We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is how you run a bed and breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ard-na-Coille Guest House

Save Saved
You added Ard-na-Coille Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Kingussie Rd, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“This is how you run a bed and breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We just spent one night on a stop over of our ten day tour of Scotland at this wonderful bed and breakfast. The hostess Jacquie met us at the door and was very gracious and welcoming. This guest house has everything going for it, beautiful views, the best breakfast on our tour of Scotland served by Mike, lovely room, a little small but that's the category we booked in, there are nicer rooms available at higher cost, a bonus was the adorable one year old dog whom we met on our way out to the car.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
144
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was our second stop at a Highland B&B so we didn't know what to expect but were pleasantly surprised to find an elegantly appointed guest house run by our new best friend who's a gourmet cook.
The views from the room are great (see attached) and the area is lovely. There are pubs in Newtonmore and Kingussie to visit, both places within walking distance, if you're so inclined. Both villages have interesting historical features.
Jackie can clue you in, however your taste run, from trail walks, working dogs, wildlife park, the forest sculpture trail....

Room Tip: The house is surrounded by lovely views, you can't wrong. The hosts advise bringing a car. Check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I would highly recommend this place to stay. We had a weekend here at the start of may and it was lovely. Great views. Such a warm welcome from Jaquie and Mike. We were made to feel very welcome. I loved the small touches like the strawberries on arrival and the chocolates beside the bed and the robes in the bathroom. Good selection of teas and coffee in the room. The bedroom was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very good! Lots of selection and Jaquies freshly cooked eggs benedict with bacon was extremely tasty. In the evenings it was enjoyable being able to use the sitting room to have a drink and play snooker. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We would recommend Ard-na-Coille guest house without hesitation. It is spotlessly clean, spacious and very comfortable. Jacquie and Mike are very warm, welcoming hosts and very friendly. Breakfast is an absolute treat - everything cooked to perfection and of a very high quality. The mountain views from all the rooms are delightful. The house is in an elevated position so there is no road noise and it is very peaceful. There is a lovely long drive up to the house.

We stayed for 4 nights from 2 - 7 May 2013 and would love to return one day.

Thank you

Christine and Patrick

Room Tip: We had the four poster room and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have just spent 4 wonderful nights with Jackie and Mike everything was perfect so much better than some 5 star hotels. The rooms are so comfortable, clean and with the best views you can
Imagine. When it comes to breakfast well, just image your best breakfast ever and it is better than
that. Their attention to detail is amazing we just loved it.
Lesley Mccarthy

Room Tip: All rooms are great but we had rooms 1 and 2 these were big and had wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Somehow we knew when we entered the driveway which led to Ard-Na-Coille that we were in for a treat. We stayed for one night on the 29th of April 2012 and it turned out to be the most luxurious place we stayed in our 5 week tour of the U.K. It's a mansion, not just a house and the surrounding scenery is spectacular. Ard-Na-Coille is just a few minutes drive out of Kingussie so we had magnificent views of snow covered mountains out of our bedroom windows.
Jackie and Michael are wonderful,warm hosts and have won many well deserved awards for their establishment.Not only are the bedrooms luxurious,so too are the billiard room and lounge room which are available for guests to relax in.
Jackie is famous for her scrambled eggs and smoked salmon which we enjoyed but there is also an enormous array of other delicious food to choose from,all set up in the beautiful dining room. Service was top class and we will definitely be going back in 2014 because one night in Ard-Na-Coille is not enough!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Absolutely fantastic !! My wife and I are just home from the most luxurious night away we've ever had! We have stayed in some of Scotland's best hotels and guest house's over the years from St Andrews to glen eagles but none of which have a look in on ard-na -coille house! On first arrival driving up the long drive and seeing the beautifull house and surroundings was breathtaking then ringing the bell to have the nicest welcome from jacquie who took the time to show us around the house, where we'd be having our breakfast, the snooker room and lounge I must also add in her slippers which instantly made us feel as if we were at home! Our room was absolutely stunning with its four post bed and beautiful antique furniture.One of the most important things to my wife and I is cleanliness when we stay away and we just could not fault the whole house its immaculate from top to bottom and the edition of jacquie and mikes own invention called TOTALLY FLUSHIES a very simple but completely ingenious antibacterial toilet seat cover which most people will admit can be a big issue when staying away from home!! After a fantastic nights sleep we got up to probably the best breakfast I've ever had! Jacquies own eggs benedic I can honestly say I've never tasted anything like it and quite understand why it was awarded five stars . Genuinely can't wait for another reason to come and stay again and have to thank both jacquie and mike for making our anniversary one to remember for ever! Thank you Simon and Marie

Room Tip: No mater what you pick you'll be very happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ard-na-Coille Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard-na-Coille Guest House

Address: Kingussie Rd, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 3 acres of beautiful, private, unspoilt countryside in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park, this guest house offers 5 star accommodation together with stunning views. The guest house is ideally located in the centre of the Highlands for skiing, sightseeing, walking, or simply for a romantic break. We are sure you will find us to be one of the best luxury bed and breakfast establishments in the Highlands. Ard-na-Coille is a stunning former hunting lodge, which retains many of its original features, including a beautiful original sandstone fireplace. The guest house featured in the Monarch of the Glen BBC TV programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ard-na-Coille Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ard-Na-Coille Guest House Newtonmore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ard-na-Coille Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.