We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at the Eagle View Guest House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eagle View Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Eagle View Guest House to your Saves list
Eagle View Guest House
Perth Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic stay at the Eagle View Guest House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Eagle View Guest House for 3 nights over the Easter weekend. We booked it as we wanted to be close to the Cairngorm Mounain for skiing (about 20 - 30 mins drive away). The room was very nice with a flat screen TV and en-suite facilities. The guest house was tastefully decorated throughout and felt really cosy. There was a lounge with a wood burner which was great to relax in after a day skiing. The breakfast was very good and there was a choice of what to eat. The owners John & Moira were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
73
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I chose Eagle View because of the other positive reviews on Tripadviser and we were not disappointed. It is a really charming guest house, tastefully decorated and with a lot of attention to detail when it comes to the guest bedrooms, which are comfortable, cosy and well-equipped with tea/coffee, TV/DVD, good storage, and a really good shower in the en-suite.

John and Moira are very considerate hosts and provide an excellent choice of breakfast menu. They are also extremely helpful in providing information on local walks and places to visit. Whilst the village is fairly quiet, there are plenty of places to eat nearby. We had a very nice evening meal in 'The Letterbox' restaurant just a few minutes walk away and 'The Glen' next door serves tasty pub food.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3, overlooking the main road. There was no problem with traffic noise and the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights and booked the entire guest house for a family holiday. It felt like home. We were very impressed. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, with a wide choice of options. John and Moira went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable, so much so that John drove us up to the Cairngormes to ski each day (and threw in a few ski lessons) When we are next in Scotland, we will definately stay here again

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and were very sorry to leave. Room tastefully decorated clean and very comfortable.Wonderful breakfasts in a very warm and friendly dining room. John and Moira were excellent hosts, very friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed our various conversations with them.
We will certainly stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Eagle View Guest House was a delightful find in Newtonmore! The interior is very well decorated / styled and reminded us of a little boutique hotel. We received a warm welcome and were showed to our room which had an enormous queen sized bed. The only down side was the large headboard intruded slightly on the length of the bed and husbands feet and ankles were dangling out of the bed. Happily I was not inconvenienced by this!! The room had a lovely en-suite bathroom and in addition, there was a lounge area which could be used by guests containing DVDs for use in your room. This was a nice addition when we found ourselves the only guests that night. The guest house served us a fabulous breakfast - the menu had a great selection of yummy cooked items including smoked salmon, full scottish, scrambled egg with spinach, smoked mackrell as well as toast, fresh fruit and porridge.

In addition, Newtonmore itself was a great location if you like to be away from the main tourist traps / hussle and bussle as we do. We recommend that you check out the Wildcat Trail walking routes - you can buy a booklet with the walks from the post office or visit the Wildcat Trail shop in the highstreet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Very nice guesthouse. Highly recommended. Beautifully decorated to very high standards . The rooms were very spacious and clean. We had the impression that small details were important and we loved that. Warm welcome in a warm place. Excellent Breakfast with several options including scrambled eggs, porridge and full Scottish breakfast.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, MO
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I staryed at Eagle View on September 28th. We were very pleased. John and Moira could not have been more accommodating. We had the down stairs room and it was the best bed we slept in for the 3 1/2 weeks we were gone. Had great conversations with the owners. John, sorry I took so much of your time with my error on the internet connection!

If we ever find ourselves in Newtonmore again, you can be sure we will stay at Eagle View!
Thank you so much.
The Collins

Room Tip: Pick this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eagle View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle View Guest House

Address: Perth Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Eagle View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle View Guest House Newtonmore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagle View Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.