We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great experience and lots for the kids to do.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highland View Resort

Save Saved
You added Highland View Resort to your Saves list
Highland View Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland View Resort
751 Brazeau Lane RR 3, Keene, Otonabee-South Monaghan, Ontario K0L 2G0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Keene
1 review
“What a great experience and lots for the kids to do.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have stayed at Highland View Resort several times. The staff are very helpful and friendly, cottages are clean with everything you would need and the salt water pool is amazing! Oh,and what a view of the lake. Our kids love it there,with parks,volleyball,goats and a donkey,they always have something to do!. Mike and Art run a great resort. Thank you for a vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    0
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We just got back from this resort and my family and I were terribly disappointed. First off, we originally booked it approx 1 week prior and one day before going there we receive our booking confirmation with a higher, completely different price. The cottages are clean, however the resort pics are deceiving, the splash pool for the kids was all green and swampy, the pool is apparently only heated by solar therefore was absolutely freezing, our kitchen sink leaked water and we were constantly cleaning up the water on the floor. Also, the second day we had no hot water....not sure what happened but we had to bathe the kids with cold freezing water. When I called and brought up some of these problems the staff was not helpful, all I heard for everything was it is beyond our control. There much better resorts out there and for less money, we will never be going there again. Not recommended in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Booked for Canada Day 2014. When we originally booked we were quoted a different price. The only way we came aware of this was when our friends called to reserve, they were quoted a different price (thank goodness they didn't book). When we followed up with Mike the owner/operator to confirm this prior to our check-in, he admitted to his mistake but did not honor the original price quoted. As we had made family plans for the week-end and did not want to disappoint our kids, we ended up following through with the reservation.

The cottage we were given (3 bdrm) was small. We were two families with 2 children each under the age of 6 and we hardly had room to move. The walls were splatted with insects, corners full of webs, dust all over dishes and shelves. We ran out of hot water after one child had a quick rinse. When the water (exterior) was turned on to the cottage, it was spewing out of the hose ---- mosquito heaven!! Pool temperature was cold (solar heated). The splash pad was out of order, "it broke, it's out of our control" we were told. No customer service at all.

Save yourself the disappointment!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike A, Owner at Highland View Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I have reviewed the housekeeping procedures with our cleaning staff and an audit of the other units has been undertaken in order to insure that procedures are being followed.
Our cottages are small compared to city homes, this is why we limit the number of people including children in them. I believe your reservation was for 6 persons and this is the maximum number of persons including children, allowed in our three bedroom units. I agree 8 persons (four adults and four children), especially young children under 6 years of age would create a space problem. One of our 4 bedroom units would have been more suitable as they are actually homes with 2 full bathrooms but there is an additional cost. Some cottages can handle 1 extra person but there is an extra person charge applied to the total. I see that there were no extra person charges applied.
Our pool is solar heated and we rely on Mother Nature to do her thing but this year she is a little fickle. The weather this year hasn’t cooperated. Our fountain pool required painting and repairs. We have agreed with the contractor to forego painting till next year and put the pool into service immediately.
The water line shut off valve to the cottage was leaking however, it was not spewing water. If that were the case it would have been changed immediately. The inconvenience of running out of water would have been worse than inconveniencing everyone for about an hour or so. In the country we do not have a city water system. Water is a limited commodity.
Our colonies of Purple Martins consume as many mosquitoes as possible but at this time of year especially after dark and before dusk they are out there. That is one of the 'joys' of country living.
Once again I thank you for your criticism and your complaint has not fallen on deaf ears. Your concerns were taken seriously and have been reviewed with the other staff members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My family and I have spent many summer vacations up at highland view resort. We know when we book our cottage that we will have nothing to worry about. The cottages are alway very clean and well kept. We have rented boats from there and have never had a problem with any of the equipment. The staff are super friendly especially Mike and Art! The pool is wonderful and nightly campfires are a family favorite. The pet goats are a big hit with the kids too. We wouldn't go anywhere else. We will be going back soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I happened to see a negative review by Fishing B and I had to respond. My family has spent numerous vacations at Highland View Resort over the years and we have ALWAYS had a fabulous time. We have just returned from yet another vacation there. The cottages are well-kept and maintained. The grounds are spectacular, the facilities and equipment are plentiful and always in good repair. The staff are courteous, friendly and extremely helpful- especially the owner Mike. He is always available with a smile to help make your vacation memorable. We even attended a wedding there several years ago and it was one of the most beautiful weddings ever. Don't let a negative review turn you away from a wonderful vacation. Highland View Resort is a great choice for you and your family. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My friends and I were there yesterday for fishing. We rent a boat there and the motor was not working well, their staffs helped us 30 minutes and we finally got the motor started. After 15 minutes, the motor was dead by itself. We were stuck in the middle of the lake.....

After all these horrible things, the manager Mike refused to return our $200 for the whole day boat rentals, and threat to charge us for the damages, even though when his staff Scott told us and him that it is not our fault for the motor and he watched us while we were on the water - we did nothing wrong on the water. Mike still charged us $1500 for the boat damage!!!!!!!!!!!!! and he threated us that he will charge more!!!!!

We ended up calling the police, and before the police arrived, Mike sent his staff (the witness) home to avoid seeing the police officers and kicked us out from his "perimeters".

There was another group of people there on the same day, they made a reservation for another boat, but when they arrived after 2 hours driving, they were told that the boat they reserved was sent to repairshop in the morning!!!!!!

Stay away from this resort!!!!! Don't let it ruin your vacation!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Highland View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland View Resort

Address: 751 Brazeau Lane RR 3, Keene, Otonabee-South Monaghan, Ontario K0L 2G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Otonabee-South Monaghan > Keene
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Keene
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Highland View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland View Resort Ontario/Keene, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highland View Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.