We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ard-na-Coille Guest House

Save Saved
You added Ard-na-Coille Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ard-na-Coille Guest House
Kingussie Rd, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Newtonmore B&B and Inns
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Immaculate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were warmly welcomed and well looked after. Spacious, yet homely, the place is immaculate and every detail has been considered and executed to the highest standard - many a major hotel could learn from the loving attention that has been lavished on this property; it truly merits its 5-star status. The breakfasts are beautifully cooked and beautifully presented; a feast for both the eye and the palate and while we did not use the facility, that the premises are licensed is an added advantage though it is possible to walk to local pubs and restaurants (about 20mins). I would very definitely recommend the Ard-na-Coille.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
141
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We only stayed a night at Ard-na-Coille Guest House in Newtonmore on our trip in the Cairngorms, but wished we had stayed longer. Nothing has been forgotten to make our stay enjoyable. Our en-suite bedroom (number 2) had a lovely view, was large as a junior suite, perfectly quiet, and had a very modern bathroom with separate bath and shower. Jacquie, the owner, has won national awards for her friendliness/hospitality and for her breakfast: they are well deserved! Try her special eggs benedict, they're a delight.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

After spending 2 weeks travelling around Scotland,staying at b&b accomodation, our last night was spent at Ard-na-coille which was by far the best b&b we had stayed in.Our four poster bedroom, so delightfully furnished and ROOMY!!Our hosts were very welcoming and had put a great deal of effort and thought into our comfortable accomodation and breakfast.We would love to return and we will stay longer!

Room Tip: We stayed in a four poster bedroom and it was such a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vashon, Washington, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

While this place is a little difficult to spot from the road, it is lovely. The owners have transformed this old hunting lodge into a lovely B&B. The rooms are very large and well appointed. Our bathroom had both a shower and a bathtub. It was quiet, and the breakfast was wonderful. The owners gave us great suggestions for hiking and exploring the gorgeous.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

From the moment we were shown into our room, we knew it was going to be a wonderful stay. We booked the four poster suite, which was massive with comfortable furnishings, gorgeous decor and the most amazing roll-top bath. Everything was really fresh and clean. Breakfast was ample and delicious, especially the award-winning scrambled eggs and salmon. Jacquie and Mike were extremely welcoming and very helpful. Wish we could have stayed for longer!

Room Tip: The top suite is well worth the extra money for a special occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Simply the best bed and breakfast we have ever stopped in. From the moment we arrived until we left nothing was too much trouble and everything just felt right!! Jackie was the perfect host, from recommending local restaurants to the absolutely amazing breakfast.which goes beyond words. We were in the smallest room apparently and this was still bigger than some hotel rooms that we have payed twice the price for. We will definitely be back next year to see how Robbie has grown!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Beautiful location, stunning views, spacious and spotlessly clean rooms, great breakfast and amazing hospitality. Shall I go on......! Mike and Jacquie are fantastic hosts and have got this place running perfectly. There is absolutely nothing to fault - will definitely be back. Stayed for one night and would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ard-na-Coille Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard-na-Coille Guest House

Address: Kingussie Rd, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 3 acres of beautiful, private, unspoilt countryside in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park, this guest house offers 5 star accommodation together with stunning views. The guest house is ideally located in the centre of the Highlands for skiing, sightseeing, walking, or simply for a romantic break. We are sure you will find us to be one of the best luxury bed and breakfast establishments in the Highlands. Ard-na-Coille is a stunning former hunting lodge, which retains many of its original features, including a beautiful original sandstone fireplace. The guest house featured in the Monarch of the Glen BBC TV programme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ard-na-Coille Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ard-Na-Coille Guest House Newtonmore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ard-na-Coille Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.