We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Cuba Hotel standard - rates very good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Ensenachos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayo Ensenachos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iberostar Ensenachos
Save
You added Iberostar Ensenachos to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Villa Clara, 52700, Cuba (Formerly Royal Hideaway Ensenachos)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cayo Ensenachos
Grimsby, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“For Cuba Hotel standard - rates very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Husband and I spent 1 week, from December 23, and were particularly delighted with anybody who worked at the resort in whatever capacity they worked. Comparing to other resorts in Cuba, the food was very good. Meals were available is several locations, with more choices, variety at the main dining room of the main building. Beef is never a good option in Cuba, as it always comes out tough. However both chicken and fish are excellent choices.

To ensure your expectations are well met, attend the orientation provided by your Tour company, as a lot of information is provided at that time and will eliminate frustration.

Beaches were simply beautiful and bars and food available at both of them.

I cut my finger. Serious enough that it required attention .Unfortunately I could not obtain medical attention or the opportunity to buy even a simple bandage. Therefore my advice to the hotel a medical person or First Aid area with a trained personal should be at the resort.

Room Tip: If you travel as a family, book a room in "Park Suite" If you are a couple only "Spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Luise T,

Thank you so much for taking part of your time and write us about your recent stay at Iberostar Ensenachos, we appreciate all your comments, we love that you have been a wonderful stay here among us, we work hard in order to all our guests feel themselves like home. I will keep on eye with the First Aid issue, it shopuldnt happened and thanks per let me know.
We hope to have you again among us in the future.

Regards,

Brenda Correa
General Manager
IBEROSTAR Ensenachos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,394
    945
    374
    153
    67
See reviews for
708
1,688
40
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We feel at home at the Iberostar. We stayed from Dec 20 to Dec 27. Again we can find no fault here. The food was very good especially Chrismas eve. All the staff is outstanding and professional. We did not find a decline in maintenance in the complex. The grounds have grown beautiful. We stayed on the spa side (adults only) not that we don't enjoy kids but it gives us a choice. We enjoyed watching the kids on the beach playing in the ocean and collecting shells. Santa did come to Iberostar to the delight of all the kids and some parents as well. I have attached a picture of a couple of his helpers Damarys and Adonis (spa bar) The resort staff is busy replacing the shade on the beach removed by Sandy. The nightly shows were spectacular as usual. Besides being a great resort it is like coming home as we have made great friends with the staff. They treat us like family. To name the staff that treat us so well would take a full page of names. Now the spa bar. This was our afternoon spot to enjoy a few beers and meet new people. It is the best gathering place with the amazing Santa helpers Damarys and Adonis. If you are not comfortable with children around I too suggest you spend more and go to a couples only resort. We wish Stefano the best in his next posting and welcome Brenda to Iberostar Ensenachos. We are confident that she will continue the excellence of this resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Bob G,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Ensenachos we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. I will forward your comments to Damaris and Adonis so they will now that their work make the difference in your vacations. Also thanks per your kind words for me I will try to do my best to work with this amazing team to make the hotel in the best of CSM. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best,

Brenda Correa
General Manager
IBEROSTAR Ensenachos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed for the third time in November/2012. First time was Royal Hideaway. We thought we had found paradise after the first time. Second time Feb/2012 still good but declining. After our third trip, we will not go back. We stayed in the Grand Village suites. There has been a strong decline in the maintenance of the pools, buildings and general grounds. The staff are wonderful and the beach is one of the best in the world I believe but this resort is no longer geared to luxury and is a Cuban 4 star at best.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Hockeyaunt,

On behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Ensenachos we would like to thank you for your review. However, we feel sorry that our hotel was not up to your expectation. We assure you that improvement, in all our services are an ongoing process and our priority is guest satisfaction. We hope that you can give us another chance in the next future at thos hotel or in another IBEROSTAR Hotel.

Regards,

Brenda Correa
General Manager
IBEROSTAR Ensenachos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We spent 7 days at the resort: December 20 - December 27 2012.
The beach is the best ever, the water clear (I've been snorkeling for hours), the staff very nice and the grounds extensive and well maintained; one feel like walking into an immense botanical garden.
I warmly recommend the place.


The only sore to the eye were the too many cats.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear ConferenceParticipant,

On a behalf of the staff and management here at Iberostar Ensenachos we would like to thank you for your nice review. We all are hardworking people always seeking the best for all our clients. Should you choose our hotel, or some other Iberostar Hotels, for your next vacation, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Wish you all the best,

Brenda Correa
General Manager
IBEROSTAR Ensenachos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We just returned from Iberostar Ensenachos this morning and already missed it.
We have been in Mexico, Dominican and Cuba before but this last one was very memorable.
We went there with low expectation on Food and facility but in both account this resort exceeded our expectation. I am not saying the food is better than a 5 star resorts in DR or Mexico, it is better than what we expected in Cuba.
My 9 and 5 years old kids loved it very much.
Go have fun, get involved make friends and be like a Honey Bee...see flowers and goodies..forget about few little grey spots.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda C, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Taha2006,

Thank you so much for taking part of your time and write us about your recent stay at Iberostar Ensenachos, we appreciate all your comments, we love that you have been a wonderful stay here among us, we work hard in order to all our guests feel themselves like home. We hope to have you again among us in the future and offer you even a better service.

Regards,

Brenda Correa
General Manager
IBEROSTAR Ensenachos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Repentigny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were at the Royal Hydeway twice, and to the Ibérostar one and last, in March 2012.

The hotel has twice customers compare to RH. But they didn't adjust.

1 toaster for the hole resort, food at the buffet; plates where almost empty most of the time.
Good thing we brought peanut butter. The same for all food.

It wasn't as clean as Rh either.

Too bad, because a lot of the staff from RH are still there and it is the only good thing about Iberostar.

I contacted the manager by email before we get there, the answer where fine. I was asking for little things. But when you get there, forget it, you feel like the direction doesn’t care about customer.

For the second week, we went to Melia Buenavista, a lot cleaner and everything was better.
• Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano B, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Pavotrouge,

On behalf of Iberostar Ensenachos we appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed your vacation and we will consider your suggestions in order to improve our service.In the hotel we do have the SPA sector where it is only adults but in all common areas of the hotel beside Villas children are allowed so if you like to be around adults Melia Buenavista it is a good option.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Brenda Correa
General Manager
IBEROSTAR Ensenachos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just came back after visiting Cuba for the first time.

This trip was by far the best one.

Few facts for your consideration (both pros and cons):

Very nice natural setting: huge and well maintained park, nice beach ...

Food is not the best but better as compared with other Cuban resorts I visited.

Staff is very polite; nobody is trying to extort tips.

Customer service is poor. They tend to lie and fail to perform even the simplest duties (like making a wakeup call on request).

Hopefully that would help you in making the right choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefano B, General Manager at Iberostar Ensenachos, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Garry K,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to express your opinions and thank you for letting us know. Our clients’ comments are very important to us and we sincerely value them. They will assist us in better serving our guests in the future. I will make sure that this comments get all the departments at the resort.
We apologize for all your inconveniences and we appreciate all your comments, because allow us to improve our services and we work hard in order to all our guests feel themselves like home. We hope to have you again among us, to provide you the service you deserve.

Regards,

Brenda Correa
General Manager
IBEROSTAR Ensenachos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Ensenachos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Ensenachos

Address: Villa Clara, 52700, Cuba (Formerly Royal Hideaway Ensenachos)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Cayo Ensenachos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cayo Ensenachos
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Ensenachos 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the impressive Cayo Ensenachos, Cayo Ensenachos brings all the Cuban flavour to some of the most exclusive Caribbean beaches. Holidays in Cayo Ensenachos are always great. The area features two exclusive, beautiful and quite unknown beaches. Kilometres of golden sand waiting for you and facing the turquoise-shaded ocean. Two of the beaches are bound to captivate you: Megano and Ensenachos. The heavenly beaches and the luxury hotels and resorts in Cayo Ensenachos, offer anything you might think of. Rest is only one of the attractions you'll enjoy if you spend your holidays in Cayo Ensenachos, one of Cuba's most exclusive destinations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iberostar Ensenachos Hotel Cayo Ensenachos
Occidental Royal Hideaway Ensenachos Cayo
Royal Hideaway Ensenachos
Occidental Royal Hideaway Ensenachos Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Ensenachos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.