitely return to this resort. Lives up to the 5 star rating

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Pntario Geordigirl,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Ensenachos we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us, will be always a pleasure to have you here with us.

Wish you all the best,

Brenda Correa
General Manager
IBEROSTAR Ensenachos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Husband and I spent 1 week, from December 23, and were particularly delighted with anybody who worked at the resort in whatever capacity they worked. Comparing to other resorts in Cuba, the food was very good. Meals were available is several locations, with more choices, variety at the main dining room of the main building. Beef is never a good option in Cuba, as it always comes out tough. However both chicken and fish are excellent choices.

To ensure your expectations are well met, attend the orientation provided by your Tour company, as a lot of information is provided at that time and will eliminate frustration.

Beaches were simply beautiful and bars and food available at both of them.

I cut my finger. Serious enough that it required attention .Unfortunately I could not obtain medical attention or the opportunity to buy even a simple bandage. Therefore my advice to the hotel a medical person or First Aid area with a trained personal should be at the resort.

Room Tip: If you travel as a family, book a room in "Park Suite" If you are a couple only "Spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Luise T,

Thank you so much for taking part of your time and write us about your recent stay at Iberostar Ensenachos, we appreciate all your comments, we love that you have been a wonderful stay here among us, we work hard in order to all our guests feel themselves like home. I will keep on eye with the First Aid issue, it shopuldnt happened and thanks per let me know.
We hope to have you again among us in the future.

Regards,

Brenda Correa
General Manager
IBEROSTAR Ensenachos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We feel at home at the Iberostar. We stayed from Dec 20 to Dec 27. Again we can find no fault here. The food was very good especially Chrismas eve. All the staff is outstanding and professional. We did not find a decline in maintenance in the complex. The grounds have grown beautiful. We stayed on the spa side (adults only) not that we don't enjoy kids but it gives us a choice. We enjoyed watching the kids on the beach playing in the ocean and collecting shells. Santa did come to Iberostar to the delight of all the kids and some parents as well. I have attached a picture of a couple of his helpers Damarys and Adonis (spa bar) The resort staff is busy replacing the shade on the beach removed by Sandy. The nightly shows were spectacular as usual. Besides being a great resort it is like coming home as we have made great friends with the staff. They treat us like family. To name the staff that treat us so well would take a full page of names. Now the spa bar. This was our afternoon spot to enjoy a few beers and meet new people. It is the best gathering place with the amazing Santa helpers Damarys and Adonis. If you are not comfortable with children around I too suggest you spend more and go to a couples only resort. We wish Stefano the best in his next posting and welcome Brenda to Iberostar Ensenachos. We are confident that she will continue the excellence of this resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Bob G,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Ensenachos we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. I will forward your comments to Damaris and Adonis so they will now that their work make the difference in your vacations. Also thanks per your kind words for me I will try to do my best to work with this amazing team to make the hotel in the best of CSM. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best,

Brenda Correa
General Manager
IBEROSTAR Ensenachos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed for the third time in November/2012. First time was Royal Hideaway. We thought we had found paradise after the first time. Second time Feb/2012 still good but declining. After our third trip, we will not go back. We stayed in the Grand Village suites. There has been a strong decline in the maintenance of the pools, buildings and general grounds. The staff are wonderful and the beach is one of the best in the world I believe but this resort is no longer geared to luxury and is a Cuban 4 star at best.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Hockeyaunt,

On behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Ensenachos we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We hope that you can give us another chance in the next future at thos hotel or in another IBEROSTAR Hotel.

Regards,

Brenda Correa
General Manager
IBEROSTAR Ensenachos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We spent 7 days at the resort: December 20 - December 27 2012.
The beach is the best ever, the water clear (I've been snorkeling for hours), the staff very nice and the grounds extensive and well maintained; one feel like walking into an immense botanical garden.
I warmly recommend the place.


The only sore to the eye were the too many cats.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear ConferenceParticipant,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Ensenachos we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best,

Brenda Correa
General Manager
IBEROSTAR Ensenachos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Ensenachos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Ensenachos

Address: Villa Clara, 52700, Cuba (Formerly Royal Hideaway Ensenachos)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cayo Ensenachos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cayo Ensenachos
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Ensenachos 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the impressive Cayo Ensenachos, Cayo Ensenachos brings all the Cuban flavour to some of the most exclusive Caribbean beaches. Holidays in Cayo Ensenachos are always great. The area features two exclusive, beautiful and quite unknown beaches. Kilometres of golden sand waiting for you and facing the turquoise-shaded ocean. Two of the beaches are bound to captivate you: Megano and Ensenachos. The heavenly beaches and the luxury hotels and resorts in Cayo Ensenachos, offer anything you might think of. Rest is only one of the attractions you'll enjoy if you spend your holidays in Cayo Ensenachos, one of Cuba's most exclusive destinations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iberostar Ensenachos Hotel Cayo Ensenachos
Occidental Royal Hideaway Ensenachos Cayo
Royal Hideaway Ensenachos
Occidental Royal Hideaway Ensenachos Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Ensenachos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.