We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel, warm welcome” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Highlander Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Highlander Hotel to your Saves list
Highlander Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Old hotel, warm welcome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This "bus tour" hotel is very dated but is clean, well run, and pleasantly warm throughout. Within the main part of the hotel, there is a large, pleasant lounge and a small, rather stark and dark, lounge bar - drink prices are HIGH. The diningroom is large, and has a central dance floor. Evening meals and breakfasts were plentiful and very good. The staff were efficient, courteous and helpful at all times. The hotel is located in the centre of Newtonmore and is a good base for a walking/touring holiday in the area.

The hotel is a motel type with bedroom blocks built onto the main building.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the block immediately joining the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    141
    77
    31
    14
See reviews for
61
161
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was my first time in Newtonmore for a long time and my first time staying at the Highlander Hotel.

Briefly, this was a very enjoyable stay. The staff were friendly, chatty and accommodating and there was a selection of cereals, fruit and cooked food for breakfast.

The one evening meal we did have was very nice and reasonably priced.

The room was clean and cosy and large enough for me, my wife and children.

There is also ample parking and plenty of amenities and attractions nearby.

Couldn't fault it at all!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burghead
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

It was the Annual Re union at the Highlander Hotel in Newtonmore great meal and fine hospitality. I will be back next year all being well. It is great to see that in some Hotels the hospitality is still very good and the staff coped very well with over 130 for the dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Just want to say that the service we received between 21-25 October 2013 was fantastic. Jeanette went out of her way to help and support us when my snoring got too much for my wife and kindly offered me a separate room to sleep in for the last two nights.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We found this hotel on Classic Breaks website and, at £28 per person per night for bed, breakfast and dinner, we decided to book for 4 nights. A great decision!

It was very convenient for Cairngorm where we had three excellent days skiing. Also driving distance to The Lecht and Nevis if desired. Ski Norwest are based at the hotel making hire of equipment and purchase of tickets so much easier.

The room was warm, clean and comfortable with large soft towels and good bedlinen. Tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and toiletries were also provided. Room was serviced daily with towels, bedding and provisions replaced as needed. The heated towel rail was a welcome touch in the bathroom. Modern flat screen TV and alarm clock added to the facilities.

A team of very friendly and efficient staff were on hand in the large and busy restaurant. We never had to wait long but equally never felt that we were being rushed. Dinner was included in the price and was 3 courses with 4 options for starter and main, including at least 1 vegetarian choice. We enjoyed the retro dessert trolley which provided a selection of temptingly fattening puddings. . Breakfast was also plentiful with cereal, porridge and fruit buffet and good quality hot choices made to order. I cannot imagine anyone going hungry in The Highlander and most tastes were catered for. The staff here are wonderfully friendly and welcoming.

I would go back there any time and highly recommend the hotel to anyone, particularly if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our second stop with our Newmarket Tour of Scotland was the Highlander Hotel in Newtonmore. Our room was comfortable and, whilst overlooking the main road, was quiet. The dawn chorus from the nearby woods was wonderful to hear. The bathroom shower needs some attention – I had to run round to get wet!! Food was OK, served to the table but staff hovered waiting to collect the empty plates and unused wine glasses. Comfortable lounge.

Room Tip: If you lie a dawn chorus, have a room roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here on our way to a canal boat tour from Laggan. Hotel was clean and comfortable, but the walls and floors were pretty thin so noise was very noticeable. We were on the second floor, so not too bad but we could hear the folks on the first floor talking! The restaurant was pricey and the night we were there, there was a bus load of tourists and the place was packed. We had dinner at the pub down the street which was a better choice. Not many options in Newtonmore, so OK for a short stay. Staff was VERY helpful in arranging a taxi to get us to the dock at Laggan Lochs.

Room Tip: UPSTAIRS will be much quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highlander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Address: Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For true Highland hospitality come to the Highlander, a hotel renowned for its good food and warm welcome. The hotel is an ideal base for touring the North of Scotland with mountain ranges, forests, lochs and river valleys waiting to be explored. Wind down in our inviting restaurant serving an array of dishes made from locally sourced produce. Perhaps a wee dram from the bar would suit; choose a whisky from one of the many local distilleries for which this area is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highlander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.