We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Glen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Glen Hotel to your Saves list
The Glen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main St., Newtonmore PH20 1DD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent two nights at the hotel in November. The room was warm and clean, the breakfast was great and the staff are very helpful and friendly. There's also plenty of partking and free Wifi which was very useful.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    58
    12
    2
    7
See reviews for
31
60
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ideally placed just off the A9 this hotel is perfect for a stopover on the way North. Plenty free parking and friendly staff. Rooms are first class - well appointed with all the facilities you need. Dinner in the bar was OK - not too exiting but an adequate choice on the menu to cater for all tastes.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shieldaig, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

located in the middle of Newtonmore with plenty of free parking. Stayed 3 nights in November.
The bedroom (room 10) was at the back of the hotel with a view of flat roofs and air con units. The room was on the small side. Ensuite bath/shower room and bedroom were very clean (well immaculate really), and recently redecorated as is the rest of the hotel. Bar meals are good without being gastro meals but this is reflected in the price. Breakfast was fine and served in the dining room (how nice to see the longcase clock in here going rather than still and quiet). Service was good and the staff friendly. Winters rates made our break exceptional value for money. It is not in the same league as say The Inver Hotel at Lochinver or the Torridon Hotel, but it does everything it says on the tin and therefore merits 5 stars in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had been to Newtonmore a few times before and had eaten at The Glen which we thoroughly enjoyed so we decided to stay there . There isnt must to say other that everything was lovely , very clean , friendly staff , nice rooms and there was a great feel and atmosphere in the hotel.
We had dinner in the restaurant, everything we had was excellent and fresh.
To me the best thing was the breakfast , it was brilliant . I was asked what I wanted and I said the "whole nine yards " well I certainly got that, a freshly cooked full Scottish breakfast . A great place to stay and eat .
We will definitely be returning in the not to distant future .

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We stayed two nights at the end of October in a family room - room 9. The ensuite bathroom was the best I have seen and looked very recently refurbished - extremely clean and modern. The bed was very comfortable and I had the best two nights' sleep of the week. There were nice touches, like biscuits with the hospitality tray. The breakfasts were excellent and service very good. The bar was popular and there was a good variety of food available, as well as a broad selection of beers and malts etc. If I were the owner and was looking to make further improvement (and this is not a criticism by the way) the next thing I would do would be to refresh/replace the bedroom carpet. Recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hotel and we slept well, even though it was on a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Called in and ordered a full breakfast ( i.e. bacon and eggs toast etc.) off the menu when it arrived I commented how small it was as the menu said eggs and it only had one. I was told that they would knock the toast off the bill. I also had a pot of tea and the bill came to over £15.00 for what was worth £7.00.

What a ripoff !!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badenochtraveller, Owner at The Glen Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
We are sorry to read this review as there has obviously been an error made. Our FULL breakfast, ie for hotel residents, with an UNLIMITED selection of cereals, juices, beverages, toast and cooked breakfast items is only £ 13.50 so it is impossible for the bill for one person so spend £15.00 on breakfast! If the reviewer would kindly contact us we will be happy to make a refund as we have now found the date that the error was made. With the cooked breakfast only one egg is provided unless two are requested but it should also be considered that we are a hotel and have higher overheads than say a cafe and our breakfast will cost a little more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Friendly staff, comfortable room, and great food - what more could we ask!! We used this hotel as a convenient stopover on our way down to the Borders and were so pleased that we had also booked a room for our trip back as we knew that we would be well looked after and could look forward to a cheerful welcome and lovely hot food for our evening meal, and a very good breakfast to start our day on our trip back home

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Glen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glen Hotel

Address: Main St., Newtonmore PH20 1DD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant Edwardian Hotel is located at the heart of the Scottish Highlands, the magnificent setting for the popular BBC series, 'Monarch of the Glen' which was filmed only a few miles away. Quite apart from the breathtaking scenery, lovers of outdoor pursuits are spoiled for choice the Monadhliath & Cairngorm Mountain Ranges lie nearby golfers can enjoy the diverse challenges at Newtonmore, Kingussie, Grantown-on-Spey & Boat of Garten and opportunities for walking, cycling, fishing and other activities are just too numerous to mention.All rooms offer satellite TV with 12 channels, tea/coffee making & are non-smoking. BT Sports is available in the games room downstairs.The Glen Hotel is a family run hotel which benefits from a high level of repeat business from both the tourist and commercial sectors.Our informal dining is 'good honest pub grub' and is widely accepted as being good value for money. In addition, we are one of the few establishments in Scotland to hold the prestigious 'Eat Safe' Award - your guarantee of safely prepared food served in an efficient manner.We have featured in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide for the past 9 years and we have been voted CAMRA 'Regional Pub of The Year' 5 times in the past 9 years.And you won't loose sleep either! Our beds have been replaced recently with those similar to what you would expect to find in a 4 or 5 star hotel and are complimented by luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets and superior quality duvets.If you want out door activities the we can help! Given a little notice then we can assist with organizing golf, shooting, fishing, mountain biking, riding and much, much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Glen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Hotel Newtonmore
The Glen Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.