We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic family resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elmhirst's Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Elmhirst's Resort to your Saves list
Elmhirst's Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1045 Settlers Line, Keene, Otonabee-South Monaghan, Ontario K0L 2G0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Keene
London, Ontario
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Classic family resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014 via mobile

This is a well-run resort in a classic lake-front location. The grounds are very attractive, organized and well-maintained. There are nature trails on the property, bicycles, a games room, boats and fishing equipment for rent, water cycles, swimming in the lake or the indoor and outdoor pool, and of course the wonderful views of the lake. The main lodge is new and very modern and attractive with a large conference room. The lodge has very impressive views of the lake, especially from the dining room.
Accommodation is in individual cabins with either two, three or four bedrooms. They are well-separated, with small decks, kitchens, barbecues and views of the lake. Decor is rustic, carpets are a little on the worn and grungy side which is typical for this style of accommodation. Bathrooms are small but functional. All cabins have fireplaces with a free supply of firewood. A great place to relax with a family or group of friends or a fishing trip.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Owner at Elmhirst's Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
Thanks very much for leaving such a comprehensive posting. We were very happy to hear you found your cottage comfortable and you enjoyed so many different experiences at Elmhirst's. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    25
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
29
18
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Went to our usual resort for "girls weekend" Maintenance was needed Clean rooms were non existent , Broken appliances Dirty tables. Broken furniture . The one person we spoke to was however pleasant .looking elsewhere for next year .

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMktg, Manager at Elmhirst's Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
Difficult to respond as we have no indication of which cottage was so disappointing. All reviews are taken personally by the 46 employees who work towards making each guest stay a positive experience. We regret we were not informed of your concerns during the weekend. Pleaase contact Guest Services ( wilma@elmhirst.com) should you wish to provide details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Girls weekend at Elmhirst. Toothpaste stains on the faucets, dried food on the counter, tumbleweeds of hair on the floor. Wads of food in the dishwasher. And this was on arrival.
And this is not new, but in fact the trend I have found every year we come up. The grounds are beautiful, the cottage view excellent. But for the cost, which increases with every occupant, I would like to think that funds could be diverted to sprucing up the worn out cottages, with their peeling paint, chipped bathroom tile, and unkempt interior. I keep trying to convince the girls to go elsewhere, but the location is convenient...

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Owner at Elmhirst's Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2014
It took us a long time to decide how to respond to this posting. Because we are a 5 generation family business we take feedback from our guests seriously and sometimes a little personally.

I'm sorry you found your stay so completely wanting. We do our best to stay close enough to our guests to be prepared for guest arrival, gather feedback during the stay to be sure we are on course, and be proactive in seeking impressions when bidding farewell. This posting came as quite a surprise to us as we received no adverse feedback to our knowledge during your stay. Our attempts to reach out for more information about when and where you stayed to address these concerns have not been successful. .

We have read with sincere concern the checkered postings about Elmhirst's in the last couple of months. To address concerns in the lower rated posts we have made changes to products and procedures used in the rooms, added new inspection procedures, and refined guest contact points while guests are on site. For years I have personally inspected each cottage at least once weekly for housekeeping and maintenance quality.

We are a proud family business with decades of warm guest relationships. If the experience at Elmhirst's Resort is truly reflected in your post our experience in hospitality must have taught us very little. We have had adverse feedback before (we have been here for 110 years after all), we have had guests who just didn't want the experience we were trying to offer. Listening to guests and trying anticipate their needs or to address their concerns has never failed us before to my knowledge however. This is reflected in the many positive reviews we receive and in many other card, letters and calls from our guests.

Sincerely....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

This was the second year in a row that we had our annual "family-camp" at Elmhirst. The rooms are always clean and excellent. They should probably expand their check in/out area as both visits for us have involved spending a bit more time than should be expected. Don't know about the dinning area, as we always bring all our own food and beverages. The cabins are always well stalked with the essentials. And the view and the grounds are excellent as well. A big bonus for us is the fact that Bellmere Winds Golf Club is just 2 minutes away. It's not a cheap weekend though.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

I have gone to Elmirst's Resort several times over the past few years. You can't beat the location! Situated on Rice Lake, just south of Peterborough, the view and the ambiance can't be beaten. I noticed this time that they had done some renovations which were a much needed improvement.

But the dining room was a big disappointment. We were there for their Sunday brunch. First, the table cloth was filthy with food stains from the customer before us.. The tables all had orchid plants on then and ours had one long stem with two dead flowers hanging ready to drop. We took in upon ourselves to place the plant on the floor beside our table.

For some reason, the staff don't offer alcoholic drinks and so come right away with coffee. Our ordering of drinks was a fiasco since some of them didn't arrive, others arrived half way through the meal and the one coke that was ordered was flat and not drunk.

The food for the most part was very appealing and tasty. However, the heat under the chaffing dishes with the Eggs Benedict, scrambled eggs and french toast was out and the food in those dishes was stone cold.

While the staff were quite friendly, they seemed inexperienced and confused as to what they were doing. Obviously, due to the fact that we have Victorian liquor laws in Ontario, there were a couple of staffers who when we asked for a drink, had to find someone else who was older to take the order! Thus the delay.

It is unfortunate that this kind of service exists at this lovely location. Why I keep going back, I don't know because I have experienced this before but never written a review on Tripadvisor. Perhaps, since the owner seems to be reading this, action will be taken to improve things.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

I stayed in a two-bedroom cottage at Elmhirst's Resort with a girl friend of mine in early fall. It sits in the north shore of Rice Lake, one of best fishing destination in Southern Ontario. The cottage is clean and bright. The view is excellent and serene. What impressed me most is what they all "Elmhirst's blend" which is a type of herb tea boiled with three types of fresh herb picked from their hiking trail: Catnip, Yarrow and Raspberry leaves. It created amazing flavor and taste that I never tried in my life. I rated the tea itself five star as well!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Owner at Elmhirst's Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Thanks you so much for sharing your experience! We tried to offer a greater variety and quality of recreation opportunities this summer and Kim's edible plant tour and tea making was definitely a hit!

We so glad you enjoyed yourselves!

Hope to see you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Room rates and activity rates are priced way too high. Front desk is very unorganized. Wedding planner is great, but doesn't have the support staff to back him up. Food is hit and miss. Mostly miss. Unfortunate considering it's a beautiful spot and could be awesome.

Room Tip: Certain cottages are MUCH better than others. Good ones we saw: 32, 31, 30, 29, 28, 27, 26, 10. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg E, Owner at Elmhirst's Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Hello, and thank you for your posting. I'm sorry your experience at Elmhirst's did not meet your price/value expectations. It would be extremely helpful to me to hear what some of the hits and some of the misses were. I would be grateful to hear from you if the opportunity presents itself at gfe@elmhirst.com.

Hope to hear from you soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elmhirst's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmhirst's Resort

Address: 1045 Settlers Line, Keene, Otonabee-South Monaghan, Ontario K0L 2G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Otonabee-South Monaghan > Keene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmhirst's Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside cottage resort open year round. Fully equipped cottages with fireplace, kitchen, TV & DVD, internet; BBQ deck & dock. Dining room & Pub on site; indoor & outdoor pools; boat & motor rentals; fishing guides; golf next door; tennis; sightseeing flights; horseback riding; walking & biking trails. Massages & Spa services. Guided ATV & snowmobile safaris; wine tasting & farm visits. Ideal for family vacations, getaways, weddings, groups & corporate meetings. Family owned & operated. Catering to international guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Elmhirst's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmhirst`s Hotel Keene
Elmhirsts Hotel Keene
Elmhirst's Resort Ontario/Keene, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elmhirst's Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.