We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Highlander Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Highlander Hotel to your Saves list
Highlander Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't stay here!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Booked a two night stay through 5pm.com and the value was £255. We paid £99 and it was not even worth that!
Rooms were clean, staff not rude but not friendly or welcoming.
Deal included meal on first night which was inedible.
Lounge was the most depressing room I've ever seen.
View from bedroom was 2 septic tanks.
Only stayed the one night it was so bad!
Advice, don't book you will be very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at The Highlander and thank you for your comments. Our staff are always commended on their friendly manner and I can only apologise that you found this to not be the case. I also apologise that the food was not to your tastes on the evening in question. The lounge was refurbished last year with new chairs, sofas and new carpeting but we take your comments on board with regards to the atmosphere. Our septic tanks are kept underground, the tanks you refer to are gas tanks. I should hope if you chose to stay with us again in the future that the points you touch on could be addressed and you would have a more enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    154
    81
    31
    15
See reviews for
66
174
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

we took my mother and father in law for their wedding anniversary for two nights, we were very dissapointed. The room desperatly in need of decoration, we did not get any sleep as the people above us had children or the adults were pacing or running around i do not know as never actually seen and children there, we did complain to no avail, also there were kennels outside and all the dogs did was bark constantly. the meal was shocking we had breakfast which was cold and when we complaned it seemed a problem for the staff, dinner was also cold and the three course was a joke, it was childrens portions. when we were asked while checking out i say to the lady of our problems she just said "oh well" and handed me my reciept. we wouldnt recomend this hotel at all

Room Tip: ask for a top floor and not near the dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for review – we were somewhat surprised by your comments. Our rooms were refurbished last June as were several of our public areas. We are a family friendly hotel .You mention kennels but there is none at the hotel and nothing in the vicinity. With regards to meals the hotel is renowned for its traditional Scottish fayre and provide robust portions – indeed one criticism is that our portions are too generous. We offer excellent customer service and feel that your comments about check out are somewhat unfair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh, scotland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Perhaps, having paid only £99 for two nights for two people B&B, including dinner on the first night with a bottle of wine, it would be hard to fault the value for the cost aspect of this hotel, which is situated at the far North end of Newtonmore However, the overall impression is one of creeping old age. Creaking floors in the public areas with decor more reminiscent of the 70's and a car park riddled with (rain-filled) potholes. The four course dinner was adequate, but plates could have been much hotter to cater for the fact that staff were looking after a coachload of visitors who had all arrived simultaneously. They were clearly under pressure but remained cheerful and responsive nonetheless. In common with the public areas, the bedrooms are showing their age and the shower pressure in the bathrooms inadequate. Overall? - best for coach parties.

Room Tip: If you are housed in the building nearest the road, ensure you get an even-numbered room, ie facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations but would like to point out that the hotel bedrooms, hotel lounge and reception foyer were all refurbished last June. Our car park has been recently repaired – as you can appreciate we had to wait for a dry spell to do the repairs and given the inclement weather we have all been experiencing it was difficult to get a window of opportunity. I appreciate your positive comments about my team and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Highlander at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Booked this hotel as a romatic weekend away for my boyfriend's birthday. Although this was booked a few weeks in advance and confirmation was received that we had booked a double room, when we arrived, we were given a twin room. Although we complained, our comments fell on deaf ears & not even an apology was given to appease us. Beds were pushed together but would not remain there, so two very uncomfortable nights were had by us.

Food was very basic, but adequate & staff were pleasant enough but will not be returning

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments – I was disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. I can only apologise that you did not get the room you had requested and I am sorry that you felt your complaint was not dealt with appropriately – I have spoken to my reception team about this at length. I hope that this incident will not deter you from staying at an Oxford Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Used this hotel as part of a 5pm.co.uk deal as it looked very good value for money. Due to the fact there were a few negative comments on trip advisor, we decided to call the hotel directly to ask about the hotel. We spoke to James on Reception, who was extremely helpful, he gave clear and very helpful feedback about the hotel and the surrounding area. He also advised that the hotel had been renovated recently and the rooms were clean, and modern.

We booked this deal for 2 nights in August, and found it to be an extremely friendly, clean and pleasant hotel. All the reception, and bar staff were welcoming and friendly. Rooms were of a good standard, they were very clean, and the food in the hotel was hearty and tasty.

The hotel itself does cater mainly for coach parties, and the bar itself can close fairly early in the evening if it is quiet. Myself and my partner stayed in the hotel for dinner on the first night, we were very happy with the food and service. The barman was extremely funny, with some good banter!!

There is plenty going on in Newtonmore, lovely scenery. Plenty to do nearby also, nice pubs, and lovely walks. We opted to go to the Cairngorms National Park on one of the days and went on the Vanicular up the side of the mountain. Lovely day, and scenery was breathtaking. Would highly recommend this. Also the hot chocolate in the cafe at the top is to die for!!

We will most definately be back to the Highlander Hotel, and a big thank you to James and all the staff for a lovely stay. See you again soon.

Deborah and Mark xx

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

For the price paid we can not complain. basic but clean and confortable and if we were in the area again we would stay the night as we did this week.
No complaints really but breakfast was possibly below parr for what I would expect. some improvements to be made but I think there is in all hotels so yes for our needs this suited us fine

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to put on your comments. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us and we have passed your comments regarding breakfast to the chef. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Highlander at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed for a few nights in one of the family rooms which was spacious, clean, comfy beds, very quiet, in blocks away from main hotel building with parking. Good value for money. Definatly a bus tour overnight stop. Newtonmore is lovely and Highland hertiage outdoor museum just over the road. We ate the first night in dated hotel building but that was enough. Selection on menu strange, starter was two tiny spring rolls from iceland and rest was not much better. My son got a pizza which didnt even looks like one! Oh and only sell one kind of white and red wine!? Definatly not fine dine-even had a dessert trolley-very 80s! Service was ok. Overall we were pleased with stay but wouldnt recommend eating here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Highlander Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments We are delighted that you found the hotel to be an ideal base for enjoying what the area has to offer and the family room met with your requirements. We have passed your comments on to the chef - we do not profess to provide fine dining and am disappointed that the meals did not meet your expectations. We do offer 2 house reds and 2 house whites in addition to our main wine list with 20 choices. I hope that these factors did not detract from the overall enjoyment of your stay and you would use the Highlander on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highlander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Hotel

Address: Kingussie Road, Newtonmore PH20 1AY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Newtonmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Newtonmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For true Highland hospitality come to the Highlander, a hotel renowned for its good food and warm welcome. The hotel is an ideal base for touring the North of Scotland with mountain ranges, forests, lochs and river valleys waiting to be explored. Wind down in our inviting restaurant serving an array of dishes made from locally sourced produce. Perhaps a wee dram from the bar would suit; choose a whisky from one of the many local distilleries for which this area is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, LateRooms, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Highlander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Newtonmore, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highlander Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.