We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Glen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Glen Hotel to your Saves list
The Glen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main St., Newtonmore PH20 1DD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
1 review
“Brilliant friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for new year this was our third time here and yet again it was a lovely time , the owners are very friendly and helpful and all the staff work very hard The food is top class

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    58
    12
    2
    7
See reviews for
31
60
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We have stayed at the Glen many times over the years, this review however is for the bar and pub-grub only.
As a member of a hillwalking club the obvious attraction of Newtonmore is the great location and the number of Munros on the doorstep. Wherever you stay in Newtonmore be sure to pop into the Glen for a pint of real ale and great pub grub. The staff and owners are well used to hillwalkers and if your boots are not that pristine, they will not mind. Live entertainment is often provided in the bar and makes for a good atmosphere. Best pub in the town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Harris
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

After spending nights in two Travelodges in the central belt on a family break, this was a great find for the return trip. For Travelodge money you get an excellent bed, a quiet room, decent breakfast and good beer and food on hand - you even get cheery staff!
I found this hotel through the Good Beer Guide, and would never have know about it otherwise. It's very handy for the A9.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

arrived in newtonmore late and hungry . When checking in the owners couldnt have been more helpfull . The room was excepionaly good value for money .and the staff couldnt have been more helpfull and plesant . The menu was well thought out and good honest home cooked food i plumed for the lwmb shank and was not disapointed . The breakfast the next day was again a1 . This hotel and staff are a great find will def be back again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Our family of three adults stayed in the '2+1' option which involved a shared bathroom and - I guess - some of the older rooms in the hotel. However, it was a comfortable stay, staff were helpful and the bar a comfy spot with good food and cask ales, including a beautifully kept Deuchars. The restaurant opposite (same food) seemed a bit gloomy by comparison. Breakfast fine but unremarkable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badenochtraveller, Owner at The Glen Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
Thankyou for taking time to post your positive review. All the team at The Glen Hotel are pleased to have been of service and we hope that you will return in the future. Just to confirm your thoughts, our 'Triple Combination' (a twin & a single room that share a bathroom) are two of the last rooms to be refurbished and whilst your have confirmed that they were clean and comfortable they are in need of modernisation. We hope that this will be completed by summer 2012 which will include conversion to en suite. We acknowledge this fact in the rate that we charge and on the night the reviewer stayed the rate was only £25.00 per person including full Scottish breakfast. Unfortunately a Sunday night at the end of October is very quite for us and the residents dining room was unused so will have been lacking in 'atmosphere' as everyone preferred to eat in our lounge bar. There are some aspects of refurbishment planned for this room too over the coming winter.
Once again, thankyou and we hope that we see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cretan Scots
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We have now stayed at the Glen Hotel at least six times. It is our ideal hotel: small, cosy, spotlessly clean, exceptionally helpful staff, good food and wine at sensible prices. You can choose to eat in either the bar or in the dining room - both have the same menu.The location, right on the main street of Newtonmore is so convenient as is the car park. Comfy beds mean a good night's sleep. The bar is popular with visitors and local alike.

Room Tip: We usually choose an en suite room at the front of the hotel but you can also opt for rooms at the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Nice friendly staff; the room was nice a clean a lovely big comfortable bed. The bar is the busiest in town with a nice relaxed atmosphere. Very good value for money. If I had one concern it was that the rooms were quite hot even with the windows open in October! Breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Glen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glen Hotel

Address: Main St., Newtonmore PH20 1DD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant Edwardian Hotel is located at the heart of the Scottish Highlands, the magnificent setting for the popular BBC series, 'Monarch of the Glen' which was filmed only a few miles away. Quite apart from the breathtaking scenery, lovers of outdoor pursuits are spoiled for choice the Monadhliath & Cairngorm Mountain Ranges lie nearby golfers can enjoy the diverse challenges at Newtonmore, Kingussie, Grantown-on-Spey & Boat of Garten and opportunities for walking, cycling, fishing and other activities are just too numerous to mention.All rooms offer satellite TV with 12 channels, tea/coffee making & are non-smoking. BT Sports is available in the games room downstairs.The Glen Hotel is a family run hotel which benefits from a high level of repeat business from both the tourist and commercial sectors.Our informal dining is 'good honest pub grub' and is widely accepted as being good value for money. In addition, we are one of the few establishments in Scotland to hold the prestigious 'Eat Safe' Award - your guarantee of safely prepared food served in an efficient manner.We have featured in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide for the past 9 years and we have been voted CAMRA 'Regional Pub of The Year' 5 times in the past 9 years.And you won't loose sleep either! Our beds have been replaced recently with those similar to what you would expect to find in a 4 or 5 star hotel and are complimented by luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets and superior quality duvets.If you want out door activities the we can help! Given a little notice then we can assist with organizing golf, shooting, fishing, mountain biking, riding and much, much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Glen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Hotel Newtonmore
The Glen Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Glen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.