We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting look through history...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clan Macpherson Museum

Clan Macpherson Museum
Main St, Newtonmore PH20 1DE, Scotland
01540 67332
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 8 Attractions in Newtonmore
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Clan Macpherson House and Museum displays historical items from Clan Macpherson and Scottish history. Open April 1-October 31.
Fjelsø, Viborg, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very interesting look through history...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very helpful staff and lots of very interesting history of the MacPherson clan. Well worth a look through the museum, where information and stories are organized on numbered boards so the timeline is easy to follow :)

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clan Macpherson M, at Clan Macpherson Museum, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased that you had a pleasant visit and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkhangelsk, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clan Macpherson Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I was absolutely disappointed with a... necessity to leave the place without reading all the information! it would take a week! not only the history of the clan but the Highlands!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clan Macpherson M, Museum Assistant at Clan Macpherson Museum, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
So sorry you had to leave before you managed to see everything in our museum. Now you have a reason to come back and visit us again. We look forward to seeing you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interesting...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Nice visit to a lovely old cottage lots to see and read ..... host was friendly and welcoming.... short video informative at start of visit....

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clan Macpherson M, Museum Assistant at Clan Macpherson Museum, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We are always happy to hear that our visitors have enjoyed their time exploring our exhibits. Thank you for taking the time to review our museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“incredible displays in what appears a small building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is a really Tardis-like building, crammed with items and information of interest not only for Macphersons, but anyone with an interest in Scotland's past (and present). Everything seemed well-researched and well displayed. I'll be back sometime I have more time.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clan Macpherson M, Museum Assistant at Clan Macpherson Museum, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
It was our pleasure to welcome you to our little Museum, and we look forward to your return in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must see experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I arrived in Kingussie, out of season in the hope of being able to see the museum. I made a call to see if it was possible and was told "well, come on over now!!"

On arrival I was made to feel welcome, like one of the family, and if you are part of the MacPherson Clan or not, then this museum is a must see. Lets face it, who hasn't heard of the MacPherson's or MacIntosh's.

When you walk through the museum you not only get a fantastic understanding of the clan, but also the objects and stories that shaped the history of the area. And what a rich history, within a short distance you have Ruvthen Barracks, Loch Insh, the valley of Glentromie and Loch Alvie. The list goes on!

I you are coming to the area then make the museum your first stop!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clan Macpherson M, Museum Assistant at Clan Macpherson Museum, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Your timing was perfect as we had staff in the museum at the time. We were very happy to make you welcome and are glad you got so much from your visit. Please come back again - we will promise an equally enthusiastic welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clan Macpherson Museum also viewed

Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 
Newtonmore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
Aviemore, Aviemore and the Cairngorms
 

Been to Clan Macpherson Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clan Macpherson Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.