We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nova Scotia's Most Unique Campground” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mermaid & The Cow Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scotsburn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mermaid & The Cow Campground
Save
You added The Mermaid & The Cow Campground to your Saves list
1370 Scotsburn Rd, R.R. #1 | West Branch River John, Scotsburn, Nova Scotia B0K 1R0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Nova Scotia's Most Unique Campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The Mermaid and the Cow calls to a diversity of campers. For those who love nature, farms, green spaces it is ideal. The pool is clean and refreshing. The ocean is a 10 minute drive.
I love the quiet tranquility and the extra-ordinary hospitality at this lovingly tended campground.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Moncton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Recently spent 4 nights at Mermaid & The Cow, and definetly plan to return. Loved everything about our stay. Tucked away in beautiful rural Nova Scotia, few minutes from Pictou. We were warmly greated and attended to by Jane (and Susan), passionate about ensuring her guests are happy, comfortable, and truly passionate about looking after her hobby farm (cattle, sheep, chickens, turkeys) part of the premises; Jane will gladly invite you to the barn to meet her animals. Whether you sit at your campsite, walk around the grounds, lay be the pool, the country setting and the view is amazing, tranquille, calming. The property is well kept, clean. In the morning, you may be awaken by the rooster, or the mooing of a cow, after a night of sound sleep and country breeze, from the quietness of the country setting. At night by the fire, you will see the sky and gaze at the stars as you've never seen them, with the pure darkness of the area. The rolling hills on the site and the well preserved trees offer beauty and shade, and great for photography. Washrooms are immaculate, the pool is clean and refreshing. We took in some hicking, into the trails accessible on the property, developed by Jane over the years. Jane suggested a great biking trail (11 km loop from the site) that we enjoyed on a fresh morning, where we saw dear, beautiful kept farms and properties along a gravelled country road. Jane suggested we try the "Sugar Moon Farm" for a pancake / sausage & maple syrup breakfast, just a few minutes away - was awsome! This campground is definetly out of the ordinary, in all positive aspects, where you will definetly unplug, relax, enjoy nature, enjoy the fresh air, the country setting, and live an amazing camping experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We found this place accidentally when bad weather forced us away from the coast. What a treat! I only wish we could have spent longer there. Charming, varied landscape, beautifully kept, with a fun smattering of pigs and cows, but also 3 beaver dams out back that are easily accessible, and a fun little trail through the berch woods. A perfect mix of wild and tame. The owners were fantastic - friendly but not intrusive, happy to show us around if we were curious. The whole farm is beautifully kept up, and the bathrooms were gorgeous. We never even used the pool. Wow. We were almost the only ones there. Recommended hands-down to anyone in the Tatamagoush region. Skip the coast and go inland. Not even expensive! The owner let us stay in the screened-in gazebo out of the rain, which was spacious and looked out over the rolling hills and forests. A highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: If it's raining, ask if you can stay in the covered, screen-in gazebo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McNeal, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Mermaid and the Cow has been our summer "home away from home" for the past 3 years.
Jane, the proprietor, is helpful and informative-well beyond anything I have experienced in all my camping years. Her spacious, bucolic landscape is meticulously maintained, as are all the facilities (pool, wash house, screened activities center, sites, etc.)
As a retired teacher, I value Jane's eagerness to share her vast farm knowledge and experience, especially with children.
If you are looking for a quiet, pristine, "green" campground/RV park - this is the place to choose to experience Nova Scotia's natural beauty!

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I absolutely recommend this ideal spot. It is so scenic, so peaceful, so clean, and reasonable too.
The campground exceeded any expectations I had. The owner is 100% genuinely kind and helpful.
I adored the heated pool and glorious views , walking paths, a stream, and farm setting. I wish I'd stayed longer.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My partner and I stumbled onto this gem in 2012 when all the "regular" campgrounds were packed for the New Glasgow music festival. Being LGBT friendly (friends and family), we felt we would be comfortable, and we received the warmest welcome we have ever gotten at any of the dozens of campsites we have stayed at in Canada. The location is lovely, the facilties are above and beyond, and Jane and Susan are the greatest. Excellent value to boot. Plus, for those with kids, it is a working farm, and not far from a great beach and golf. This year, it was a "destination" and we came from Toronto. There is also a really cute cottage, a pool, a huge screened in gazebo with electricity. They are set up for groups, too. You will NOT be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I don’t usually seek out LGBT venues but found ourselves at the M&C on a holiday weekend having a most fabulous time! With its pastoral setting this campground is a true getaway that revealed itself to be a productive birding spot as well.

And if you enjoy meeting interesting people, spend some time with Jane. She is a fascinating woman with a passion for life.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotsburn
17.5 mi away
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
#2 of 3 in New Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
17.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow
18.7 mi away
Tara Inn
Tara Inn
#1 of 3 in New Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow
#3 of 3 in New Glasgow
3.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
18.7 mi away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
6.5 mi away
Smith Rock Chalets
Smith Rock Chalets
#2 of 2 in Scotsburn
5.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid & The Cow Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid & The Cow Campground

Address: 1370 Scotsburn Rd, R.R. #1 | West Branch River John, Scotsburn, Nova Scotia B0K 1R0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Scotsburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Scotsburn
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farm and forest destination campground situated in the middle of an operating hobby farm that includes a legacy forest of white pine and hemlock. Learn about farm animals and enjoy beautiful walking trails. Ten RV sites with 20 amp elec and water, and 25 spacious tenting sites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mermaid & The Cow Campground Scotsburn, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mermaid & The Cow Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.